We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding weekend” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stunning location and generous sized room with super comfy bed. Liked the coastal minimalist room decor. Bathroom was clean and functional, but expected more based on room rate paid... Perhaps a renovation and redesign of bathrooms are due? Beautiful lobby and sitting area though to enjoy the harbour setting. Overall I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoesonmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear shoesonmyfeet,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you recent experience at Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection.
Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.
We are delighted you had a chance to enjoy the harbour setting – it truly is a lovely place to sit and relax.

Thanks again for your review. We hope we have a chance to host you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    687
    280
    115
    63
See reviews for
325
1,121
90
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
201 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great stay from start to finish. A lovely, unique property which is a bit like a boat house by the Sydney pier. Very personal touch and style, backed up by good design and good service throughout the property. Here is a short summary:

- service: personal, attentive, proactive and with a smile from 1st minute at the hotel
- location: I can't think of something much better, in the rocks area and just by the bridge with seafront access
- lobby: spacious and connected with the bar / restaurant and overlooking the water, fabulous and great for meetings (leisure or business)
- room: very good, spacious, high ceiling, bright, nice cool design (minimalist), good bed and overlooking the water. Bathroom just a little bit tired but with Marriott backing it up these days I am hoping for modernisation
- bar/restaurant: good quality food, drinks and very good service
- fitness room: very spacious and lots of machines. All in working order and quite modern. Overlooking the water which was great.

All in all a gem in Sydney I think. I will be back, whether for leisure or business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear RichardU71,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback. It is a delight to read it!

As a part of Autograph Collection, an ensemble of unique venues all around the world, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests & building great memories. It is important to us that you left with your own special memories.

We do have a very high standard for both customer service and the overall guest experience which I am glad you got to experience during your stay. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at Pier One Sydney Harbour that are dedicated to delivering enchanting encounters.

Thank you as well for sharing your feedback on the needed refit. We are going through a number of changes and we are upgrading our offering as well as our amenities. Very exciting things are going to happen at Pier One Sydney Harbour during the next months – our goal is to create a much more luxurious and even more personal experience for our customers.

Thank you for taking the time to comment and do visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely Saturday night here and it was 1st class, promptly met by the doorman and had my car parked and bags whisked up to our room. The room is very modern and has a beach/nautical theme to compliment the views which are directly out over Sydney Harbour. Nice big bathrooms and a proper King bed not the 2 singles tied together. had dinner at the restaurant which was delicious. The Buffet breakfast offers an Al A Carte option included in the price which is a nice alternative to the standard fare. Really liked the low lying set up of only 3 levels which makes for quick navigation around the hotel. My only gripe if I had to make one is the shower in the bath but other than that I cannot fault this place or the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060Jamesb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear 255060Jamesb83,

We’re absolutely thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at our Pier One Sydney Harbour – Autograph Collection.
We have a fantastic team who really do take pride in ensuring our guests’ experience is all they expect and more.
I am delighted you enjoyed our restaurant and the views – it does sound like a lovely Saturday night. Thank you for taking the time to comment and do visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Loved this funky hotel. Our room was great. It was on the first floor looking out under the harbour bridge. We had an awesome little elevated 'bay window' which was great to have a glass of wine, relax & look out at the city. Noisy bathroom plumbing was the only negative, & only occurred while we were showering.
Would definitely go back. Great hotel, great rates, great location!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cozencuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear cozencuva,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent visit at Pier One Sydney Harbour, a part of the Autograph Collection, an ensemble of unique venues all around the world.
We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience and that you were comfortable in our care.

Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millthorpe, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I love this hotel for its location: quiet beautiful and such easy access to all of Sydney and what it has on offer. The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable. From the time you arrive until the time you depart the staff aim to make your stay enjoyable. Service in all areas is wonderful and the breakfast has a wide range of goodies to choose from served with the beautiful views of Sydney Harbour. What more could you want!
Looking forward to staying again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patchworkprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear patchworkprincess,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent visit at Pier One Sydney Harbour, a part of the Autograph Collection, an ensemble of unique venues all around the world.
I am delighted you were able to take advantage of our location, we think it is quite special and gives our guests a special experience of Sydney.
Many thanks as well for sharing your experience of our a la carte breakfast. I will be sure to share your compliments with the rest of our team and Kitchen associates.

Hopefully we can welcome you again soon at Pier One Sydney Harbour.

Kind regards,

Simon Wanstall

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner and i stayed here for a week in February. We stayed in the Walsh bay suite the room we had had really poor air conditioning and it was noisy. The air con was in the lounge room so the bedroom was extremely hot and stuffy it was hard to sleep when we finally got to sleep the fire alarm went of at 3 in the mourning. I know they can't help the fire alarm but when your room is hot you just feel angry about everything. I complained to the front desk about the air con and they gave me a fan to circulate the air. The fan was OK but when you pay good money for what is meant to be a better suite you expect more like the air con to work and clean windows. We ordered room service twice the first night it was great the food came promptly the second night we waited for an hour only to get half of what we ordered and the other half someone else's order had to wait another 20 mins for the second half of our meal. We have stayed here before in the heritage king room the rating then was 5/5. We we're very disappointed this time and we are unlikely to go back.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Walsh bay suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierOneSydneyHarbour, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Lisa C

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your recent unpleasant experiences with us.

First and foremost, I would like to extend my most sincere apologies to you for the challenges that you had experienced during your recent stay at the Hotel. As a new member of the Autograph Collection, a growing ensemble of remarkable and boldly original independent hotels, we are very sorry to hear we failed to deliver the delightfully unexpected experience the Autograph Collection hotels strive to provide

Lisa C, I have taken the liberty of passing on your comments to our Engineering department to address your experience as an opportunity to improve air condition in our guests’ rooms for our customers’ comfort.
It is only through such feedback that we are able to improve the service and facilities we provide. This is most unacceptable and I have reiterated the importance of providing exceptional customer service at all times to our valued guests. Your feedback will be used during our staff training and development.

However, please rest assured that we take your feedback seriously and preventive measures are placed to avoid such disappointment in the future. I sincerely hope you may return in the future to allow us the opportunity to show that we – as part of the Autograph collection - are capable of exceeding your expectations in all areas.

Warm regards,

Simon Wanstall
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing