We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel, perfectly situated in sydney”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #33 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin in Sydney during our vacation and I have to say it was amazing, not to mention the shower was the best thing ever. Seriously. We loved the location of the hotel and the wine and cheese bar downstairs was pretty awesome too. Great spot and you can never go wrong with the Westin heavenly bed, esp after a 14-hour flight from the US!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacinfitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear lovelylittledetails

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you had an enjoyable stay and were comfortable in our care following a tiring travel experience. We are delighted you took comfort in our signature Westin Heavenly Bed and we hope to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney when you are next in Australia.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,236)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,020 - 2,026 of 3,236 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Westin Sydney is the usual Westin fare, slightly better than most. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms more so. Located in the old Post Office building, the public spaces have a charm of their own. In the room the AC works well, but noisy. Bed is the usual Westin heavenly sort, very comfy. Extra towels int he bathroom that are a notch above others in quality. Plumbing in the room is dodgy - expect the shower diverter to oscillate and the temperature hard to maintain. Wifi is nice and fast and super expensive at $100/wk. In room coffee!
Mosaic restaurant on level 1 has poor service, as every day of my stay we noticed generally absent service/coffee refills etc. For $42 breakfast you will expect more and notice that you got less.
Health club is a private establishment located in the hotel with guests may use. A full featured gym with weights, machines, pool and locker rooms. It's busy at times, but a nice feature. Get a room on floor 3 for quick access to the gym.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swixo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear swixo

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay however are disappointed we werent able to exceed your expectations on this occasion. We would appreciate if you could share the room number at westin.sydney@westin.com so that we may ensure the issues in the shower have been addressed. Rest assured we have shared your observations regarding breakfast with our management team to address accordngly. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here in September 2012, on the last night of a 3-week tour of Australia. The comfort and luxury level of this hotel made us feel quite pampered. The staff was friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was lovely. There are several places to dine inside the hotel or just outside. The close-by Queen Victoria Building is where we chose to have a quick bite for breakfast before heading to the airport. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: We did not ask for a special room; we had a standard room. Look at the photos and you'll see thi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraMomNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear BarbaraMomNana

We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay at The Westin Sydney and were comfortable in our care. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent 3 nights recently at the hotel, friendly staff, great location, however the extras such as $65 for parking was outrageous. I have stayed at other hotels in Sydney and usually pay $30 to $40 per night for parking. Room service was also well above the norm. I also had to pay an extra $80 per night for my room or wait 2 hours for the room i booked to be cleaned. It felt everywhere i turned I was being ripped off. Certainly not the experience i have had at other hotels in this category in Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliotcaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Elliotcaus

Thank you for detailing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and could take advantage of our central location however disappointed we did not meet your expectation regarding our pricing. Rest assured, we are careful to ensure our pricing is in line with the market however upon next reviewing our offerings, we will certainly do so with your feedback in mind. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a room in the old GPO and it had class. We enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfast is very expensive, but happily there is on the basement flour a good breakfast place that was not costly and pleasant. The location of the hotel in the city centre makes it very well located for exploring the town

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the GPO building to have more character
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Robert v

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Heritage rooms in the former General Post Office wing. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This Westin in Sydney has a problem with the way taxis are handled by hotel luggage staff. It is clear that there is a SCAM run by the staff (the supervisors in charge) at the baggage section when you ask them for a taxi. This happened TWICE during my 2 separate stay at this Westin in Sydney (I stayed there on 2 separate occasions in January). The first time I asked for a cab to go to the airport, I was offered (by the man in charge of the baggae section), a private car (parked separately just outside the hotel). I refused, and asked for a cab, so he called a cab (there was a long line of cabs available, the trip cost $50 as usual. The second time, I asked for a cab to go to the airport, the person who was in CHARGE of the baggage section took my luggage to a cab (again parked separately outside the hotel, totally away from the taxi queue where tens of cabs were available). There was a 5 minutes conversation between this particular cab driver and the hotel employee: they seem to be friends or whatever). I was in a rush and did not pay attention or suspect anything. But at the airport, I was surprised that there was an additional $15 charge added to the fare for a total of $68 (usually it is $50). The driver told me that there was an additional booking fee because the cab was booked by the hotel (I never asked the hotel to book a cab). I asked him for a receipt, and he was ready with what looked like a pre-made receipt for $70 (more than I paid), which actually showed a trip FROM the airport to Sydney (and not from Sydney to the hotel). Because of time constraints, I did not pursue this further with the driver (it was a waste of time to argue about $15). And by the way, the Westin in Melbourne (which I stayed in during that visit offered an OUTSTANDING service), which makes me believe this problem is specific to the Westin in Sydney. It is highly likely that there is a kickbak scam going on between some cab drivers and the luggage personnel / supervisors in Westin Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hexagone6x6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Hexagone6x6

Thank you for further detailing your experience on Trip Advisor. We trust you have received our correspondence on the matter. Rest assured that the private transfers to the airport is indeed an added service we offer to our guests who that would prefer to travel in comfort and luxury for a comparable fare to a standard taxi. With regard to the second occasion, we have conveyed your experience, concerns and the licence number of the taxi in question to the Department of Transport who regulate the taxi industry, for their further review. We appreicate you bringing this to our attention and are pleased you had an enjoyable experience at our sister property The Westin Melbourne.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Westin hands down has the best beds for a hotel chain. The rooms are incredibly comfortable, breakfast choices are impressive and service is always given with a genuine smile. The Westin group have become our top favourite over the years and the never disappoint.

Room Tip: Try requesting a room in the old section of the hotel...rooms seem to be slightly larger.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Michelle M

We are thrilled to read your review and learn that Westin is your favourite hotel brand. We are delighted that you our associates can take took great care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $194 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing