We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Ranked #49 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I just returned from eight days in Sydney (six at the beginning of the trip and two at the end) and stayed at the Rendezvous Stafford for all eight days (this was my first time at this hotel).

While the hotel has much to recommend it, such as comfortable rooms/suites with kitchenettes and an amazing location in the Rocks, what sets this hotel apart is its staff. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and on every continent, and I can say that every single one of the staff (most especially the front desk staff) are the friendliest, most helpful and most welcoming and accommodating staff I have ever dealt with. There was nothing that they would not or could not do, and all was done with a smile and true warmth. When I returned at the end of my three weeks in Australia, I was greeted like I was a long-lost relative.

Even if you are traveling to Sydney for the first time, the staff will make you feel as if you have come home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyElliotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    818
    268
    92
    53
See reviews for
380
1,044
83
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights at the end of a few weeks in Australia. Great location for doing the tourist stuff in Sydney. Minutes from the circular quay etc. great restaurants nearby. Love the rocks area. Stayed in basic room. Not a great view, but ok. Great little kitchenette meant we could have brekkie before we set out each day. Lovely comfortable rooms. Hotel has a nice ambience. Didn't use the pools. Didn't need staff much, but they were fine. Real gem in the heart of Sydney.

Room Tip: As for a high floor and good view when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtwNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Located 5 mins from Circular Quay and the metro. George Street only 2 mins away, china town, a steady walk of 30 mins, but if you purchase a public transport card when you arrive at the airport it allows you to travel on all public transport for a set period, we paid about $76 for a 7 day card that allowed us to travel o the buses and metro, ferry to Manly and Bondi beach and even out to the Blue Mountains, 2 hours from central station, great fun and great value, we then just paid for the hop on/off bus to get around the sites in the Blue Mountains. Hotel staff were very pleasant. Rooms clean, yes a little dated but good vfm. We utilise the fridge and ate breakfast in the room for our 6 day stay, allowing us to eat out every night! The Circular Quay offers lots of restaurant variety. The Sydney Opera House is a 10 min walk, stay in the Rocks area and you can get everywhere very easily. The aquarium and the adjourning harbour are worth a visit, as is the zoo, accessible by ferry - use that public travel ticket again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClanCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had stayed at the Rendezvous in Melbourne, and the Rendezvous Stafford in Sydney was well located at the Rocks and within walking distance of all the central Sydney shopping.
The hotel was in good condition. The rooms were spacious and we had a lovely view towards the Opera House. Our room was clean and well appointed with a kitchenette area where we could prepare a meal had we wanted to. We had booked on a plan that included breakfast which was served in a restaurant by the hotel pool - a very relaxing setting. Breakfast was good - a reasonable selection and well presented.
The hotel was very pleasant and the staff were very helpful, although had a tendency to revert to a prepared script when there seemed to be difficulties. One example was when I tried to access the 3 hours complimentary internet. There was a card in the room which stated I should ask hotel staff for the login details. When I did this a got a spiel which told me everything I already knew about the internet but no login details. After 3 goes (and a repeat of the "script") I showed the card to the staff member who told me that the card was out of date. That resolved everything, but it was a bit frustrating.
The other problem involved our request for an early check in which we had specified, knowing that we would be arriving early after an overnight flight from Hong Kong. The hotel could not oblige because they were fully booked. We got a spiel on that aspect of the matter as well. We were able to get access to a room after a 45 minute wait but perhaps if an earl check in could not be accommodated through heavy bookings an email advising that there would be a problem might have been a way around the problem and would have been courteous. Otherwise, a very pleasant experience.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djhdcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very well located in The Rocks area of Sydney. 10 min walk to Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Circular Quay. We were ver happy to be upgraded to a Harbour View room and literally could see the Opera House from our bed. The view from the balcony was amazing as can be seen from my photos. Lots of cafes and restaurants close by plus access to all the ferries and trains at Circular Quay. Room also had a small kitchenette which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieboy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at the hotel with my wife on our Round the World trip. The room was cosy with nice coloring though quite small. The bed was otherwise ok but narrow. Our room rate included the breakfast which was served in a very nice nice small breakfast room.

The location in The Rocks is very good and is near to the Circular Quay and the Sydney Opera House. The business district of Sydney is within walking distance.

The service in the hotel reception and breakfast room was good.

The hotel was advertised being with free internet. However, the internet was free for only two hours a day the time counter starting when you first contact internet and you cannot any more use the internet after two hours even if you would not be using it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-JA_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#35 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
Address: 75 Harrington St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing