We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic Rocks location and handy for cruises.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #57 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Located in the historic and wonderfully atmospheric Rocks area near the harbour, we stayed here the 3rd March before boarding the Celebrity Solstice the next day. One street back from the cruise terminal (OPT) - literally a 5 minute (maybe 10 if you have to wait to cross the road) walk rolling your cases (downhill) to the baggage drop off. Left cabin bags back at concierge as we were not going to check in just yet which was no issue. They are kept in a store room behind the desk. Checked in about 3.30pm. Staff friendly and no issues on that front.

Lobby is relatively small with the check in desk and a small seating area looking out onto the street. Off the lobby is the breakfast room (no restaurant for lunch or dinner although The Rocks area is teeming with pubs, bars and restaurants so that isn't an issue) and the small swimming pool. The hotel is a modern building but built behind a terrace of old houses (some of the old terraces have been converted into hotel/apartment rooms with a loft style interior).

Got a one bedroom apartment - only level 3 facing the front street so no view. Nice sized lounge with a small kitchenette off, a small 4 seater table and a desk. Nice to have a fridge with a freezer compartment to store evening treats (although they do have basic mini bar stuff inside there is enough room to fit most items) with a cook top so you could easily whip up breakfast if you wanted to save money (or make toasted sandwiches at bedtime?? Lol). Lots of space in the lounge to stash your suitcases.

Bedroom also nice size with comfortable bed. Bedroom actually appeared a lot more fresher in decor than the lounge (see below). TV's in both rooms. Wall gauge to control the air conditioner/heater. Was very quiet room - little noise coming in from outside as the windows did appear double glazed (or thicker glass). Bathroom was small - combination shower/bath. There is limited free internet in the room - but it is restrict to a set maximum download size.

Overall, room was clean and did its job. Only criticism on the room is that the decor is somewhat darkish and dated.....the rooms (and hallways) could do with a bit of a freshen up - repainted, stronger lighting, new carpets otherwise no problems on the room front.

Only issue that management should address - during the night of our stay, around 2am the fire alarm in the hotel went off (the fire brigade actually did turn up as we could see them from our window). It not only took a while for the night attendant to come on and tell us what was happening (do we evacuate or not), (and bit unsure how I should say this as I don't want it interpreted incorrectly), management, I know your trying to save money but if you employ someone whose native language is not english in a country where english is the national language, make sure they speak it well enough so that the guests can understand what is happening in an emergency. If it had been a real fire it could have been vitally important - but the guests on our floor were all in the hallway chatting and laughing over the incident in their various states of dress and not one could understand whether we had been told to evacuate or not the english was that broken and the accent thick. It did turn out to be a false alarm however (its not the first hotel I have been in that an alarm has gone off - in one we had to walk 12 levels down to the street).

Other than that issue, would I stay there again. Yes, it location was good, I like the Rock's area, and the size of the rooms and the facilities. The staff were friendly and the hotel clean and well maintained and there were no big issues (other than the above language issue and some freshening up of the rooms) that would stop me (and in fact I have rebooked to stay for our next cruise). It is not 5 star nor does it try to be 5 star, but its a good solid 3-4 star place. Like all Sydney hotels unfortunately though, you do pay top dollar for even 3-4 star accommodation but it must also be said that the rates, for the size of the rooms & location, are much cheaper than the Holiday Inn around the corner and you do get more for your buck here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 6andy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi 6andy6,

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with the hotel and it is wonderful to hear that we will be seeing you for your next cruise. I am glad that you were able to find everything you needed so close to the hotel.
You will be pleased to know that we have today conducted an emergency training with our team so although i hope that your night is undisturbed on your next stay, if there is an alarm our communication will have improved.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,903 - 1,909 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from an eight night stay in one of the heritage terraced houses. Decent sized rooms - bedroom easily accommodated a double and a roll out single bed for our four year old son. Stairs are steep so not suitable for toddlers. Lounge was a decent size for my parents to have coffee and a few meals with us in the dining area. The rooms are in need of a refurb - the Rocks area does often suffer with damp and there was yellow mould evident above the floor area near the door (which does not open but fronts the street). The sofabed was, as previous reviews have mentioned, unusable - springs could be felt through the sheets and very lumpy. The roll out bed provided was very old too and could have done with a new mattress.

Unlike some of the other reviews, I have to say the daily servicing was good and it was clean on arrival and throughout the stay (cutlery, bathroom and carpets). The staff are definitely the best assett of this hotel - both the cleaning staff and the reception staff are a credit and we have experienced some very offhand staff in other Sydney hotels. They do anything they can to make you feel welcome and were very friendly and welcoming to our chatty four year old.

The fire alarms are way too sensitive and went off three times during our 8 day stay (in the evenings when we had just put our son to bed).

All in all, I would stay here again if we needed to be central and with a little extra money spent on updating the rooms and some new beds, this would really be a fantastic hotel. The staff are great, they just need to refresh and update the rooms to match.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi Louise S,

I would like to extend my thanks to you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay.
I highly value all suggestions that we receive from guests and you will be pleased to know that your review had prompted us to assess our rollaway beds, and we have recently acquired new mattresses for these beds.
We do hope you choose to stay with us again for your next to visit to Sydney, our website and reservations team will always provide you with the best offers and packages.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked a terrace house apartment, by the pool. It was noisy, at street level. The room was large, clean, but dated. Reading the other reviews, it might be worth booking a room with a view. The location was great - short walk from the harbour, restaurants, pubs, the art gallery. We chose the breakfast option @19$/adult - if you book ahead. The espresso machine was a nice touch. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are noisy, at street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keena_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this Hotel as we did not want to drive much around in Sydney. The hotel is in the middle of the Rocks district, about a minutes walk from the Harbour. We booked a studio with Harbour View, which unfortunalty was restricted for two of our days by Cruise Ships (not the Hotels Fault!). We opted for self catering as the Studio had a kitchen with all utensils to hand. What it did not have (which we had been used to on our trip) was a washing Machine. The Reception staff were always friendly and were very helpfull with our enquiries. A public carpark is directly under the Hotel, and althought not cheap ( 40AUD day) was well worth it as a lift took you directly to your hotel floor.The Harbour taxis were a 10 minute walk away where we bought a day ticket for 22 AUD and used it until late evening. Eating can be a little expensive around the Bridge / Opera House area, so our tip is to go to Darling Harbour where the prices are better with more choice.
Overall as seasoned travellers we can only recommend this hotel, especially if you are only in the city for a few days.

Room Tip: If your budget can stretch to it a Studio / Room with a Harbour View, although this could be hindere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmk22864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi Keena_b,

Thank you for your leaving a review of your stay with us. We appreciate all the feedback we recieve.
We hope to see you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this fantastic hotel in The Rocks mainly because of its near vicinity to Circular Quay as we were booked on a dinner cruise that night. The hotel suited us perfectly, we were in room 204, a small apartment style room with kitchen, lounge area and separate bedroom. It was furnished quite well and it is somewhere I could easily stay for a lengthy period, rather than just the one night. Breakfast in the morning by the pool was plentiful and good value as it was a part of our package. We walked outside to The Rocks markets after breakfast before checking out of our room, we would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Hi CJSYD,

Thank you very much for leaving feedback about your recent stay with us and i am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. A cruise is a fabulous way to see some of the best of Sydney and I recommend The Rocks markets to all visitors.
I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our first night was in the one bedroom apartment and the best views ever. The room was very spacious, clean and really comfy. loved it .because we could not get the same room for the 2nd night we chose the terrace house. we just loved it.The only downfall was you had to keep going upstairs to go to the toilet. a bit of a pain but no big deal. the staff were fantastic. well we just loved our whole stay in sydney. will go back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 4 nights at the rendezvous Hotel the Rocks. We are very dissapointed.The rooms are very dated and far from luxurious. We requested a room on the fifth floor with a balcony and that is what we got ,which was nice, the staff are lovely. The room was a good size but definately showing its age, carpets marked, kitchen area well used, the fridge had broken shelves on the door, the toaster covered in grease and we had to wash all cutlery and equipment before use.We couldnt use the air coditioning at night because it was so noisy.
The bathroom was tiny and very dated, the grouting around the bath/shower was black and be careful the bath is slippy as no rubber mat is provided.
The balcony would be a lovely feature if it had decent furniture on it , not a rusty metal table and old marked plastic chairs, the view is amazing overlooking the opera house and the bridge.
But when a large ship is in dock, (3days out of our 4)you will have no view at all even from the top floors rooms.
When we checked out I was told we couldnt have the Easter deal of 30% off because I hadnt booked it at the time, even though we had stayed the 3+ nights.
In summary, dont expect luxury, the photos on the website must be from its last refurbishment, the hotel needs to have a major re-fit if it is going to continue to charge high rates. The very luxurious Shangri La hotel on the rocks has similar priced rooms and the same view, we booked this on a friends recommendation who had stayed years ago.
The position of the hotel is its main draw card, close to everything but prices need to come down to reflect it's age and we would say 3 star status.

Room Tip: Only rooms on higher floors 4,5,6, have any view when a ship isnt docked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 179 in Sydney
2,447 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#46 of 179 in Sydney
933 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $152 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing