We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good beds”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Westin is consistently known for good service, and its Sydney location is no exception.

Location:
The Westin is located in Sydney's CBD and is within a 15-20 minute walk of major tourist destinations (e.g., the Opera House, The Rocks). If you are looking for something well located, it's a great position. If, however, you are looking for something cute and cozy, this is not the place for you.

Rooms:
We were upgraded to a large suite. It wasn't particularly interesting, but it wasn't unpleasant either. The bed was comfortable, although our many windows simply looked into another building.

Service:
The hotel had excellent service. They handled five requests from us (two of which were quite complicated) with ease and efficiency. This alone makes the Westin worth a stay.

Food:
I ordered room service one evening for dinner, and it was terrible. I wouldn't consider ordering here again. (I found the Westin's Cape Town menu far more appealing.)

If you are visiting Sydney for business or a combination of business and pleasure, the Westin is an excellent choice. However, if you are looking for a unique Sydney experience, you may want to consider an establishment away from the business district and a major hotel chain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear 152958

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We regret the room and the room service food didn’t quite meet your expectations, however we are pleased you could take advantage of our location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,236)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 3,236 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the moment you step into the elegant lobby to entering your room, the experience was 5-star. The attentive and professional staff at the door, bellman to front desk, all exceptional in their guest services.
So the property was once the main post office in Sydney, full of history and old world opulence. Converted into a Starwood Hotel is has become a cornerstone of the City and apparently, the staff take real pride in taking care of their guests. it's also conveniently located in the City. Modern Australian with a European flair, the property stands out as a gem to be admired.
Although on the pricier side, it's well worth the stay. You will not be disappointed. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yourwdgplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear yourwdgplanner

We were delighted to read your review following your stay at The Westin Sydney and pleased you had a memorable experience in our care. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived early at The Westin, having stayed the previous night down near the harbour, and were happy we could check in. Upon getting to our room, we were a little disappointed with the view given we were staying on the top floor in one of the executive rooms, however we were comparing it to where we had stayed the previous night. Overall though, we were extremely happy with the rest of the room. And the bed was to die for.
The hotel is close to everything, which we found very handy for the 3 nights we stayed there.
A good selection of food available for breakfast in the Executive Club so it meant we could change it up every day if we wanted to.
Our only annoyance was the key card for our room. One of them worked fine, but we had constant trouble in the elevators with the other one which we had to report more than once.
All in all, we would definitely return to The Westin.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raorsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Raorsri

We are appreciative of the time you have taken to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of our location as well as our Executive Club and pleased you could take comfort in our signature Heavenly® Beds. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stay here 5-6 times a year for work and its a convenient location for work. The gym is a commercial gym with new cardio machines and adequate weights. Avoid lower floors as it can be noisy in Martin Place and in the GPO after midnight due to cleaning.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear RockYu

Thank you for sharing your review following your experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and could enjoy the Goodlife Health Club. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had an awesome time at the westin sydney. The architecture esp the associated bell tower is to die for. Truly relaxing to the visual senses as well. All in all a great stay. The breakfast spread was a delight to the gastric senses as well. Located in the heart of the CBD, it is 10 mins away from the sydney harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizeviltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear mizeviltoes

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could enjoy the architecture with the blending of the modern tower andthe historic former General Post Office. The SuperFoodsRX breakfast in Mosaic is a great start to a day of exploring the city and we are pleased you could take advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Perfect location for Semi-Businees + Semi-Pleasure trip. Close to Wynyard station, easy walk towards the Ferry/Quarry, Opera House, Darling Harbor. Was able to check-in early. Great friendly staff. Nicely setup rooms, loved the Heavenly* branded amenities. Wish it had a swimming pool. WiFi is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are great..!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear SunnyPhilip

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and could take advantage of our central location. We are also delighted you could enjoy the white tea scented Heavenly bath products and do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is fabulous. If we were not in Sydney to see the sights I could have stayed in all day. The views are good. The building is beautiful with period detail and a modern feel. The bed is the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever stayed in. The staff were helpful and professional. The spa had a good range of treatments and was good value. The location is great, a short walk to darling harbour, circular quay, Hyde park and the botanical gardens, virtually on top of the shops for good shopping and next to the train station to get easily to other locations in and around Sydney. I would definately stay here again and will seek out Westin hotels elsewhere on the basis of such a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear C L

We are thrilled to read your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. Our central location makes for a great starting point to explore our wonderful city. We are pleased you could take comfort in our signature Westin Heavenly bed and do hope to welcome you back again when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $194 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing