We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Westin”
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
Ranked #32 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Really Westin”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A really good hotel in a great location. The usual high standard of Westin service was a stand out and the lobby is well and truly up to 5-star standard. You can't get more central than this in inner Sydney - fantastic location to access work and pleasure activities. Car parking was expensive but I really liked the effort that had been put into the room design and fitout. I'll be back...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,702
    933
    268
    115
    90
See reviews for
496
1,098
234
898
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
624 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have stayed here previously as it is well located to the shopping areas.Check in was handled efficiently we were given a room in the old post office part of the hotel it was nice but prefer the tower rooms even though they are a bit smaller.

The only small issue is that they did not do turndown service so when we returned back from dinner we had request fresh towels for the morning
I would stay there again more for the location and not because of the service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a fabulous CBD hotel. Set on the historic GPO building, we had a room in the new Tower building. Spacious for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children). We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel too. Customer service cannot be faulted. Every request was met in a timely and satisfactory manner. The hotel is a short walk to everything in the CBD, from both a business and leisure trip perspective.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sporthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I had originally booked to stay at the Westin hotel .. I booked everything and called them up to discuss my reservations only to find that they are the most rudest, arogant people I have ever come across... I cancelled my reservation and booked the Marriott... Service is a 10/10 there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The beds are fantastic with a interesting bathroom, you can sit in the bath and see the bed, if you please you can close the screen. Found the location fantastic close to all the new stores and westfield just a short stroll. The building is as old as sydney gets the old post office. The staff still have the old fashion attitude. All round a great hotel, no views of the water though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location central to the city and key locations. High standard for all rooms. Fresh and consistent ammenities. Good lobby meeting venues for coffee or drinks in the bar.
Would recommend getting a deal to stay here for frequent visitors to Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngusPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Love the lobby and the club level is not too shabby either.
We stayed in a suite and found it to be adequate in size. The bathroom was well decorated with generous use of glass and mirror which gave a modern feel however the sun light shined through to the bedroom in the morning and disrupted a peacefully sleep.
Love the mattress!

Room Tip: A considerably good choice for Sydney CBD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo_Li721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,198 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Property: The Westin Sydney
Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing