We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all rooms have views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Not all rooms have views”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Yes this hotel is under the bridge but not all rooms have views. My room looks out onto the road which was a bit disappointing and there were mozzies in the room being close to the water . It is a fair walking distance from the rocks and circular quay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank melbgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,207
    721
    285
    120
    64
See reviews for
347
1,187
97
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We Stayed in thishotel last night looking for a different experience, how unlucky we were.
After paying for a Waterfront King deluxe room we were placed in a Waterside King.
I am sure they thought we would not know the difference and clearly you were wrong on that one. We have stayed here before and know the difference.
We were placed in room 10 backing on to the restuarant!
When we walked in to our room we noticed many pest insects on the ceiling. We advised reception whom arranged for their removal. The only positive of the stay. On arriving back to our room later in the evening we discovered more pests like fleas flying around. This hotel clearly has a pest problem !
This hotel is totally not up to the standard it claims.
The views and location are the only things that will keep this hotel alive.
On checking out at 8.00am the next morning as we could not stand being there any longer after hearing all night toilets being vacuum flushed away, and bugs flyind around (we would have been safer sleeping outside) the reception staff did not even ask how our stay was . Perhaps they were too scared to ask !
Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else you can always walk down to Pier one and enjoy the view f for free without being ripped off !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The best thing of this hotel was that it's right under the bridge. Just 3 mins walk outside the hotel, the bridge and the Opera House will be in front of you. Very beautiful!

If you don't mind walking, it was just a few mins to The Rocks, Circular Quay, Opera House and Botanic Garden. However, you really need to 'walk' because there is no public transport near the hotel. Therefore, be prepared to walk quite a lot if stay in this hotel but with awesome view!

The room I stayed was the Heritage King which was the most basic room. The room was spacious but with a very small window as it was renovated from a real "pier".

Staffs were helpful and the best thing I like was to have an orange from cafe (free of charge) after walking a long path back to the hotel after dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3,627 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 695 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel has a great location but is a little tired, Marriott have only taken this over a few weeks ago and labelled as an Autograph Collection and one can expect it will improve. The staff seem new and in learning mode but trying hard. There is a need for some processes in how the place is managed. The staff were courteous and friendly and trying hard. The restaurant was just OK. Watch out for the roadside rooms as they have small windows and no view.

Room Tip: Choose a Waterside Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I picked out the Pier One Sydney Harbor for a four-night business trip, wanting something a bit different from the normal Marriott chain, but not knowing what to expect. It exceeded my expectations from start to finish - outstanding small boutique feel, very new/modern, exceptional location adjacent to the Sydney Harbor Bridge and only 15 mins walk along the waterfront from the Circular Quay train station with regular service to the airport.

My room was on the third (top) floor and near the end of the hotel - with a great view across the water. The fact that the hotel is literally on a pier means there's an uninterrupted view out across Walsh Bay - with a busy flow of boats small and large moving by, personal and commercial.

The bar/restaurant area on the ground floor opens out onto the pier with chairs / tables - providing the perfect location for breakfast, dinner or a drink. It was very quiet during the time I was there - a welcome respite from the mass of tourists only a short distance around the corner and under the bridge at Circular Quay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBassettBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed one night for a treat after having three nights in an "inland" hotel. Our room overlooked the harbour - great watching the water traffic. Also nice walks available around to the Rocks or the other way through Walsh Bay.

The room was only average (i.e. nothing memorable) and the reception staff not particularly friendly - always a turn-off. So, nice to have the experience but don't intend to return.

Room Tip: obviously, the harbour side - if you can't afford that pick another hotel as that view is the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakapaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here recently as we attended a wedding on one of the adjacent piers. I was hesitant to pay the $400 nightly rate for a normal room as I hadn't heard good things, but thought we would give it a try.

What a mistake! The room we were shown to had literally nothing in it besides a bed. The bedside 'tables' were overturned baskets. There was no minibar, and when we enquired about it were told that it had been stolen. The bathroom had NOTHING in it besides the shower. No vanity, nowhere to put anything.

I saw some of the other rooms that our friends were in and they are okay (better then ours). This place must be so hit-and-miss and yet still charge the same price for all their rooms, regardless of their facilities.

Stay clear of this place. There are so many other hotels with better prices. What a joke.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank livmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#27 of 178 in Sydney
6,284 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing