We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and service.”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #35 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during the VIVID Festival in early June. Westin Sydney had lived up to its reputation with well appointed rooms, great service and a wonderful location. Check-in was with Alistair who was welcoming and efficient. I even had stashed important documents in the check-in safe downstairs with no problems at all. Emails prior to our stay were responded in a timely fashion by the manager as well.
I was given a Heritage room which was filled with charm especially with the high ceilings and thick walls. The room was spotless with more than sufficient towels, bathrobes, bottled water and coffee making facilities. From floor to ceiling, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean with climate control making the room cosy despite it being winter. The bathroom was big with a great rain shower as well. Newspaper was delivered each morning around 4:30AM if we left a doorknob card hanging outside. The only misstep that occurred was that housekeeping had come in when I was away although I had the Do-Not-Disturb button turned on. This might be a problem for some people.....
Breakfast was served at Mosaic under the watchful gaze of the clock tower. The breakfast menu is not as extensive as the 5 star hotels in Europe however each item is very well thought out to create a wonderful menu that would cater for everyone. The friendly Oriental lady at the egg station had noticed that I have had breakfast there for a few days in a row and graciously asked whether she could cook miso noodle soup which was not on the menu in case I was bored by the menu already. This was a very nice touch ! The elderly waitress[ didnt get her name but refer to pix] was great too. I love how she would discreetly clear crumbs I kept spilling on my table when I wandered to look for more food. The Superfood counter presents all the grains and fresh fruits to keep a health conscious person happy. Maybe serve wheatgrass juice in shot glasses if the Superfood counter really wants to up its game? An hour of complimentary WIFI was available at Mosaic with a password slip available from the staff. A cumbersome procedure since a hotspot ala Starbucks would be much more efficient while offering an optional paid WIFI for those who need better speed and security for work.
The informative doorman from Myanmar [ forgot his name] was a wealth of information about the goings on around the city. He greeted us each morning by name which was a wonderful personal touch!
My check out only took about 10-15 minutes for them to check my room, refund deposit and for me to retrieve documents I had kept in the safe. Express checkout is offered too alternatively.
There are bars/restaurant within the building that houses Westin that offers great food and drinks. Coles Supermarket and Wynyard train station are within walking distance as well. Pro tip: Take a train from the airport to Wynyard Station to reach the hotel to save time.
All in all, staying here was a wonderful experience. It's a lovely upscale hotel manned by great staff at a great location with amenities and shopping centres a short stroll away. I was there as a non-business guest and found myself welcomed despite some of the reviews here.So thank you Westin Sydney!

Sidenote:
*Maybe the manager who replies emails would like to prefixes currencies with AUS$ when quoting prices to eliminate any doubt if she meant AUS currency or American currency. Sometimes when we do a booking overseas in US dollars, things get a bit confusing so having the AUS$ sign eliminates the need to email again to clarify.

Room Tip: Choose a Heritage room for the charm it has to offer. Ultra modern rooms can be found in any 5 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoKailsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear FrancoKailsan

We are grateful for the time you have taken to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We were thrilled you could take advantage of our central location and were comfortable in our care. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,980 - 1,986 of 3,362 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights from 4th june 2103.the room was good,we stayed at the 14th floor as a starwood gold memeber got internet free.but the housekeeping was very bad.I have stayed in many starwwod five star properties all over the world,but this one was exceptional..they never kept the toiletries each day.believe me,first 5* property which refused for shower caps...the only draw back was the house keeping service.Other wise the location is too good.There are two good italian restaurants in the hotel campus(not ownwed by hotel)one is infact a pizzeria and the other a restaurant.the reception staff is the best,the bell desk guy was always a bit rude when he used to serve as a concierge.overall the stay was good.i would give excellent for location and rooms.good for staff.One more thing,we had a problem with the mattress,which was no doubt changed with immediate effect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunainamudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Sunainamudit

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay. We are happy that you had a positive experience overall however disappointed that your experience, on this occasion, with our housekeeping department was not up to the level of service that we strive to achieve. Should you wish to provide any further details so we may investigate with our team please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly at westin.sydney@westin.com.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as being a Starwood gold member. Got a good deal with cash and points basis. However, the staff service is really bad. A lot of problem with the internet. Also they put DVDaxhines and all this kind of stuff in the room but it does not work. Made a complaint at the reception but still can not fix the problem. When complained about the internet, reply comes that the internet in whole Australia is bad. Really funny. Can not believe its a service standards of Westin.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear David N

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback online. We are disappointed to learn of your experience as it is not the level of service we strive to achieve. We invite you to contact us at westin.sydney@westin.com to provide further detail so we may inspect the room to ensure all is in order.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location by the shopping and train/bus station. The staff was very friendly and helpful and my room was beautiful - very chic and how can you not love the heavenly bed and the bathroom had a bath and a shower and I have been traveling for a bit, so it seemed like heaven :) It is a big hotel, but felt like the warm service made it feel cozy at the same time. The con is that you have to pay for wifi in your room, but it is free in the lobby...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear tlb999

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Heavenly® bed experience and could take advantage of our rainforest shower and deep soak bath to enhance your relaxation. Our central location and knowledgeable associates also make it easy to explore the city. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I spent one night here, but the service was unquestionably amazing. Even when there were events occurring outside of their control when leaving the car for valet and checking in they dealt with it in a professional manner. They even followed up afterwards via email to apologize and to make sure everything went ok, which it did. The standard room was spacious, the bathroom very nice and the bed as expected comfortable. The location is very good to get to all the key tourist areas in an easy walk.

Room Tip: I found a special deal online for the night AUD 198, which made it a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmcuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear jdmcuse

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that our associates ensured you had a memorable stay and that you could enjoy our spacious tower room to relx after leisurely day seeing the sights of Sydney. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We forked out for the best room (got a pretty good deal) for an executive suite. The room was the most amazing I have stayed in. It was massive, had two TV's, and had awesome views across Sydney. The bathroom was one of the highlights, with with a bath looking out over the city, and a large shower area with a rainshower. However, the bed was simply amazing, probably up there with the most comfortable I have stayed in.

While the executive club access wasn't as good as what I had experienced elsewhere, it was still decent with great service and a good choice of wine and canapes. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, with a great variety of food.

Service was faultless and check-in and check-out was easy and fast. Definitely one of the better hotels in Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Ben M

We are delighted to read your review and are pleased you had an enjoyable stay in one of our Executive Suites. The deep soak bath tub with the view overlooking the city skyline is arguably the best place to relax in the hotel, second only to our signature Heavenly bed. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The heritage rooms at this hotel are in a renovated historic building, the old General Post Office. I love them. High ceilings, charming decor with all amenities, no elevator noise, closer to the restaurant and health club.
The tower rooms are good, too. They offer more expansive views, especially of the beautiful old clock tower atop the post office. But, you just don't get something unique like the heritage rooms in a business hotel very often.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jutiapa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Olive P

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay in a Heritage room at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in this historic part of the hotel, encompassing the former General Post Office. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 181 in Sydney
4,702 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,146 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $172 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing