We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great spot for a romantic getaway”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

My partner booked at the last minute and got a great deal. The room was beautiful, with awesome views of the harbour bridge and a glimpse of the opera house. Great facilities, and breakfast was included - a fantastic array of hot and cold food, with a la carte options as well. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Will certainly be at the top of our list for future trips to Sydney!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    737
    287
    123
    65
See reviews for
375
1,246
106
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our first child-free night in two years deserved a special location and the Pier One fitted the bill - newly renovated rooms, perfect location on the harbour, and a great rate due to the "opening special" (it recently taken over and overhauled by Marriot). We came for the last weekend of the Vivid Festival and the location was perfect.

It was a bit disappointing that the hotel could not honour the "free upgrade" to the waterview room due to several rooms being flooded by plumbing problems (more on this later). But the girl on reception did the right thing and offered us $50 discount off the room rate which made our stay even more of a bargain. We were given a Heritage Room with filtered views of the bridge and the room was perfectly fine. It was also a disabled access room so it was also a bit more spacious than others who have complained about the tight squeeze between the bed and the tv.

For those contemplating the valet parking, note there is no underground or secure carpark - the cars are simply parked off the street in front of the hotel, and the space is limited. We found a park on the street 100m down the road and saved ourselves the $50. Parking meters operate until 10pm and then start again at 8am (just run down before brekkie and feed the meter and it cost us less than $10 for the stay.

The hotel is not without its teething problems, particularly with the plumbing. The sink in our room would not drain properly, and the toilets work on a vacuum system like an airplane which is very noisy.

On returning from the Vivid Festival we fancied a nightcap and dessert. It was 10pm but the restaurant was closed and I was informed there was no dessert available (although if we wanted to dine in our room we could have ordered dessert from room service). Ordering a drink at the bar another lady came just five minutes later asking for coffee and cake (to which she was told there was no cake, but she could have coffee). It wouldn't take much effort to offer a few cakes or desserts from the bar, particularly if they are available for room service.

We know that the fire alarm system is functioning well, as we were rudely awoken at 6am by the fire alarm sounding, and then the evacuation siren sounded and there were 200 bleary eyed guests standing around on the street. NOTE TO SMOKERS - Do not smoke in your room !!!!
To everyone's credit there was no panic, we walked down the fire stairs in an orderly fashion and most people took the situation in good humour (like me they had probably read the previous reviews). We were pleased to hear when checking out that the offending smoker would be charged for the fire-brigade call out.

We had no issues with breakfast (unlike previous reviewers). The dining area is relatively small, so a few people did have to wait a short time for tables at the peak time (8-9am). But the quality and variety of food was good and we enjoyed our breakfast (particularly as it was free with our package).

Best thing: the location and the crisp white nautical décor of the rooms. The old wooden beams and pylons that feature throughout the hotel also make it a bit more interesting that your average hotel.

Worst thing: The plumbing, and the inconsiderate smokers

Would I stay here again? YES provided the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herk-de-Stad
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Being located on the waterfron in The Rocks, the 'historic' heart of Sydney, the hotel is in walking distance from some of the major tourist sites of the city. Stand under the Harbour Bridge, walk up to the Opera or just scroll through the old quarter to find a nice drink and meal. All within a few minutes walking. The hotel is stylish but modern at the same time. Staff is friendly and very helpful. DO only not forget to inform laundry service in case you have got something for them, for whatever reason the cleaning ladies do not take of that.

Room Tip: As far as I could see all rooms ar at the waterfront. If not, ask for it explicetly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familietoerist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed here in May and was very impressed by the great location and refurbishment done on this landmark building in a stunning location.

The rooms were great and I stayed on the 2nd of 3 floors. The rooms were quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff were good without being exceptional and the food was good. The parking situation is not ideal but there are many options around the hotel.

The big plus is the proximity to the Rocks, the Bridge and being right on harbour. You can smell the salt air and it is a great place to stay if you love nature, taking stunning photos, or want a nautical vibe to your hotel. Well worth considering.

Room Tip: Always smile, and the higher the room, the better the view, the less the pedestrian noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussyandhonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here twice. On my wedding night and again for another friends wedding. It's a beautiful hotel. The bar is great and the pier is great for breakfast the next morning sitting in the sun.
Different types of rooms, both we were in were beautiful, with large bathrooms. Don't think any room would disappoint.
The room service breakfast we had was so yum. Had everything and nothing disappointed.
So close to the rocks and it's great on the weekends with the markets so close.
Close to bars and restaurants. Great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We came to Sydney for my 7year old's birthday. All she wanted to do was see the Opera House. So we picked Pier One for its amazing location while Vivid was on. When we arrived Pier One asked the reason for our visit. They went out of their way to spoil my little girl. She felt so special, what a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked this hotel so we could see the vivid lights and for that the location was perfect. The hotel itself was strangely plain but I guess they are going for a heritage look and maybe the plainness is part of that. We were very happy with our room when we checked in, I had asked to be away from the elevator due to travelling alone with my daughter and the room they gave us was all the way at the end of the hall with amazing views of the harbour bridge which was great seeing as we were there for the vivid lights which the bridge was involved in. That night however there was a function in the bar which turned out to be under my room, it was like being in a nightclub it was so noisy. To give the hotel credit, when I complained about the noise they moved us into a suite room. The suite room had a lovely spa but again was strangely plain and boring for a supposed top end hotel room. We moved into the room just after lunch, called the front desk a few times to locate our baggage which was supposed to have been moved to our room print to us checking in but they just kept saying it was busy they would find someone to locate them and bring them up. We were supposed to be at darling harbour at 4.30, bags finally arrived at 5pm. Went to shower and get ready...no water...the water for the hotel had been turned of. We had a great night sleep that night and really enjoyed the food at the hotel as well as the location. As I said, mixed bag of positives and negatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the function areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 178 in Sydney
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing