We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #61 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed here after a three week trip around Australia. When we first arrived in Sydney we stayed at the Marriot Sydney Harbour which we were not overly impressed with other than its prime location on Circular Quay. We felt it was way over priced whereas The Rendevous is also well located in the historic (but actually a bit boring ??) Rocks area and only cost us half as much. (We booked both through British Airways)

Our room here was twice as big as the one we had in The Marriot and it had a well equipped Kitchenette and it was just as nice. It's only a 5 minute walk to Circular Quay and if we ever return to the beautiful harbour city of Sydney we would definitely stay here again,

We find it hard to believe other guests had a bad experience - still there you go?

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JimmyandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,257 - 2,263 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2008

This hotel is a real find. Location was in the rocks area, on a not very busy street. It was half a block away from a convenience store and a coffee shop and lots of local tourist sites and shopping. Also a few minutes walk to Circular Quay and links to the whole city. The modern studio room was more like a spacious studio apartment with a sitting area and a large fully equipped kitchenette. The staff was very polite and helpful, taxis arrived as requested, restaurant recommendations,etc.
I could stay day or a month, overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vapourider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

The Rendezvous was a fantastic hotel. It is in the heart of "The Rocks", which is definitely the most interesting part of Sydney. This hotel is also walking distance to The Sydney Harbor Bridge, The Sydney Opera House, Circular Quay (the central ferry station) and a train Station. It is also walking distance to the Bus Stops for the beginning of the Sydney Explorer and Bondi Explorer buses.
Our room was a nice size with a big, fully stocked kitchenette.
The staff was very attentive and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is in Sydney for the first time and wants to be walking distance to a lot of fun sites.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bettrnettr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

My fiance and I just loved this hotel! Very friendly front desk that gave us a room that was above our expectations. The room had a lot of space, unlike other hotels we stayed in while visiting Australia. The view was absolutely amazing from our large balcony. The room has a nice style that feels very up to date. The kitchen is more than we thought it would be. We only ate out while in town, but the kitchen has everything you need if you want to eat in. Our favorite part about the hotel was the location. The Rocks is very close to Circular Quay were you have multiple options of a wonderful public transport system. And The Rocks area itself is absolutely adorable! We would definitely return and will be suggesting this hotel to any friends that will be visiting Sydney.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank laurensailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

I just read another review that was very similar to our BAD experience. So I thought I'd add mine here too.

They gave us a hassle at check-in because they couldn't find our reservation so we were put in a sub-standard room.

The bed was so lumpy and the sheets were rough and itchy. The pillows stunk! There was visible mold on the walls.

The street noise was really loud and since we were only on the 2nd floor even closing the window didn't help.

The next day we checked into the Marriott (which has a very nice location) and we were able to get a much better room for $10.00 cheaper. They tried to charge us for a second night because of a two night minimum but I was able to fight ithem with my credit card company and I won.

I am writing this review to warn everyone about this hotel. There are so many other options in Sydney in the same price range. I have no idea why anyone would want to stay at this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sendingaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Two days before we were scheduled to arrive I called to confirm my reservations and was assured that I was confirmed with a room for three nights. Imagine our surprise when after a 12 hour flight and 35 minute cab ride we arrived at the hotel only to be told that we had no reservation.

After about 20 minutes they said they could give us a room and by that time we were so tired we accepted. In hind sight I wish we had walked a few blocks to any of the other hotels in town but we were so tired we weren't thinking straight.

I think we would have done better sleeping on the cobblestone sidewalk the bed was so uncomfortable. The sheets felt like rough sandpaper and the bed bowed into the center like a hammock with springs digging into our backs. The pillows were lumpy and smelled of mold. In fact the whole room smelled of mold and stale cigarettes. There was visible mildew on the walls around the windows.

There was about a 2 inch difference between the bedroom and the bathroom floors which is very unsafe. I stubbed my toe more than once going in and out of the bathroom.

We decided to check out the next day but were told there was a 2 day minimum stay. So we ended up having to pay for a night we never used. Even though we hated to waste the money there was absolutely no way we were going to stay in that room another night.

My recommendation is to stay at the Intercontinental or the Shangri-La. For just a few more $ you are going to have an immensely more comfortable experience.
I will say without a doubt that the Rendezvous Hotel in Sydney is by far the worse hotel I have ever stayed in.

You’ve been warned!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed here for a week and had booked it at the last minute so got a very good price. We loved it - the location was fantastic - close to public transport (ferries & trains) and nice for a wander around the Rocks and the Harbour. For a family of 5 the room was very spacious and well equipped. We used the kitchen to cook quite a lot which was great for kids. The decor was modern in a brown sort of way. The only negative was that in the bathroom you could hear conversations of people in other rooms through the ventilation duct!

Don't miss the excellent Susannah Place Museum just around the corner - a fascinating window into the history of the Rocks (especially when it was a Sydney slum area). The kids really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krispa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 186 in Sydney
2,536 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#55 of 186 in Sydney
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#28 of 186 in Sydney
1,365 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $189 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing