We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #21 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in a waterside room which was sunny and had a nice view of the neighbouring wharfs. The hotel is in great location with quick access to The Rocks. It's also pet friendly which wasn't much of an issue save for a dog doing its business next to us while we were enjoying a meal at sunset by the water. It's also pricey on extras like wi-fi (which should be free) and parking but if you need to stay in the middle of it all, it's in a pretty good spot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank regs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank anglenz3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If no stars were possible I wouldn't give it any!
I would never recommend this hotel for anyone looking to splash out on a nice weekend away. We stayed here for 2 nights for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in October & what a disappointment it was. We had decided to stay 'somewhere nice as we only have one honeymoon' - I wish we chose somewhere else. Firstly we stayed in a Walsh bay suite - what a huge disappointment that was! So much for water front views as I had to stand up to even be able to see out the window or sit up on the window ledge which was elbow-shoulder height of my husband. No daybed as per the photos on their website. The TV didn't work so we had maintenance come and fix that. The following morning I went to have a shower & there was NO water pressure. Maybe a trickle, I don't expect to have to run around a shower to simply TRY to get wet. We let reception know, and they were quite unhelpful with a simple reply of 'oh the water has been switched off and will be back up soon' - we were not notified - not even an apology given, in fact the reception staff were quite rude about it. We returned that afternoon after a whole day out exploring, and went to use the bathroom - toilets were not working & not water pressure AGAIN! Again no notification. After being told for nearly an hour it will be back on soon, I was forced to go to reception to find any toilet that worked and ended up in their conference rooms as that was the only CLEAN option, the ones at reception I refused to use they were that dirty. I am sorry but to pay over $400 a night and to not have simple amenities such as a functioning shower & toilet is disgusting not to mention robbery. There are certain standards I expect all hotels to have and this one didn't meet them what so ever - I'd get better at a Formula 1 for a good fraction of the price. Breakfast is expensive for cold coffee & average food - this was 'free' due to our experiences during our stay, I'm sorry taking $30 off our bill is simply not good enough and is in fact very poor customer service. The experience ruined the start to our honeymoon and we will NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. If all of this wasn't bad enough, we had a check out of 11am (as everyone else), what I didn't expect was housecleaning come to clean our room while we were still in it. The didn't seem phased as they cleaned the bathroom while we were still packing our stuff - that was simply the icing on the cake. How rude and obviously no care for your guests privacy. I have NEVER experienced that anywhere else nor would I expect to.
I've stayed at a few Sebel's and always been impressed however this one is simply TERRIBLE. Thankfully the cruise ship we went on after had better functioning toilets & showers despite being on a boat it didn't let us down once!

Room Tip: Book at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Estelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just loved the location of this hotel! Waterfront on one side, the bridge on the other. Very comfortable room, the staff are lovely and very helpful, the restaurant meals were very good, though a little more variety day to day would be great. The hop on hop off bus stops right outside and its a 5 min walk to circular quay and the rocks market. Will not forget the pleasure of sitting outside having drinks on the wharf with friends.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Karen J,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so happy that you loved your Pier One experience. Our location is so unique and the views are wonderful. I have passed on your suggestion of more variety each day, but as you can appreciate we do have a seasonal menu and we cant change it daily, however there is a wonderful selection of entrees, mains and dessert from which to choose.

I hope we have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were in Sydney for a lunch and this hotel was close to the venue. We had stayed there previously and were very satisfied. We had booked a Waterside King Deluxe room which we knew to be lovely. However, when we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to a Suite. Well, how wonderful was that! We had a huge room complete with free standing bath, shower and toilet, two sinks, a Nespresso machine, a dining setting and a lounge. Best of all was the view - straight across to Luna Park. We watched boats of varying sizes cruise by our window. There was even a 'turn down' service with a chocolate! We were very spoilt. The old beams in the room added to the ambience and reminded us indeed that we were actually in an old building on an old wharf. It was decorated very well. The reception staff were both friendly and efficient. We had breakfast the next morning which we had outside. The hotel is in a great position and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear ghostsTravellers,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us here at The Sebel Pier One Sydney. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your sweet suite experience. We are very proud of the new rooms and suites and the reviews from the leisure and corporate market have been superb. It is all about location,m location, location, but with our new suites its also about the view, view, view.

Thank you for talking the time to leave such positive feedback and i hope we have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice when you next visit.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 181 in Sydney
2,067 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
1,334 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $185 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing