We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Westin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Available Rate!
Ranked #32 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Westin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

I found a discounted deal on Westin web site which required rate to be paid on application. This rate enabled our stay in a luxury room at an affordable price.
Rooms were very clean with luxury fittings and so well equipped. Showers were magnificent, bedding and pillows super comfortable. Staff extremely attentive and very personalized. Location was fantastic -within walking distance of train stations, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and The Rocks.
Would definitely recommend Westin.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the clock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BushtoBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

If you want a pleasureable stay at this hotel dont take your car or more importantly dont mention parking charges to any of the staff. I was gobsmaked at the parking charges and simply asked the front desk why the parking charges were so high......it must be a sore point as the young girl tried to blame every other company except the westin ( Macquarie Bank copped most of the blame ) and when i mention i was not staying at the Macquarie Hotel she asked me would i like to cancel my booking!!!! It just got worse from then on..... Anyway i have sratched off The Westin from my list of Sydney Hotels.....Oh and dont ask for a slightly late check out, another blame game will begin...
steve@qpt.com.au

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StevenG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at the Westin for 2 nights and loved it. The room was a nice size for the 3 of us and had a nice view. It was clean and quiet. The one downside was the glass bathroom, which if someone got up very early to shower etc, it would light up the entire room. There was a blind that pulled down on the glass wall, but didn't black it out. The service was excellent and they allowed us to do a late check out with no fees. Very nice, considering our flight wasn't until 9pm. The rain shower was superb! Very relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Centrally located with big spacious rooms, clean and welcoming. Club lounge is also excellent for breakfast and evening wine and canapes.
Only ONE negative for the hotel which I hope they change: they need more staff in the club lounge in the morning. 2 ladies who welcome you, check your room number, bring your tea/coffee, and clean up the tables. They are rushed off their feet! There only needs to be one guest who chooses to check in/out at the lounge and things are thrown into disarray and you can bet you never get that second pot of coffee!
Please note to the management; more staff there, or put out the tea/coffee so guests can help themselves.
However still my first choice in Sydney!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santosdiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

stayed on starwood preferred guest points so felt even better as a freebie. great location just off martin place (entrance on Pitt St). Good room service, spectacular bathroom, great breakfast, heavenly bed - what you would expect from a Westin.

Room Tip: request a view of the clock tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I have stayed at the Westin Sydney at least 20 times. I have SPG Platinum status and have generally enjoyed the Westin in Sydney over the last 4 years. As a result of my last stay, they have lost me forever as a customer. Here's what happened. Several days before my planned check-out, I spoke with the front desk about extending my stay for another 4 days. At that time, I was told that I could do so for the same rate all but one day on which the hotel was booked full. I was fine with that, since I was actually planning to be somewhere else that night and was only keeping the room, so I didn't have to pack and check out. Well, on the day I was originally supposed to check out, the housekeeping staff told me she was surprised that I had extended my stay, since their records showed me leaving. I called the front desk right away. After some time, they called back and confirmed I could stay the current night and that they would look into the other nights (thought this was just a formality). Finally, they called me back to tell me that I could indeed stay those nights, but that the room rate went up by $500/night. They also seemed to doubt my story about reserving the a few days earlier, stating "we have no record that it occurred." This is outrageous! I am of course not accepting such a move and won’t stay there again. And I have Platinum status with Westin, so imagine what happens to you if you don't.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jhnelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed in one of the Heritage rooms overlooking Martin Place, nice large rooms with double height ceilings, separate robe and large bathroom with rain shower.
The only problem we had was an incredible stench in the hallway that made you nearly passout as you tried to unlock the door everytime. Once in the room it was OK though. The hotel appeared aware of the problem with a deodoriser spotted in the hallway as we were checking out. No-one should have been put in these rooms with the hallway in this condition as it ruined the hotel experience on arrival and depature from the room everytime.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,671 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,059 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Marriott Sydney Harbour at Circular Quay
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#27 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Family Hotel in Sydney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#