We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is hard to beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This hotel is hard to beat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

Just returned home (Adelaide) after spending 4 nights at the Sebel Pier One and have already been telling our friends about how good this place is.
We booked through lastminute.com and got a fantastic room rate for a hotel in this location. Having stayed in Sydney on a few previous occasions (but in different hotels/apartments) I was well aware of how handy the location of this hotel would be to access areas like Circular Quay, The Rocks, CBD and Darling Harbour to name a few. Literally 50metres from the front door of the hotel and you are standing at the waters edge looking at the magnificent Sydney Harbour and Opera House, not to mention looking up and seeing one of the great icons of Australia, the Sydney Harbour Bridge.
Being within casual strolling distance of the ferries,trains and buses at Circular Quay is a huge bonus if you don't want to be driving a car around Sydney. All are within 5 minutes walking time (10 minutes if you chill out and enjoy the sights and sounds at a slower pace) from the hotel. This short walk is a great way to start and finish your day of sightseeing, no matter what time of the day or night it might be. You have probably guessed by now we were impressed by the location!
The hotel and its facilities provide excellent value for money and is one we found more enjoyable to stay in than some of the much more expensive and 'stuffy' 5 star hotels around. Whilst the rooms are not large they are very well appointed, comfortable, and above all, clean. We spent most of our days enjoying the sights of Sydney and only needed the room to sleep and recharge before heading out to do it all again. Why stay in your room when you can sit out on the pier and relax and take in the views?
We found all staff members to be friendly, courteous and helpful (with no exceptions). If you offer a smile and a friendly greeting it's amazing what responses you get when dealing with people! Some travellers should try it - it's not that hard to do.
The breakfast deal at the hotel is an absolute bargain! We had the full breakfast each day and that provided our fuel to get us through most of the day. If you don't want to eat at the hotel there are plenty of eating places in the Quay and Rocks areas or at a couple of the local pubs within a short stroll. Watch out for the rabbits under the bridge on your way to the Harbour View Hotel, and the bats flying overhead at dusk (yes really!).
All in all, GREAT holiday, GREAT location.
We'll be back, no doubt about that!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelaidejandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    699
    283
    117
    64
See reviews for
338
1,147
90
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheelers Hill, Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at Sebel Pier One and what a pleasure it was to stay there. We were in one of their more basic rooms as part of a package, but it was spacious, clean with all the 4-41/2 star trappings. The view from our room was about as close as you can get to the harbour bridge and also a glimpse of Walsh Bay. The room was very quiet and the bed comfortable, which is a bonus for someone like me who is a light sleeper. A bath/shower are part of a spacious bathroom.

The hotel, which is part of a restored building, is built on one of the old piers, so you are over the water. You can see the water through the glass floor section in the lounge area downstairs. When we arrived we sat out in the outside cafe area with a coffee and watched the water traffic go by. We also had one meal in their restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed.

The hotel is in a great location behind The Rocks and within walking distance of Circular Quay and The Rocks restaurants and market, if you're there on the weekend.

We will return here on our next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelPierOne, General Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Dear KarC10

Thank your for your comments regarding your stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

I am please you enjoyed your stay. Many of our guests are drawn to the hotel by its uniqueness and spectacular location. The Sebel Pier One Sydney is one of few absolute waterside hotels offering unique federation-style Sydney accommodation ’on and over’ the water.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

Kind regards
Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
The Sebel Pier One Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

I was in Sydney for work in October, didn't have any trouble getting to the hotel from airport since we had a driver. Rooms were big, but hotel is a little rundown, you could see signs from the hotel's lobby.Once, we ordered a pot of tea at the lobby's lounge, and the tea-cups were all stained. Fortunately, room was clean and TV came with quite a few local channels. Hotel is right next to Harbour Bridge, so you can get a pretty decent view, depending where your room is. The Rocks is within walking distance, you can probably reach there not more than 10 minutes if you take a nice, leisure stroll. Sydney Opera House is about half an hour away by foot. Nearest subway station (if I remember correctly, Circular Quay) is just ten minutes away, giving you easy access to the CBD district.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kryptful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelPierOne, General Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Dear kryptful

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

Our waterfront location is truly magnificent and we are pleased to be one of very few Sydney hotels to offer our guests a truly unique hotel experience, ‘on and over’ the water and within a short walking distance to popular Sydney landmarks as Circular Quay, The Rocks district and The Sydney Harbour Bridge.

We are currently in the process of finalising the details of our hotel refurbishment which is scheduled to begin later this year. We hope you will have an opportunity to experience our hotel and its facilities upon completion of this project.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next time you choose to stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

Kind regards
Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
The Sebel Pier One Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Concierge service exceptional - - great recommendations - - especialy nearby restaurants. Breakfast buffet great. Queen water view room - - comfortable bed, wonderful view, big, practical bath, excellent maid service. Suggest ramp at front entrance for easier bag transfer by concierge (also baggage handler).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5usam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelPierOne, General Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 15, 2010
Dear 5usam3

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

I will be sure to share your comments with my team and congratulate them on the excellent service they continually strive to offer each and every guest.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you will have the opportunity to stay again at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

Kind regards
Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
The Sebel Pier One Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

I stayed at his hotel for 2 nights with my partner, the staff were always friendly and helpful, nothing was too much hassle, and the room was very spacious and modern, with a unique twist. The location was fantastic, directly next door to the harbour bridge. And im so glad they provided valet parking (addition cost) because it’s such a hassle to find a park in Sydney. Overall I was happy with my stay…

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelPierOne, General Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Dear Sezza01

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be the ideal launch pad from which to explore all that is Sydney.

I will be sure to share your comments with my team and congratulate them on the excellent service they continually strive to offer each and every guest.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

Kind regards
Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
The Sebel Pier One Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Down Under
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

This is a fantastic hotel if you are traveling and want to be right in the heart of Sydney. Location is everything with this hotel. Do not stay here if you are looking for a luxurious Sydney getaway as this Mirvac Hotel is just a step up from a basic business hotel.

The staff are very friendly and courteous, if slightly less than that "hotel professional" that we do so love when staying in a 5 star. The rooms are large enough, but are just starting to tire a little and have that feeling of having seen quite a lot of traffic.

We only ate breakfast at the buffet so I have limited view of the overall quality of the kitchen. The breakfast was ample and reasonable quality, although we did have to wait for about 20 min before they could fit us in - so we perched at the bar for a coffee. Not a drama for us, though others seemed quite irate at having to wait.

All-in-all a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelPierOne, General Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Dear TravellinRooster

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney. Our waterfront location is certainly the ideal launching pad to explore all that is Sydney, including Circular Quay, The Rocks and The Sydney Harbour Bridge.

I will share your comments with my team as all feedback will help us not only to maintain, but improve upon the standard of service we provide.

We are currently in the process of finalising the details of our hotel refurbishment which is scheduled to being within the coming months.

I hope you will have the opportunity to stay at our hotel again and would love for you to experience the hotel and its facilities upon completion of our refurbishment in late 2010.

Kind regards
Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
The Sebel Pier One Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton qld
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

stayed once before on business. went this time for 25th wedding anniversary.
right from the check-in the service was again as good as the first time, from the complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary, to the smiling freindly attitude from the staff , i knew this was going to be a good stay, and it was.a little expensive for my tastes but im from a smaller country town in central qld.but not as expensive as some of the hotels in the area,which i priced.so all in all value for money in that area.and what an area....nestled just beside the harbour bridge, but quiet,a stones throw from the opera house,even closer to the "rocks",restaurants ,ferries,train station,shops,bus stops,wow...what a place..be careful some areas more expensive than others...
back to the hotel...the staff are what makes a hotel..the rooms are comfortable ,not overdone,normal elements included bar ,tv,movies,etc,but lets face it,you sleep in it....
you dont live in it..beds are really comfy..buffet breakfast..a little expensive but wow the range and quality of the food is fantastic..and again the staff were great. dinner...well...not as good, but that may be because my tastes arent as refined as some sydney folk. {meat and potato sort of bloke} i am.overall 4 out of 5 rating..would i stay there again...absolutely....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanegric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelPierOne, General Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Dear vanegric1

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

Our location is certainly spectacular and I am pleased that the facilities and level of service you experienced at our hotel made your stay and anniversary celebrations truly special.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at our hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
The Sebel Pier One Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,152 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing