We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Westin Offers A Great Stay In The Heart Of Sydney” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The Westin Offers A Great Stay In The Heart Of Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Westin Sydney is a noteworthy hotel located in the heart of the city. It is located close to many important features of Sydney and fantastic for all business travels. I stay here every time I am in Sydney due to it's convenience for business (right near the financial district) and outstanding staff.

I found the restaurants to be quite good but the breakfast be the best, offering a wide range of foods. The pool might be the main thing in the hotel that is lacking as it is quite small and so is the gym but those on business may not mind. The Mosaic restaurant is quite lovely and offers a fantastic open style view over Sydney.

The Westin Sydney is a marvellous traditional looking hotel that has moderately good views over Sydney. It is perfect for those on business travels as it is located in the heart of the busy city. It is also perfectly located next to a great coffee shop for those who would like coffee outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear maxamoh

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and pleased to read about your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    917
    262
    109
    88
See reviews for
483
1,071
231
880
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raworth, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I've always loved the Westin in Sydney but a few less than great stays have made me rethink my view. SOME of the staff are wonderful but some of the newer staff are just ordinary. The rooms have nothing much of a view but Martin Place and an occasional glimpse of the harbour with some if the higher rooms. The Heritage rooms on the George St side are exceptionally noisy! When I complained there was no response - very poor! The tower rooms are all pretty much the same except for their altitude. The beds are wonderfully comfortable but lately they generate a lot of static electricity which is a bit worrying in the night - move your hands over the covers and you can see sparks! Over time the basics have been trimmed but the price has gone up or stayed the same - no free bottled water unless you stay in an executive room - very expensive litre of water! There is only very ordinary tea and coffee in the rooms and no hot chocolate sachets or free cookies. The Bar is often crowded and nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda56yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Linda56yo

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are appreciative of your comments and naturally disappointed you were not totally satisfied with your experience on this occasion. Please rest assured that we have shared your comments with the wider management team and we will certainly take it into account when we next review our service offering. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Good location, friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms. Rooms are large, well fitted out and comfortable. The bathroom is gorgeous and has a separate room for the toilet, which is always appreciated. Amenities are excellent. The hotel allows complimentary use of the adjacent goodlife health club. Will be back for sure

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryandHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear HungryandHappy

We are thrilled to read your comments about your recent experience at The Westin Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Westin prior to going on a cruise. The hotel was simply superb. Our room was beautiful and quiet, the bed comfortable, the dining room excellent and staff assistance was very helpful.. A major plus was the extremely reasonable room rate and also very close proximity to the CBD shopping etc. We plan to return to stay the whenever we are in Sydney and have no hesitation in giving it a very high recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethne_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear ethne_dave

We are delighted to read your comments about your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location. Our room had a nice view over the clock tower , the bedroom and bathroom were both very spacious. The wifi is expensive (seems to be the norm for most hotels we stayed in) Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Meenso

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and we are pleased to learn that you were comfortable in our care. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny coast Queensland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Firstly, be warned if you have a CPAP machine for breathing difficulty, you will not be able to plug it in next to your bed. My husband found to his dismay after attending meetings for 18 hours straight that he could not get a decent night's sleep at the Westin. When he turned to lights off, it cut power to the bedside power outlets, so he had to sleep with the lights on in order to run his CPAP.

He thought he would inform the Westin of this important problem for many of their guests, but unfortunately it takes many attempts to actually get through the automatic and nonsense replies to emails.

The result when supposedly getting his email read by manager Mark Burns was even worse. Not only is most of his reply automated, but the part dealing with the 'challenge' informs that the socket near the desk is not affected by the master switch. So how is anyone supposed to discover this? For years my husband has never had a problem in any other hotel room.

They suggest using an extension cord but that is not recommended by CPAP manufacturers.

My husband stressed in his email that he did not want others to know of his disability, but the email informs him that "We have taken the liberty to update your profile so that it reflects this preference for any of your future stays with us." So the next time he arrives with conference delegates he will be offered an extension lead for his CPAP?????? Sorry, Westin, their won't be a next time for him or the other delegates.

If you would like to see the identical automatic responses to your complaints, just click on the one star rating above and you will see how much Westin cares for its customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
12 Thank Dial000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Dial999

Thank you for sharing your further comments online. We trust that you have received our prior correspondence and should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Sydney for 4 days, following a 2 week cruise. We were looking for (and expecting) heavenly beds. We were pleasantly surprised by a spacious king size bed, with large closets and a modern, luxury bath. Concierge made excellent recommendations and reservations for us. Location was ideal--within walking distance of Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House and Botanic Gardens, shopping/business district, and Darling Harbor.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are rooms with views--we didn't have one, but we had little street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear debbianco

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and are delighted to learn about your enjoyable experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing