We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the central CBD area.”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the central CBD area.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at this great hotel for 2 weeks. The hotel is very centrally located and located inside of the old post office. The suite we had was very spacious with the bed was very comfy. The staff at this hotel are very friendly. Housekeeping did a great job at cleaning the room and concierge was very helpful with advising us on places to eat and things to do, etc. During the week, the hotel is filled with a lot of business people as it is located in the middle of the business district. It did feel funny walking around the hotel during this time as everyone was in business suits. The hotel is about a $30 taxi ride to Bondi beach when you are not going during rush hour. There is a westin taxi stand right outside the hotel, as well as a public taxi stand a little further up. Unfortunately, if you needed a taxi during dinner time, be prepared to wait for 30 mins plus. Most taxi's tended to stop at the public taxi stand, instead of turning into the hotel, so you may have better luck there.
Overall, it was a decent hotel. Nothing really stood out to me that I would write home about. If you've stayed at Westin's before, you'll know what to expect. I would recommend this hotel, as I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyaneseMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear GuyaneseMadness

Thank you for detailing your review following an enjoyable stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and could relax in our signature Heavenly® bed. Thank you for your recognition of our dedicated housekeepers and concierge associates. We are grateful for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,705
    934
    267
    115
    90
See reviews for
497
1,098
234
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Westin is very centrally located in the central business district. The rooms in the tower are modern, clean and as you would expect from any Westin. The staff is very helpful and cheerful. Some of the rooms are more traditional in the historic wing. We received our Platinum SPG suite upgrade along with use of the club lounge. The corner suite was nice and spacious and the club room is fine. I might suggest whomever is in charge of the club to visit other club rooms both in Sydney and other countries in the Pacific. Each morning and evening the food in the club is the same for the most part. Hot selections in the evening were limited to say the least. There is absolutely no comparison between the club room at the Westin and the Sheraton on the Park and for that reason, we would recommend anyone staying on club or entitled to stay on club get their money's worth and stay at the Sheraton on the Park.
In addition, the Westin gym is run by an outside athletic club. We found the equipment old and tired and in need of being replaced. Yes it worked, but it's kind of like going to pick up your rental car and jumping in something WELL WORN and about 10 years old. Normally, I'm in the gym twice a day, but this was such a disappointment, I tried it once and went elsewhere during our stay.
On site restaurants are quite expensive and anyone not on an expense account, can find much higher quality food elsewhere at a lower price point. These are hotel prices and without any stellar reviews as you'll find with some of the nicer restaurants in the downtown area. We find most hotels food service to be much more focused on "revenue" than on quality, and this is no exception. Even the staff, to their credit suggested looking at the menu prices and offered suggestions for venues in the area.
Overall, I give this hotel four stars, it's good, but with the things I noted above and the competition from the 5 star Sheraton on the Park it doesn't deserve a higher rating. If you don't care about the quality of the club room and the Westin is $50 or so cheaper than the Sheraton, then one might give the Westin a try. But, if the Sheraton is at all close in price, it's not even a question one needs to think about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear PDXStocks

We are appreciative of your detailed review following you recent stay at The Westin Sydney. Thank you for your observations regarding the breakfast and canapé offerings in the Westin Executive Club, we will be sure to pass this along to our Executive Chef to review accordingly. You may be pleased to note that the GoodLife Health Club recently updated all of their cardio equipment, replacing it all with the latest machines available. Thank you for your further observations relating to our Mosaic restaurant. We are pleased our associates took great care of you however disappointed that you prefer to stay elsewhere. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed a few nights at the Westin Sydney recently and was pleasantly surprised. Service, rooms, breakfast, check out and the total expereince was excellent.
Hard to fault the room experience and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Extremely well located in Pitt street central to everything.
Fully recomended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAKYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear crakyl

Thank you for your glowing review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and could wake up refreshed in our signature Heavenly® bed ready to take on the day ahead. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

being a spg diamond card member, this stay at westin sydney has come to a total disappointment!
1/ at check in, we were informed none of the SPG membership benefits would be entitled to owing to our booking via travel agent (however, our previous stay at westin seoul 3 months ago was booked through the same travel agent but the hotel at least welcomed us to the executive lounge!)
2/ housekeeping has to be retrained (we've had days which toiletries not being replenished, pillows, hairdryer, ironing board & iron not being tidied up)
3/ no complimentary water (only certain floors are entitled to) & slippers (have to request) provided

again, the location is unbeatable but there is always a better choice for overall experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravel-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear ilovetravel-2010

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. By way of explanation, as per the program terms and conditions, when reservations are made using third party websites, such as expedia, travelocity, etc the entitled SPG benefits do not apply. We recommend reaching out to your travel agent to determine how they made your reservations on each occasion to clarify further. We are disappointed to learn of your observations relating to housekeeping and will certainly share this valuable feedback with our Executive Housekeeper to address accordingly. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location during your stay and do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in January of 2013. We enjoyed the location and were able to walk most places in the central area. The rooms and service were lovely. The gym and Pool are located in a difficult spot because the hotel is made up of several buildings so we did not use them. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyLondonOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear JulieLondonOnt

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us in January. We are pleased that you and your husband could enjoy the SuperFoodsRX buffet breakfast in Mosaic Restaurant and also take advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is excellent although the on-site pricing exceeds our norm. They offered a short free wifi service that did the job for us and let us avoid the 24 hour charge. Even at 70, we were able to walk to the harbor, opera house, rocks and botanical gardens. Due to pricing, we got meals off-site which was very easy to do. For those not as cheap as us, everything was readily available and the service was excellent. We loved the modern decor of the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear glaclough

Thank you for your review and observations regarding our pricing. We are pleased you could take advantage of the complimentary internet offered in the lobby area and Mosaic Restaurant. Our central location is a great starting point to explore all of what Sydney has to offer. We are thrilled our associates took great care of you and hope to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel exceeded our expectations. It was centrally located, the rooms were very nice and comfortable and the Lounge was a nice bonus to the stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again if I came to Sydney. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room very quiet.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. Try to get an Executive Suite with access to the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear polin001

We are grateful for your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and delighted you could take advantage of the Westin Executive Club. Our signature Westin Heavenly® beds make for a wonderful night’s sleep allowing you to awake refreshed and ready for the day ahead. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing