We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why do Westin charge separately for wi-fi”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Why do Westin charge separately for wi-fi”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Good business hotel in a great location for central Sydney but why do business hotels like this still impose unreasonable charges for pretty slow in room internet connection. Its not optional for a business hotel and $20 a day is simple profiteering. In London I get free wi-fi in Macdonalds. Come on Westin, sort this out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1805x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear John F

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and we are pleased you could take advantage of our central location. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    943
    270
    115
    91
See reviews for
503
1,109
236
911
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Having stayed here on a number of occasions over the years for business, this Westin is one of the best I have experienced in the world. The rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms are excellent. The location in Martin Place is unbeatable. Granted, there are no spectacular views here, but the beautiful rooms more than make up for it. I have never had anything but exemplary service on check in and check out.

As an SPG Platinum, having access to the Club Lounge is a big plus, and the Club Lounge breakfast is excellent, with hot food offered as well - very rare. The drinks and canapes at night are excellent. My only (very minor) niggle is that I have rarely, if ever, been offered an upgrade as a Platinum, but the rooms are so good, it really is of no consequence.

Thank you for another great stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Tripper16

We are delighted to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and are thrilled to be one of your favourite hotels. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I had read mixed reviews on this hotel but all I can say is this was truly a Westin experience. We stayed for a long layover before heading north and could not have been more pleased. Because we are SPG members we were upgraded to a tower view room, very spacious with the view of the clock. Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The amenities on site are superb with many selection of restaurants. The walk to Circular Quay is an easy 10 minute walk. Can't beat location! We will stay here again in a few days on our way back through. Looking forward to the same experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Dawn R

Thank you for posting your review online following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and you could take advantage of a complimentary room upgrade. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here as part meeting /close to CBD. I am Part of the loyalty program. Popular with OS tourists, however for the price believe you have better choices for the $ or save money for other options.
Ate at the restaurant , WIFI etc and a bit underwhelmed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BleedingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Bunglebungle007

Thank you for detailing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are appreciative of your recommendations and we hope to have the opportunity to seeing again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I recently stayed here for 1 night after a night out in the city. I wanted somewhere convenient and with a touch of class as well and this is exactly what I got. Located in the heart of the city, it is within walking distance to anywhere in the CBD and if you don't want to walk anywhere, there are good restaurants and bars on site.
The rooms are quite large and very tastefully decorated, the bathrooms in particular are very spacious. The bed was divine and as a light sleeper, the thing I liked the best was the lack of noise. My room looked out into the atrium of the old GPO building and I was only on the 3rd floor but from the time I retired to my room and when I got up in the morning, I didn't hear a sound. The only minor inconvenience was my phone was dead in the morning because the power point I plugged my phone charger into all night ended up being faulty. But that could happen anywhere I guess.
I live in Sydney so don't make a habit of staying in Sydney hotels but will definitely come back to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Ganmaz

We are delighted to read your comments about your experience at The Westin Sydney and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights at the westin this time!!
Loved it!
Excellent location!
Friendly staff!
Yummy room service! (2 young kids)

Even decided to stay an extra night last minute and they were very helpful!
Supplied us with cot and sterilizer no probs!!

Thank you

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyjoinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Jimmyjoinin

We are very pleased to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and delighted you had an enjoyable experience in our care. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Really great property. Rooms are what you would expect at a Westin. Great concierge and very helpful in making dining reservations. Really enjoyable stay. Try to shop around to get the best rate that you can online.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RightRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear RightRoute

We are thrilled to read your comments about your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. Thank you also for acknowledging our associates, we will be sure to pass along your recognition to the wider concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 177 in Sydney
1,649 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 177 in Sydney
4,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing