We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #60 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The location was great, right near the Rocks which would have been handy if the market was on. The entrance looked good but the receptionist kept us waiting a while as she chatted to a guest about places to go. We were tired and found this bad manners.
The lobby was cheap and the room was disappointing. We had expected a groovy, unusual but trendy place judging by the cleverly taken photos which we saw on Trip Advisor but instead it was a tired and grubby room and bathroom.
We didnt bother with the continental breakfast on offer as there were multiple choices of eateries nearby.
There was a pool which was tiny, outdoors and cold therefore unusable.
The 'Rockpool' was a wonderful eating experience and a great find just round the corner and the only good thing about our stay at the Rendezvous.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,202 - 2,208 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2009

For a tourist, I found this to be an excellent location, at a reasonable price. Ten minutes' walk to circular quay (a little bit of uphill, and perhaps twenty stairs in the middle of that walk, if stairs are an issue for one). Five minutes' walk to the circular quay cruise ship terminal, and a stroll along the harbour. Twenty minutes' walk to the opera house. Easy access for a walk across the bridge. This is not a grand hotel, but it's a perfectly pleasant small hotel, with a small but welcoming lobby, and an almost-boutiquey feel. The front desk staff were a bit harried and over-worked, usually solo and handling multiple customers, but were pleasant and professional.

Our room was the least expensive available, and overlooked a courtyard and adjacent rooftops, not bad since the adjacent rooftops are classic tile, on vintage buildings. We did not have a "view", nor did we expect one , given the reasonable price we paid. The room was pretty generous in size. The bathroom was maybe a bit tight, but it was acceptable.

Every room has an adequately-equipped kitchenette, and we had breakfast in before heading out for the day. Nice to be able to have a strong cup of coffee (there was a small French press provided), and toast and jam, for pennies, and then a second cup for a few pennies more. One evening when my wife was tired we heated soup in the room. It's certainly pleasant to have the option. By the way, we did not find a food shop in the neighborhood, but relied on large grocery stores that we came across in other areas.

We did not use in-house food service, or parking, so cannot comment on those.

I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pbridge1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Upon check in at the Stafford we were greeted outright rudely and not made to feel welcome in any way. We were simply handed the key with a grumble. This attitude continued from most of the staff, with the exception of one employee. The room itself, as we learned later was not one of the best, on a low floor facing the ally, even though the hotel was far from full. The concierge desk was abandoned at nearly every opportunity. Similarly, we later learned that phone messages were left for us and not delivered as well as a friend that ended up calling the Rendezvous head office number since no one picked up after repeated calls to the hotel.

No real complaints about room size, cleanliness and fitting of the kitchen. Also, the location is fabulous and we ended up with a good price through wotif.com

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Plsugarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This Hotel whilst quite cheap is simply you get what you pay for, it was like a 3 star hotel trying to be a 4 star. Rooms were tired, and not spotlessly clean, staff had NO idea what was going on and the hotel location is liturally a hole in the wall.

However...it did have a VERY nice pool area, shame it backed on to the glass walled restaurant, for people eating to have a good perve at the pool patrons.

I guess it would be ok for families but for business travel where time and convienience is an issue - stay at an international chain

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tconnisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed at the Stafford for six nights as part of our honeymoon. Our travel agent had booked a self catering apartment with a harbour view. The room was drab. The general cleanliness did not encourage us to make our meals there. There was a pervading musty smell. It reminded me of holiday flats I'd spent my childhood holidays in back in the 1970s in Blackpool and Skegness! The view of the harbour was very limited. It looks spectacular on the official shot - this I presume is the view from the floor above. During our stay, another two guests were given room keycards that were programmed for our room. Luckily, we were in at the time when they entered our room and therefore avoided an unlikely but nonetheless potential security issue. There was a vague apology from the lady on reception who passed the blame on to another colleague. The other two members of staff we met were more courteous and helpful.
The city is amazing however. We couldn't really have been better located. The Rocks is well worth strolling around for hours. The Circular Quay and Darling Harboour are magnificent, along with the Botanical Gardens and the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayulooktonige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

For anyone who wishes to have a downtown base, there is no better place to stay than here. I have stayed here on a number of occasions previously with family members, and individually. Everything to everywhere is within a few minutes leisurely stroll, trains buses ferries, opera house,downtown, shopping. There is a small convenience store at street level for all last minute needs. There is a great street market set up Friday and Saturday that is located just down the street where you can find everything from local produce to handcrafts.
The hotel itself has gone through some changes over the 15 years I have stayed there, but is by far the most convenient value for money location in Sydney. Family friendly, with kitchen facilities, guest laundry, only six floors high with a million dollar view and location, clean rooms friendly staff, and far less of an impersonal clinical feel of the larger hotels. From Sydney Airport get a cab, the shuttles are painfully slow and take up to 1 1/2 hours, the cab takes 25 min and cost no more for 2 people.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafetyHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Just returned form a 2 night stay, great room, contemporary and very clean. Fantastic location, just a short 5 minute walk from Circular Quay, and The Rocks with all the restaurants and bars are right on your door step. Considering this factor the rooms were very quiet. We even had a sky line view of the opera house. The room s have a small kitchen for making breakfast and snacks in. Although our deal with the hotel included breakfast, nothing flash, but hey what do you need. We got bacon, scrambled eggs, pastries, toast, fresh fruit and juice, cereal and yogurt. Certainly enough to set you up for a busy day of sight seeing and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIWITRAVELLERS343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#46 of 182 in Sydney
2,506 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#53 of 182 in Sydney
946 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 182 in Sydney
1,347 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $150 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing