We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #56 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2006

It's hard to beat the location of this hotel, but we found our room pretty spare and average. It's a small hotel and they were pretty full the week we were there, so they weren't able to provide us with something more to our liking. We were on the second floor-avoid these rooms as there is no view or balconies in many of them. If I were to stay there again, I would insist on one of the upper floors with a balcony. Otherwise, the staff was OK, but nothing special. The location is hard to beat. Close to everything in the Rocks, with tons of good places to eat and drink. Recommended for coffee in the morning or afternoon snack is the Bakers Oven, which is just down the nurse's walk stairs right across the street from the hotel entrance. Good coffee and food, friendly folks.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank everest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,165 - 2,171 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2006

Wonderful location. Walking distance to Circualar Quay, Ferries, Trains. Great restaurants and bars in the area. Walk back up the stairs from the hotel to a pizza bar, wine shop and towards the bridge to a great bar that has rooftop seating and quite reasonable beverages and food for the area. We were lucky and got a 5th floor room. You definately want to request 4th or 5th floor with balcony. View is perfect, however cruise ships come in and swallow up your view of the Opera House. Lucky they leave each day. We did not have a balcony room the first night but requested a room change which was accommodated the next night quite nicely.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bendites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

I stayed at the Rendezvous Stafford for 6 nights earlier this month and LOVED it -- Great location (right on the rocks, just above circular quay) -- It was on a smaller, quieter street but walking distance to everything...Very friendly and intimate hotel. Had the studio apartment that had a great kitchenette and good seating/eating areas.

Best part of the room was the view! Ask for a room with a view of the opera house and bridge -- I was in room #508 and it had a great little patio and it was high enough to get a great view without paying a premium for the penthouse suite.

Rooms were clean and comfortable, not glamourous, but a much better value than the pricier hotels right on circular quay.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LeftCoastTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

Great small apartment hotel in best possible location BUT with serious booking/management problems! Our second stay in 15 mos (minor snafu with first visit - we thought it was an anomaly). This time, despite numbered, written, confirmed reservation, staff failed to honor booking, tried, without comment, to place in vastly inferior room, then stonewalled, then tried to overcharge. ONLY due to our insistence and persistence did we reach an adequate compromise (with a bottle of wine) - still left with lack of confidence in competence and/or credibility! IF you can secure penthouse units (2 rooms/huge balconies/Harbor views @ $450 NZ) OR 4-5 floor studios WITH balcony/views ($286 NZ) it's worth it - this is one of the best in the area - a couple of blocks from the pricey Hyatt. Not sure though that we'd risk it or our vacation again.

6  Thank Frequent travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

I've stayed here several times before and have recommended it many times. It used to be very modern and spotless; not now.
The lobby is worn looking and so was the room. The picture on the website makes the balcony look beautiful, but in truth it's very plain and very hot.
The breakfast was a typical Comfort Inn
type - not what I expect from Australia! I'm afraid the new management/owners have let the place deteriorate.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AussieAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2006

We stayed here after reading the on-line reviews at Tripadvisor and would defnitely recommend it to anyone else visiting Sydney. If we were being really critical then the hotel room was a little tired looking, but that'a being ultra picky as the room and bathroom were very clean and the view from the balcomy was unbelievable. It's worth paying the extra for an executive studio, or one bedroom room, as they seem to be above the fourth floor and so have bridge and opera house views. At the surrounding hotels a similar view of the harbour would have cost a fortune, so it's very cheap when you take into consideration the amenties (small heated pool and spa)and being so nearby Circular Quay and The Roacks. When we stayed breakfast was included in the price although I think that's changed now. If we go to Sydney again, we would defnitely stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TandyWhitebits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2006

Arrived at the Rendezvous Stafford late at night with the plane buzz still in our ears, but just one look out of our room window, our tiredness vanished. There was an uninterrupted view of The Opera House.

The location of this hotel is fantastic, just a few minutes walk from Circular Quay.

We booked this hotel after reading comments on the website and can wholeheartedly recommend it. We knew it was on The Rocks, but didn't expect such a fantastic location.

If we ever visit Sydney again, and I hope we do, it would certainly be our first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Wilkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#44 of 179 in Sydney
2,451 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
934 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $150 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing