We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stone's throw from everything”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #34 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A stone's throw from everything”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husbang and I stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was spacious and overlooked the clock tower. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, it was the best sleep I've had in a while. Do not take a room facing the clock tower if you are a light sleeper as it goes off every 15mins during the day. Didn't bother me though. Hardly noticed it after a while. Only complaint was that housekeeping left my half drunk tea on the table for 2 days.

The hotel is so conveniently located. It is right next to the Pitt Street Mall so you don't have to worry about lugging around your shopping as you can go back and forth to drop off your shopping as often as you like. Everything is about a 10-15min easy walk, Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, The Rocks, Sydney Fish Market. We didn't have to buy bus passes or worry about taking taxis because we walked everywhere.
Lots of interesting cafes and restaurants in the area to choose from. Spoilt for choice. Drink prices at the lobby bar are reasonable and its a nice place to sit and relax before heading up to the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Shirindp

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you found our accommodation rooms comfortable and you woke up refreshed after a night in our signature Heavenly® Bed. We are also pleased you could take advantage of The Bar, Lounge and Room as well as our central location. Thank you for your observations regarding the room cleanliness. Rest assured this is certainly not indicative of our usual service standards and has been addressed accordingly with our Executive Housekeeper.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,750
    960
    273
    118
    91
See reviews for
514
1,123
238
927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have stayed here 4 or 5 times. Always excellent. Great location on Pitt St near the pedestrian mall. The staff always seems to go over and above. When I got there I realized I made the reservation for the wrong dates, they cheerfully contacted the booking agent, fixed it and found a great room for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZbusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear AZbus Traveler

Thank you for your comments following your stay at The Westin Sydney. We are thrilled that our associates took great care of you and you took advantage of our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Sydney to celebrate his birthday for the weekend. We wanted to be close to the train station and bars to head out at night.

The hotel is beautiful and the location is really what entices me to stay again. Up towards the Circular Quay end of Pitt Street, The Westin has Pitt Street Mall only one block away, with enough shops to spend the whole day there. At night, restaurants and bars are on your door step and within 5 minutes walking distance which eliminates the need for a taxi. Nearby Martin Place station also.

The only thing I dont like about this end of town is there are so many office buildings surrounding, that none of the cafes/coffee shops are open on Saturday and Sundays. As most of my trips away are on the weekend for leisure I find it extremely annoying. (The hotel can't help this, but keep it in mind that hotel buffet may be the way to go if you dont have time to look for a cafe.)

The service is what you would expect for a 5 star hotel and the room was beautiful. It is bigger than I expected, large bathroom and good lighting. The bed was amazing to sleep in and the tv right in front of the bed. Our room had plenty of natural light too which was very nice. Nice and quiet too, I didnt hear anyone.

The lift was speedy, the check in was quick and pleasant, there is quite a large bar also. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear JasmineFizz


Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care and could take advantage of our central location. We are also delighted that you found our accommodation rooms to your liking and you enjoyed your Heavenly® Bed experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Recently my husband and I have had the pleasure of staying twice at the Westin Sydney. It is truly a beautiful hotel with outstanding customer service. The hotel is built around the historic Post Office building and therefore the hotel has a wonderful atmosphere.
The rooms are amazing, beds are so comfortable and the bathroom is one of the best I have seen in any hotel.
Now when I visit Sydney there will only be one place I will stay......at the Westin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaii6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Hawaii6

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and are pleased that you could experience the stunning architecture of the former General Post Office building and Clock Tower. We are also delighted you could take advantage of our signature Heavenly ® Bed and that the bathrooms were to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Recently stayed overnight at the Westin in a King room. To say it was lush was an understatement. Bathrooms are gorgeous and I had to take a plunge in the bath it was so divine. The bed was so comfortable and when I awoke the next morning there was not a ruffle in the sheet as I had not moved an inch, my sleep was that restful! The room would benefit with the addition of ipod docking stations but other than that the room was bliss! Highly recommend as it is within very easy walking distance of the Pitt Street Mall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudcrab4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mudcrab4

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you woke up refreshed after a night in our signature Heavenly Bed and took advantage of our deep soaking bath to unwind as well as our location. We are fortunate to be able to offer a mp3 connection via the BOSE sound system but apologise that this was not communicated to you. Thank you for our recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Clair, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed on a Friday night so we could attend a function in the city. We had a room on the 23rd floor looking towards the Anzac Bridge. The room was exceptionally clean and the bed was very comfortable. It was very quiet in the whole hotel and we had a wonderful sleep. We had breakfast the following morning and were had lots to choose from. The ready made banana smoothie was delicious. The staff were extremely courteous on check in and out. The location is excellent for getting around the city. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Trangie

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent night at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of our location as well as our facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was very impressed with the quality of the rooms at the Westin Sydney, even compared to other Westin properties. The location is good - a reasonable walk to Circular Quay, the Rocks, and the Opera House. Also easy access to Sydney's excellent bus system. The staff was helpful and very polite. I would stay here again in Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear BuzzDR

Thank you for your comments following your stay at The Westin Sydney. We are thrilled that our associates took great care of you and you took advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,356 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing