We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly comfort”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel gives the international chain a good name. I like the clean and spacious rooms, the elegant and stylish feeling of the whole place. The comfort is high. I tried out the legendary Heavenly Bed and was not disappointed. My room was near the gym and had large exercise equipment. The service is good, but there are things that might influence the otherwise brilliant rating of the Westin. The room looks out into an office block which means I had to keep the curtains pulled for privacy, and the often lack of hot water was a little bit disturbing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Ralph F

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay however regret your room outlook was not to your liking. We do have a selection of rooms in our Tower and Heritage wings offering different outlooks. On your next visit to Sydney, do let us know and our team would be delighted to assist you in reserving a room to meet your preferred requirements. Thank you for sharing your observations regarding the hot water, this is disappointing and certainly not indicative of the standards we strive to maintain. If you do have any further specific detail regarding these malfunctions, please do pass along at your convenience and I will ensure your comments are shared with our team as appropriate to ensure repairs are undertaken. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,801 - 1,807 of 3,300 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Not one smile from a staff member in whole 5 night stay. My 3yo son was accidentally sick on bed. WESTIN charged me $150 for steam cleaning of the bed mattress without notifying me this would happen. Be warned! !! Do NOT stay here if you have children

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melanie_Deering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Deerings_NT

Thank you for sharing your further comments online. We trust that you have received our prior correspondence and do hope to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is a great representation what should be expected of a Westin in Australia and does the job effectively with a minimum of fuss. As with the Melbourne version, the hotel is well positioned in the heart of the business district. It is also within striking range of most tourist attractions a number of famous restaurants, bars and clubs, and it was a pleasant stroll down to the Opera House.

Both the common areas and the rooms are tastefully outfitted in a modern yet fresh manner, with classical Westin signature tones. Showers and beds in particular were excellent as can usually be expected from Westin hotels.

The lounge is very accommodating as you might expect with a breakfast spread on the more generous side of business lounge spreads and a pleasant view. It is quiet during the day and the staff are obliging enough and will at least offer to make you a coffee rather than just sit there. SPG status has average expectation impact at both Plat and Gold level.

Service overall was efficient, accommodating and friendly without being obtrusive. Room service and the shoe shine service were both fairly prompt and housekeeping helpful. At times however the lobby was somewhat overwhelmed - on departure I left behind lines of harried guests all pushing forward to the reception, and it is also often frequented by the general public. The taxi line also suffered from this, although the concierge was reasonably effective in maintaining guest privileges.

All in all this is exactly what you would expect of the Westin and ticks all the boxes for location, room amenities, the lounge and service. I would happily return when looking for a reliable option in the Sydney CBD.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divvy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear divvy_l

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and are pleased to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We were delighted that our room design was to your taste and you were comfortable in our care. We are pleased you could take advantage of our Westin Executive Lounge as well as our central location. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you the again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is average. expensive though rooms and food are average. if you want to explore the CBD this is an excellent location. used in room spa service. was ok but again not outstanding. staff was courteous and service was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tella64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Tella64

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care and you could take advantage of our central location.

We are appreciative of your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

You expect a hotel like this to get most things right and they do... comfortable beds, good pillows, reasonable toiletries, etc. The buffet breakfast is nicer than most although the service wasn't the best. My biggest complaint was that the shower rose anchored at the ceiling wasn't working so I had to use the smaller rose from the side. The room service was good and efficient.

Great location. Efficient check in and check out.

Room Tip: Ask what view you're getting. I looked out over a roof with little natural light. Not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Lisa K

Thank you for your comments following your stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care and could take advantage of our central location. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the malfunction of the shower hose in your room. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you and please rest assured that our Chief Engineer attended this room since your departure to ensure the shower hose was returned to operating correctly. We are appreciative of your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good service. The room was spacious with all amenities. The size of rooms are big & has spacious bathroom . The room & bathroom is separate by glass which can be covered with an automated curtain provided within bathroom. The location of the hotel was good & had all amenities which a good start hotel will have like health club, spa, business centre, lounge etc.
What I liked best was the room size & amenities within room.

Room Tip: "Rooms on higher floor have good view & are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhushan-Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Bhushan-Singh

We are pleased to read your review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted that our associates took great care of you and you were comfortable in our accommodation rooms. We are also delighted you could take advantage of our central location as well as our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

great rooms, nice location, good breakfast although the coffee was disappointing...great jogging track just outside the hotel and they even give you a map, room had all the things you need in ample space and it was very quiet for a city centre hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of our central location and that you found our accommodation rooms to your liking. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our RunWestin® map to ensure you kept up to date with your exercise regime. We appreciate your observations and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 179 in Sydney
4,605 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 179 in Sydney
2,044 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $170 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing