We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Westin two nights for a conference in late August. As one of the conference organisers, I cannot fault the Westin on the service they provided, or the quality of the venue. From start to finish the staff were exceptionally helpful, nothing was too hard as we pulled everything together. We held an evening function for 450 people onsite and everything was perfect. I was given a room on level 30 and it was beautiful - having only ever stayed in the heritage rooms before, which I love, I was sure I wouldn't like the tower room, but it had all of the quality Westin finishes. Most importantly of all, the beds are the most comfortable of any I've slept in.
I cannot recommend The Westin highly enough.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Phairy

We are delighted to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and thrilled you had an enjoyable experience in our care. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,680
    926
    263
    113
    89
See reviews for
490
1,079
232
892
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here years ago when it first opened and thought it was great. Had an unexpected stop over in Sydney and booked an overnight on last minute.com as I remembered it being quite nice.

The hotel is just a bit dated now. It needs an upgrade in the rooms. For example the BOSE sound systems don't accommodate iPhones or iPods. They run on CD's only. So clearly nothing has been updated in years.

Whilst the hotel is perfectly comfortable and well located I expect more from the Westin than outdated, boring beige rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the clock tower.. unless you like hearing bells every 15 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nethercote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Nethercote

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are appreciative of your comments and naturally disappointed you were not totally satisfied with your experience on this occasion. It is currently our practice to offer a mp3, Iphone and Ipods connection via the BOSE sound system and we apologise that this was not communicated to you during your stay. Thank you for our recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Located smack in the midst of the CBD, the Westin Sydney is an upmarket hotel and provided all the necessary comforts we needed over our one-week stay while attending a conference. The staff were friendly, pleasant and attended to all our queries (be it requests for bedroom slippers, extra toiletries and even adaptors for our various electrical appliances).The staff goes the extra mile in checking personally with you if everything was alright and up to expectations - on 2 separate occasions, I had a phone call to check on my satisfaction and a room visit as well.

We stayed in a deluxe room (forgot the location but our room looked out on the clock tower). Reasonable view and furnished well. The bathroom was sizeable and came equipped with the standard amenities of a tub, separate shower and loo. The rain shower was awesome and I had to be dragged screaming out of it, even after soaking in it for quite a while. Do be warned though, that the temperature changes suddenly so you might be left shrieking in a blast of ice cold water. The Heavenly bed is comfortable. Loved lazing in it.

With regards to room service, the menu is alright - standard offerings (nothing out of the ordinary) but do note that they charge an extra delivery fee on top of the price you pay for food. I didn't quite understand this but on the 2 occasions we did order food, the food came quickly and was tasty. Don't miss the breakfast at the Mosaic if it's provided. Great selection, good food and fills you up!

Both check-in and out were prompt. The location of the hotel is such that you can walk almost anywhere around the city to get to the attractions such as the Harbour Bridge, Opera House, Museum of Contemporary Art and various shopping malls. There are 2 subways within walking distance and a fair number of shops to get almost anything you want.

My only grouse is that they do not provide complimentary mineral water, which is kind of surprising, as I would have thought that is a given. The 2 bottles provided were a whopping $7 each. Not worth it.

On the whole, I had a good stay. If I do come back to Sydney, I will be back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaImran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear TajImz

We are delighted to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and are thrilled you had an enjoyable experience with us. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

You cannot beat this location and if you add a renowned hotel chain you obtain a choice with which you can not go wrong. Contemporary design, good service, good concierge. Go there for business or short stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyHighRollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear OnlyHighRollers

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent night at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and could take advantage of our location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Great beds
Excellent bathrooms
Excellent bathroom towels
Excellent linen
Staff are very friendly and always welcome you back. Which happens at all Starwood properties around the world
air-conditioning very good
We always stay here when we come to Sydney and will continue to do so
Great position to everything

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Deryl D

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and delighted to read that The Westin Sydney is your home in Sydney. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My flight into Sydney was an early arrival. I had requested early check-in, ubderstandably I was told there could be be a gaurentee but they would try. On arrival I was assigned a room and check-in was quick. All staff that I interacted with were cordial and willing to provide assistance.

The only negative was the shower, that changed temperatures constant. But that was something very minor. I will highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear rsegura

We were delighted to read your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and pleased our associates took great care of you to accommodate your needs.

In regards to the problem in your room, we invite you to contact us at westin.sydney@westin.com to provide further detail so we may inspect the room to ensure all is in order. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Ok the Westin is usually excellent, great brand and always delivers right?...not always.

We booked a room with 2 kids and were presented with two small double beds, not 2 queens which would of been acceptable. An extra roll away bed was A$90 a night and much needed. Rooms were not the largest but it is central CBD so allowable.

Breakfast is expensive at A$40pp so don't bother, out of the hotel there are lots of independent cafés for breakfast and all that we tried were excellent.

Pool and gym are not the hotels but rather the fitness club next door, maze to find it and only a sprint pool so be ready to do your laps and get out.

Staff very helpful, usual Westin charm so all good there.

Would we stay again....no. Intercontinental has bigger rooms and better breakfast just a few roads out of the CBD but give it a look.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Andrew L

We are appreciative for the time you took in conveying your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and regret our accommodation rooms were not to your liking. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,150 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing