We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful relaxing spot on the harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing spot on the harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Pros and cons review!
Pros:
Beautiful location on the harbour, bar and restaurant is perfect to enjoy a drink and watch the boats go by while the sun goes down.
Stayed in a non-view room which was quiet.
Restaurant for dinner had amazing food.
Close to markets at The Rocks

Cons:
Doona had a gross stain on it.
Toilet temp stopped flushing but fixed itself thankfully.
Was about a 20m walk to train station, got tiring at end of day and caught cab back most of the time.
No natural light in bathroom area.

All in all the hotel is worth staying if wanting to just sit back, relax, stroll by the harbour, view the opera house and visit the nearby rocks markets. Other CBD sights and shopping are a good walk away and we prefer to stay closer to public transport to avoid catching taxis all the time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Speester,

Firstly let me thank you for your comments, we embrace all comments, both good and bad as we always learn from our guests and use this as a valuable way to improve our service.

I couldnt agree more that our location is amazing and relaxing on the pier while the sun sets is a magnificent experience. Front Restaurant & Bar has a wonderful menu and our Executive Chef is amazing. I have passed on your comment about the doona to our Executive Housekeeper and the GEneral Manager and they are looking into it.

Again, thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and we hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    698
    283
    117
    64
See reviews for
337
1,146
90
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed the weekend at The Sebel Pier One.

Excellent waterfront location and the service is terrific. The iconic Sydney Harbour bridge soars above the rebuilt industrial wharf and the re-imagined Hickson Street/ Walsh Bay area reeks of style and history.

Just a short stroll under the bridge and you reach Sydney's iconic circular quay with it's famous Opera House and busy harbour ferry terminals.
Just behind is the enthralling and historic " The Rocks" area with a myriad of eateries and fascinating nooks and crannies - and great pubs.

A couple of hiccups re the service - we returned a breakfast coffee served in a dirty cup, with equally dirty coffee spoon and I was handed the wrong bill at checkout. But they were the only issues in an otherwise wonderful weekend at a great location.

We will stay there again when next we visit Sydney.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the western side - they are a little more expensive but are a little larger and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Bruce U,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recenbt stay. I agree our location is exceptional and we love sharing it with our guests. With the best of Sydney surrounding us (The Rocks, Opera House, Bridge and of course the harbour) we are very lucky indeed. It means we are the best place from which to explore this amazing city.

I have passed on your comment regarding the coffeee and bill and we will follow up on this.

I hope we have the opportunity to be your hotel of choice when you next visit Sydney.

Kind Regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous spot, right next to Sydney harbour bridge and a lovely 15 minute waterfront stroll to opera house, or 20 mins walk the opposite way to darling harbour. Its on a quieter part of the city area, so felt a little more restful than the business of the main CBD hotels. Very comfortable, modern and clean room. All staff were efficient and helpful. Would Definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmylouise73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Kimmylouise73,

WOW...! Thank you for such a glowing report. I am so very glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Sebel Pier One Sydney. You are totally right: our location is spectacular and offers such a unique and brilliant view of all the best icons of Sydney. We are close to the city but at the same time, we are located such that we feel like we are a world away from the noise and bustle. It certainly is the best of both worlds.

I hope we have the opportunity to be your hotel of choice in the near futute.

Kind regards,

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

a little oasis in sydney, you'll love it. we did!
Walsh bay is like a little private oasis in the middle of sydney.
easy walk to either the quay or darling harbour.
the hotel is right on the waterfront and the service is impossible to beat.
Rooms are large, vaulted ceilings create a great sense of space.
puts hotels at twice the price to shame. well done Sebel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BuickMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear BuikMelbourne,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. We love that you love the location, and your description of the hotel as an "Oasis" is spot on. Our waterfront location is unique and offers guests direct harbour access via our private pontoon, where you can catch water taxis and harbour cruise boats. I was glad to read how much you enjoyed your guest room. We recently refurbished all the rooms and have also completed 29 new guest rooms and suites.

Again, thank you for leaving your comments and i hope we have the opportunity to be your hotel of choice again in the near future.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing