We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2007

I was very disappointed during my stay at Pier One. The hotel was out of the way and not as close to The Quay as they make it out to be. The decor is very dated; balconies non-existent; very noisy. There was no cable, so TV options are limited. Quality of room service also disappointing. This hotel is over-rated and over-priced.

Stayed: December 2005
2  Thank xksb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,554 - 2,560 of 2,680 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2007

My family stayed here over the new year celebrations/new years Ashes test...very easy to walk to Circular Quay to jump on to ferry's and buses to explore Sydney. Highly recommend the breakfast on the terrace.....staff friendly and helpful especially the concierge.We had adjoining rooms.
Must do's in Sydney with kids- age 11 and 13
Bridge climb at night
Ferry to Manly
Walk between Bronte and Bondi
Sydney wildlife world
Cricket...!!!
Doyles....... not the one at circular quay
Fabulous week- love Sydney!
Celebrated new years at an evening called Midnight at the oasis in the botanical gardens- great views,food ,disco....

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tayl0rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

Sebel Pier 1 is at a perfect location, 10 minute walk to The Rocks and Central Quay, 20 minute walk to the Aquarium and Darling Harbor, and well situated on the harbor near the bridge.

Compared to the streets near the hotels in the Central Business District, it was always quiet and refreshing when we got back to the hotel since it’s away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Because the hotel is basically by itself on Pier One, there are no restaurants around (except the hotel restaurant) without a 10 minute walk to the Rocks. Not a big deal for us, but may be for others. The Rocks (a section of Old Sydney) is up a few flights of stairs and uphill slightly.

Hot continental breakfast is $29 Australian, or about $22 USD as of this writing. Cold continental is $20 Australian. It’s quite good, but seems a bit over priced. Hard to eat $22 USD worth of scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, and bread.

The bathroom is nicely done and modern, with a beautiful smoky green glass countertop. However, the bathtub and floor are the slipperiest I’ve ever encountered. I’m in my 30s, so any fall shouldn’t be a big deal, but older folks should be very careful. The toilet is mentionable only to the fact that it’s so loud. It’s air assist, so when you flush it, cover your ears.

We had a room on the water side ground floor. Not much of a view, but we didn’t pay very much ($150 USD per night). If the major criteria for a nice place is the view, then you would have been disappointed. For us, the major criteria is clean, quiet, and dark (with curtains closed). This without question fit the bill.
I really feel the Sebel Pier 1 is a great bargain, and would not hesitate to stay there again on our next trip. A wonderful oasis from a busy city.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Stayed at the Sebel Pier One hotel in April 06. Had a superior Water room which overlooked Walsh Bay! Lovely room, very comfortable bed. The bathroom was lovely and large with all that you could wish for. The hotel was very obliging and allowed us to leave our suitcases there while we travelled for a few days and then returned back to the Sebel Pier One. We intend to travel to Sydney again and stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kagriff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

We paid for a nice room, we got an ok room (big enough) but with no window. When we booked we were told it would be a view of the harbour faicng Balmain.

Sorry we got a port hole window and the staff lied about the other rooms.

In the end we had to downgrade to get a view ( no money bacK).

We will never go again.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tamdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

Stayed for 5 nites over New Years. Good location. We could walk to the Rocks, Ferries and Darling Harbour. Our room was very clean, faced the bridge with high smaller windows but the lobby had a beautiful view of water as rooms on that side of the building would. We never ate at the resturant (too expensive.} We would stay here again. Staff was very helpful and cheerful.

Stayed: December 2006
2  Thank JSPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LightyPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,464 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#16 of 181 in Sydney
2,095 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $195 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing