We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always love the Westin experience”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Park, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always love the Westin experience”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed at this property for business, a wedding anniversary celebration, and during a visit with friends. Each time, this property has consistently done an excellent job making you feel at home, and providing a great experience. During one visit, I left my blazer in the closet. When I returned to the hotel later that evening (after checking out early that morning), they not only had my blazer back in my hands within 10 minutes, but they also delivered to me the two chargers I had left on the desk. A great property all around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Saphire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Saphire R

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and pleased to read about your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,736
    955
    273
    116
    90
See reviews for
513
1,115
236
917
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin from 18th-23rd Jan as the first stop on our holiday and our experience was amazing from start to finish. Knowing we landed at 7:30am we contacted the hotel prior to arrival to see if it would be possible to have our room earlier than the standard 3pm check in. This wasn't possible without extending the reservation to cover the previous night which we weren't willing to do. When we arrived at the hotel however the receptionist organised for our room to be ready within 2 hours meaning we were in our room before midday which was a great bonus. We'd also requested a room on a high floor which was honoured - being put on the 21st floor with a beautiful view of the clock tower.

Our room could not be faulted. The floor to ceiling windows made it feel even more spacious than it was and the air con was extremely efficient. The bed really was 'heavenly' - perfect after over 24 hours of travelling. The bathroom really was 5 star with an amazing rain shower - even with all the sights of Sydney on the doorstep it was difficult to just dash in and out! Maid service very good and toiletries replaced daily.

We didn't use any of the hotel bars or restaurants so can't comment on the quality of these but there seemed to be lots of choice - always surrounded by a buzz of people who looked like visitors as well as guests.

The location of this hotel really can't be faulted. This was our base for exploring Sydney and it was perfect for this - just a 10-15 minute walk to both Sydney harbour as well as Darling Harbour in the other direction. Having the Westfield close by was also handy too offering more food options.

The only negative as mentioned in other reviews I've read is that the wireless internet is charged over and above the room rate. This seemed a bit much for a 5 star and considering that Internet was included at all the other hotels we stayed at during our holiday. This didn't spoil it however and I still wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank loonylaura666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear loonylaura666

We were delighted to read your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and pleased our associates took great care of you to accommodate your needs. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was probably the highlight of our trip. The hotel, rooms, service, food, location, cleanliness were all great. I have always been a SPG junkie and it just continues to get better and better. They took very good care and also upgraded us to a higher floor. The breakfast is a bit steep however, the spread justifies it. The people are warm and all the main areas in downtown Sydney are within walking distance (including the opera house). Memorable stay!

Room Tip: Request for a room on higher floor. The hotel gets full due to the location so make advance booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satyamjuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear satyamjuneja

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay. We are delighted to learn of your memorable experience at The Westin Sydney and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really beautiful. It's a short stroll from the train station which is nice and easy if you are coming from the airport.

Check in was quick although the desk staff were not very friendly and didn't tell us anything about the hotel amenities.

We had a room on the 27th floor that had great views down George St and Martin Place. The room was spacious with a beautiful bathroom.

The room service is quick and the food is delicious. The drinks especially coffee ($7), hot chocolate ($9) and juice ($13) are way over priced, but you can empty the fridge and put your own drinks in.

Overall this is a really nice hotel and I would recommend to anyone coming to Sydney. The location is great with a short walk to darling harbour and circular quay.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank spazwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear spazwok

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and took comfort in our accommodation rooms. Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Brisbane. Our room was a superior Heritage room & was very clean & tidy. The heavenly bed a Westin signature item was wonderful & the room was very clean & comfortable idea. We did not use the restaurants on site. The hours free Wi Fi in reception was handy & was well used by visitors. The location of the hotel is excellent for all the tourist attractions in Sydney, A very enjoyable stay. Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dee513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear spazwok

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and took comfort in our accommodation rooms. Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at the Westin on our first visit to Sydney. Great location and you cannot fail to be impressed by the reception area but we were distinctly unimpressed by the check-in. Polite but not at all friendly or welcoming, no offer of help with our bags. The room was very nice, spacious and well equipped, lovely view of the clock tower (it doesn't start chiming until 9am). fantastic shower. I liked the beds but my husband and son felt they were too soft and didn't sleep that well. As with many hotels the bathroom is open but easily shut off and the bath was a great size. We had a problem in that my husband cut his foot on the corner of the glass door to the toilet. I reported it to reception, just to let them know there had been blood on the floor. They showed no real concern, didn't offer to come and check the door, no apology - just 'is he alright now?' well yes, he was because I had a full 1st aid kit and put him back together but he couldn't wear shoes for 2 days. Again a poor show from that staffing area. Unfortunately, the swimming pool was a great let down. I totally agree with a previous reviewer. We were greeted by dirty towel bins, rusty stairs and a very uninviting pool - a shame because we love to swim after a busy day but not one of us had any inclination to swim there. I was sad that after having a wonderful hotel experience in Melbourne, The Westin let us down. It is an impressive hotel in a great location but overall I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear SLMWarwickshire

Thank you for posting your review online following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased to you could take advantage of our central location and however regret that your experienced did not quite meet you expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hospitality and welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

It was a last minute trip to Sydney and found a good deal on last minute. When we arrived it was a speedy check in and the room itself was very clean and the bed was very comfy. The only real let down was the staff weren't as friendly as we are used to. There also was a lot of staff standing around and talking when they could of hailed us a taxi. If the staff were friendlier we would of tipped them. Overall apart from the staff who had the personalities of a wet dishcloth the stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatIsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear KatIsMe

We are pleased to read your comments about your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney. Thank you for your observations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,315 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing