We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #35 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Westin, centrally located in Sydney should be a template for other 4/5 star hotels. The property is immaculate and service by all is of the highest calibre. Rooms are roomy and luxuruious. Each of my requests were met quickly and efficiently. There is not much else to say except when in Sydney you could do no better than the Westin

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cambria147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear cambria147

It was a pleasure to read your review of The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our associates took great care of you. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,189 - 2,195 of 3,362 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Check in a breeze and allocated a large room in the Heritage section of the hotel which is brilliant. Great bed and bathroom with walk-in dressing room and plenty of room for luggage and clothing. All amenities in the room are great and one of the best things is the water pressure in the shower which is fantastic, and often lacking in many hotels. Bar and food area are also very good. One of the great things about this hotel is the location on Pitt Street and Martin Place so you are never far from the shopping or the Harbour. Overall a great place to stay with excellent staff (Thanks to Charlotte for being so helpful with her recommendations of things to do). Will be back next year!

Room Tip: f you can get a Heritage room then its a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigW5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear CraigW5456

Thank you for sharing your comments. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our Heritage rooms located in the historic General Post Office building and found the Heavenly® shower invigorating. We will be sure to pass along your recognition to Charlotte and look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here on several occasions and have always enjoyed the facilities and the rooms.the rooms are clean and well equipped and the staff friendly. My only negative comments are the high cost of wifi in rooms and the cost of ca parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Chris D

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and your feedback regarding our ancillary charges. Rest assured we will share these comments with the wider management team and upon reviewing our offerings and price point will certainly do so with your feedbac in mind. We are delighted you enjoying staying we us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Unbelievable service and great club level facilities! Great breakfast and open bar in afternoon. Location in the middle of everything. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Great hotel!!!!!!!!! What more can I say?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briocoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear briocoffee

Thank you for your glowing review. We were pleased you were able to take advantage of our central location and were comfortable in the care of the Westin Executive Lounge. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

There is always a sense of familiarity for me at the Westin. It's one of my favorite brands when I travel and (outside US) I always find a nice luxury clean environment that I like. Sydney Westin is not exception.

Rooms are very nice, the property is composed by joining a old fascinating building, where the heritage rooms are, and a new modern tower, where the towers rooms are located. Staff is averagely friendly, even though as not friendly as in Asia, and service is at par with expectations.

The executive lounge though needs serious improvements. The place is quite small, for such a nice and well located hotel, the breakfast in the lounge is quite scarce and with no variety, staff are OK but not extremely efficient. Another very disappointing note is that usually I can choose to dine at the executive lounge or in the restaurant for my breakfast, but I was not allow to do so here in Sydney.

The location is fantastic, near the CBD and the shopping area on Pitt. Few minutes walking everywhere, from Darling Harbour to Circular Quay or to Chinatown.

It was one of the best hotel we have been in this trip to Australia, but a little disappointing compared to Asia.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms, Executive Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGADOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear AGADOTTI

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and we are delighted that Westin is your home away from home. Our Westin Executive Lounge is an intimate space that caters for our Platinum guests, rest assured we will share this feedback with our Executive Lounge manager and Executive Chef for review. Upon making your next reservation you may wish to select a rate inclusive of breakfast so you can take advantage of the SuperFoodsRX buffet served in Mosaic.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

my husband and I stayed here as a last minute change to our wedding anniversary plans left us without a hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. we stayed in a heritage suite for a few nights. The room was clean and spacious (the high ceilings are a lovely feature) the beds and pillows where very comfortable and the separate mini walk in wardrobe and bathroom etc were also clean and spacious.

while the parking was very high ( $60 a day) and the restaurant prices where also high we only spent time at their bar for an hour or so while we waited for our dinner reservation at Jamie Oliver's restaurant nearby to be available. the service here was friendly and attentive- we asked for a bowl of olives with our drinks (which weren't on the menu) and they were happy to oblige.

we did have an issue with our rain shower not working the first day and informed staff as we went off to lunch when we returned it had been fixed. I also thought I had left my sunglasses in the room after we checked out and they were kind enough to give us a access to the room to check- unfortunately they weren't found, but that we were able to check was very appreciated. only other drawback was due to our room facing the inner part of the old Post Office, it meant that the sound, music and loud chatter from the downstairs bars filtered up, however it all did stop at midnight so thank fully we were able to get to sleep at a decent hour.

We found check in to be quick and easy as was check out. All the staff from the front desk, concierge to friendly 'hello's' from any staff we passed whilst in the hotel- made us feel comfortable and welcomed at the hotel. We would definitely consider coming back again in a different room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_scarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear travelling_scarf

We are grateful for the time you have taken to share your review following your anniversary stay with us. We are pleased you found our historic Heritage rooms spacious and tastefully appointed. Upon your next stay you may wish to try a higher floored Tower room with floor to ceiling windows and an outlook over Martin Place. Thank you for your kind words regarding our associates, we will be sure to pass along your recognition to the wider team.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for five nights in a standard room, with breakfast included in the package. The hotel is ideally located within easy walking distance of all of the city's attractions. Service at check-in and check-out was efficient and friendly and our room was well presented and appointed. The bed was incredibly comfortable, one of the highlights of the room. The bathroom was surprisingly spacious for a standard room, and I really enjoyed using the 'rain shower'. One down side of the room was the small mini-bar fridge, which is so small that it is basically crammed full of the (ridiculously expensive) mini-bar items, leaving no room for our own food and drinks. By far one of the best aspects of my stay was the breakfast at Mosaic restaurant, it basically has every food item you could possibly want, and the view from the restaurant is also fantastic. I had a very relaxing stay at The Westin Sydney and would have no hesitations on staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear sam_1220

It was a pleasure to read your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay from the signature Westin Heavenly® bed and rain shower to the nourishing SuperFoodsRX buffet breakfast in the newly refurbished Mosaic. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#40 of 181 in Sydney
4,702 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,145 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#12 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $172 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing