We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sebel Pier one was perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sebel Pier one was perfect”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

As Sydneysiders requiring a 2 night stay in our own city, we chose Sebel Pier One for several reasons. Position and Price being key. The position of Pier One is excellent. Waterfront and almost 'under' the Sydney Harbour Bridge, we had a heritage room facing West and could see lots of action on Sydney Harbour. A 5 minute level stroll to The Rocks and Circular Quay. Though we chose a couple of little cafes along Walsh Bay wharves for breakfast each day, we ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and couldn't have been happier with the food or service. The position again over the water was lovely and even watched a vicious thunderstorm roll up the harbour. The rooms were spotless, lovely bathrooms, and with the whole building being a converted wharf, the exceptionally high ceilings and huge timber trusses add beautiful character. Would we stay at Sebel Pier One again? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CottonWoolOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelPierOne, General Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2009
Dear CottonWoolOz,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience a range of our hotel services including our Front Restaurant. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are consistently working towards exceeding the needs of our guests.
Our absolute waterfront location is truly magnificent and we are pleased to be one of very few Sydney hotel to offer our guests a truly luxury hotel experience, ‘on and over’ the water.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
The Sebel Pier One Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    731
    286
    123
    64
See reviews for
364
1,227
105
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We stayed in this Hotel at the beginning of our tour. We found it to be in a great position - and it was lovely to eat out on the water's edge. We arrived after an overnight flight at 7am and the staff were extremely helpful, found us a guest room in which to have a shower and store our bags before we went exploring. Rooms most unusual because of the conversion but modern and clean.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavlynDerbyshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelPierOne, General Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear DavlynDerbyshireUK,

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at The Sebel Pier One Sydney. Our waterfront location is certainly the ideal launching pad to explore all that is Sydney, including Circular Quay, The Rocks and The Sydney Harbour Bridge.

I will share your comments with my team as all feedback will help us not only to maintain, but improve upon the standard of service we provide. Our team strives to ensure all guest needs are met and their expectations exceeded.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards
Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
The Sebel Pier One Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We spent one night in the sebel pier one in April 09. We stayed in a number of hotels during our trip to Australia and this compared very favorably with the best of them. The staff were very friendly and the location was terrific. The decor was different enough to differentiate from the big chain hotels and gave the place a character of its own. In good weather the outside area of the bar is a great place to watch the ferries pass while you sip a glass of wine.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangerfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

just returned from a couple nights in sydney and this was the host hotel for our company event. didn't know of it when i left the states but upon arrival found it to be just fine. the check in staff was pleasant, not overly so, but going thru the motions and were not rude whatsoever. the hotel seems to carry on with a "W" hotel style, perhaps trying to be hip, traditional, and whatever all at the same time still trying to find it's own unique balance. my room 141 was fine altho there was no view at all and it was somewhat dark. so, you turn the lights on or raise the curtain. only thing i did not like was the glass countertops in the bathroom. the way it's designed, water somehow seems to splash out of the wash bowl and onto every surface. i finally moved all my products to the shelf below so nothing would get wet. they had low-flow shower heads on, but hey, there is a water shortage in parts of OZ so they should have low flow. for anyone who has been on any newer cruise ship, the loo flushing with a whoooshing sound, high pressure for sure. oh well, at least it gets the job done! but it didn't bother me at night to hear it from adjacent rooms. perhaps if you were a light sleeper, you would be bothered. food service was good. we had one meeting in their small meeting room where breakfast was provided. also had easter sunday brunch there and all items were very good. staff seemed to have trouble keeping up with keeping items on the buffet line but hey, it was easter and they were busy. all in all, i'd say a good hotel for the money. not a "W" not a four seasons and not the hyatt but certainly a great location for those who can walk a bit and don't mind being at the most a 5 or max 10 min walk from circular quay, clean and good feel to it as well. would i stay again, yes.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiannis93101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlingame
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Wanted to be close to Circular Quay for a change but didn't want to spend a fortune. Found this hotel just around the corner from the Sydney Harbor Bridge on Walsh Bay. Used to be commercial wharves and now remodeled to a hotel, condos, restaurants, theatre, coffee houses etc. The lobby is spectacular with a view right over the water- the Harbor Bridge to the right and Darling Harbor to the left. Only complaints are that the hallways are unbearably hot and the toilets flush loudly.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suefromCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We booked the romantic getaway the Walsh Bay Suite, with a Spa Bath .
Cleaner didn't bother to provide clean towels.
The champagne glasses were dirty as well.
Annoying noise on the floor and room .
Unfriendly staff, however very nice choice for breakfast in buffet.

They pretend to be a 4.5 stars hotel it a maximum three stars.

If you are looking for something special I would recommend [-] it’s in Hunter Valley .


Anne

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

This hotel is in a great location on the bay,near Circular Quay and The Rocks.The staff were very friendly and the service was very good.The girl on reception brought up my luggage herself because the concierge was busy.The restaurant and bar staff were very helpful and friendly ,particuarly as I was on my own they made me feel very welcome and sitting on the bar deck with a drink watching the boats was just bliss. Specials at the bar and restaurant are a very good deal. The room was nicely appointed and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities. Choice of Newspapers and they are are complimentary.The only downside was that the being a Heritage room in a converted wharf the window was a bit small and because it was partly overlooked it was necessary to keep the (transparent) blind down on occasions.I thought the soundproofing was good.I got a good price deal on a website so overall I had a great time and the location is just perfect. I felt it was more than good value for what I paid.Personally I was not at all bothered by the toilets!! I'm more concerned with good staff and a prime central location which this certainly was.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — room partly overlooked and need to keep blind down on occasion
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagittarius7Middx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing