We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Club Lounge and No Views”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #36 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westin to celebrate our anniversary.

We had a lunch reservation at Quay at 12.30 so I rang the hotel the day before we arrived and asked if an early check in would be possible as we would need to get changed before lunch. The girl said that should be ok. However when we arrived our room was not ready and we both had to get changed in the toilets to get ready for our lunch. Upon returning we were able to check in. The rooms were lovely, however the view is horrendous (see photos). We like to enjoy a drink while looking down at the city below but this is not an option at the Westin. I understand not all hotels can have great views, but for a 5 star hotel and the price they charge you really can’t help but expect a bit more.

We upgraded our room to an Executive Club Room so that we could access the Club Lounge. This was perhaps the most disappointing part of our stay. I would have to say the Club Lounge is the poorest of all hotels we have stayed. The canapés are basically cheese and biscuits and that’s about it. We waited so long to get served a drink that I had to get up and go and ask the waiter. The staff started cleaning up the tables and preparing for breakfast 15 minutes prior to the club closing, while people were having drinks. Breakfast is perhaps even worse. There is no set menu to order from (forget your eggs!) and the selection available is again poor. Some oily scrambled eggs, small mushrooms and potato. Or you can make your own vegemite toast. If you have visited other Club Lounges and expect the same at the Westin, you are going to be disappointed. Save the extra money and go for a nice dinner and have breakfast at the restaurant downstairs where you can start your day with a decent meal.

After canapes (cheese & biscuits) we thought we might order some room service. Howver after seeing that a cheese burger was $29 plus $8 delivery (see picture) we thought we would head downstairs for some food, which ended up being quite nice. It is a good option for dinner and food if you don't want to pay the extreme prices of room service.

In short the Westin falls short of the 5 stars for us. However if you avoid paying extra for the Club Lounge and are not fussed with a view, you may not be as disappointed as we were.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that end in "15" if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetseta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear jetseta10

We are grateful for the time you have taken to detail your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are naturally disappointed that you we did not exceed your expectations. We are fortunate to have two distinct room types, the modern Tower and the historic Heritage rooms in the GPO wing. Upon your next stay may we suggest trying a Heritage room with the outlook over Martin Place. Thank you for your observations regarding the Westin Executive Lounge, rest assured this feedback has been shared with our Executive Chef and Executive Lounge Manager to address accordingly with their teams. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,218 - 2,224 of 3,396 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Reliable Westin quality in a particularly impressive building. Loved the blending of new refurbs on a classic old structure. Nicely appointed club lounge with extremely attentive staff. Great convenience to shopping, circular quay and other CBD spots. Room itself was fine - got a semi SPG upgrade (high floor, nice view) but not to a suite. I guess they get a lot of platinum guests there so I wasn't too special. Only odd thing is that the downstairs restaurants seemed to have a great deal of potential but were either closed or "dead" on the days we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Tim C

We are grateful for your recommendation and delighted you were comfortable during your stay with us. We are fortunate to be located in the historic General Post Office building and we are pleased you enjoyed the newly refurbished Westin Executive Lounge. Thank you for your observations regarding the privately operated GPO restaurants located in the basement, we will certainly pass along this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney in the near future.


Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Westin, centrally located in Sydney should be a template for other 4/5 star hotels. The property is immaculate and service by all is of the highest calibre. Rooms are roomy and luxuruious. Each of my requests were met quickly and efficiently. There is not much else to say except when in Sydney you could do no better than the Westin

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambria147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear cambria147

It was a pleasure to read your review of The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our associates took great care of you. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Check in a breeze and allocated a large room in the Heritage section of the hotel which is brilliant. Great bed and bathroom with walk-in dressing room and plenty of room for luggage and clothing. All amenities in the room are great and one of the best things is the water pressure in the shower which is fantastic, and often lacking in many hotels. Bar and food area are also very good. One of the great things about this hotel is the location on Pitt Street and Martin Place so you are never far from the shopping or the Harbour. Overall a great place to stay with excellent staff (Thanks to Charlotte for being so helpful with her recommendations of things to do). Will be back next year!

Room Tip: f you can get a Heritage room then its a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigW5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear CraigW5456

Thank you for sharing your comments. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Heritage rooms located in the historic General Post Office building and found the Heavenly® shower invigorating. We will be sure to pass along your recognition to Charlotte and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions and have always enjoyed the facilities and the rooms.the rooms are clean and well equipped and the staff friendly. My only negative comments are the high cost of wifi in rooms and the cost of ca parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Chris D

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and your feedback regarding our ancillary charges. Rest assured we will share these comments with the wider management team and upon reviewing our offerings and price point will certainly do so with your feedbac in mind. We are delighted you enjoying staying we us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Unbelievable service and great club level facilities! Great breakfast and open bar in afternoon. Location in the middle of everything. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Great hotel!!!!!!!!! What more can I say?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briocoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear briocoffee

Thank you for your glowing review. We were pleased you were able to take advantage of our central location and were comfortable in the care of the Westin Executive Lounge. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

There is always a sense of familiarity for me at the Westin. It's one of my favorite brands when I travel and (outside US) I always find a nice luxury clean environment that I like. Sydney Westin is not exception.

Rooms are very nice, the property is composed by joining a old fascinating building, where the heritage rooms are, and a new modern tower, where the towers rooms are located. Staff is averagely friendly, even though as not friendly as in Asia, and service is at par with expectations.

The executive lounge though needs serious improvements. The place is quite small, for such a nice and well located hotel, the breakfast in the lounge is quite scarce and with no variety, staff are OK but not extremely efficient. Another very disappointing note is that usually I can choose to dine at the executive lounge or in the restaurant for my breakfast, but I was not allow to do so here in Sydney.

The location is fantastic, near the CBD and the shopping area on Pitt. Few minutes walking everywhere, from Darling Harbour to Circular Quay or to Chinatown.

It was one of the best hotel we have been in this trip to Australia, but a little disappointing compared to Asia.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms, Executive Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGADOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear AGADOTTI

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and we are delighted that Westin is your home away from home. Our Westin Executive Lounge is an intimate space that caters for our Platinum guests, rest assured we will share this feedback with our Executive Lounge manager and Executive Chef for review. Upon making your next reservation you may wish to select a rate inclusive of breakfast so you can take advantage of the SuperFoodsRX buffet served in Mosaic.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#44 of 186 in Sydney
4,747 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#21 of 186 in Sydney
2,197 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $210 - $617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing