We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #18 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A brilliant stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had nine nights at Pier One. Just superb in every regard. Room was perfect but what made it even better were the opening glass doors directly onto the pier where a table, chairs and umbrella greeted us. It felt like your own outside 'room'. It contrasted against the normal hotel claustrophobic room found in most hotels.

Breakfast was outstanding, service was attentive and friendly and the restaurant provided excellent meals.

The hotel's location, almost under the Sydney Harbour Bridge, is simply the best in Sydney. Just a couple of minutes walk to Circular Quay but much quieter and private.

Highly recommended for anyone wanting to be pampered in a superior hotel at quite reasonable prices and with a beautiful ambience.

Room Tip: Choose a downstairs room to have direct access to the pier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    737
    287
    123
    65
See reviews for
375
1,244
106
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the 2nd time we had stayed at The Sebel Pier One and we were as pleased the 2nd time round as the first. The hotel is a high standard and very well positioned for getting to the Sydney hot spots. Good quality food in the restaurant at night and not overly expensive, very good buffet style breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a water side room - may cost a little more but worth it for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a nice room but not as it was advertised the add said there was a spa and separate bedroom but there was not. Maybe they got our booking mixed up?
The view was great.
There was a problem with the temp first night it was too cold second night too hot.
They did not make our room so we called up and they agreed to give us towels straight away and do our room while at dinner . It took them an hour and then they came and wanted to do the room they were not happy when I explained that reception said they would do it while we were at dinner then I had to beg them for some towels...
When we got home from dinner the room was still not done.
They gave us a discount to make up for it.
The bfast was average and over priced and had to pay extra for expresso coffees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier_One_Sebel, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Deborah F

I apologise for the original room allocation and am pleased we were able to offer a discount to assist with the concerns raised.

Certainly we whould not have taken so long for a change of linen and we have made some alterations to our process for our future guests.

We are working with our supplier to bring a consistent espresso coffee product on our breakfast buffet and appreciate your feedback that can help us in this process.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Waterfront location was delightful and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were modern and clean, the bed comfortable and the late check out (midday) was wonderful. Only criticisms were the (very) noisy 'vaccum' toilets and 'cupboard like' bathroom doors - ours woke us in the night as did those from nearby room(s). Dinner at the hotel restaraunt surprised and excelled - the food was wonderful and well priced (particulalrly for Accor Members!). Room service breakfast topped off a fabulous weekend - thanks to all the staff for a fabulous stay - we would definitely go back again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASFeb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern and interesting room. We liked the unique features left from the original purpose of the building. Bathroom was really nice and modern, with super gorgeous apothecary toiletries. Buffet breakfast in the morning was fantastic, yummy fresh fruit, including passionfruit and strawberries, not just melon! Nice crispy bacon and hash browns.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After three weeks of the Australian “Holiday of Our Lives” we’d booked two nights in the internationally acclaimed Accor’s Sebel Pier One on the Sydney Harbour shoreline before returning to Hong Kong.
So it was time for a first class Sydney farewell.
But not so fast! There was no Sebel concierge to help with the heavy bags.
“Welcome to The Sebel," said the receptionist when we were finally processed. "Yes, we do have a nice room for you -- Room 260. The elevator is over there.”
At A$330 a night we were going to get the best even if we had to lumber the bags up to the room ourselves.
But the room was facing one of the massive blank-wall sandstone stanchions supporting the Sydney Harbour Bridge and it was cramped and the bathroom was weird. Really weird!
There was no bath but there was a huge yellow-curtained shower area. There were support bars along the walls. There was no vanity table and poor lighting. Yet we were tired from the travel and unwilling to make a row and spoil our last hours in Australia.
So we did go to the front desk in the morning. “We’re afraid there’s something seriously wrong with our room. Is there a ‘Medical Wing’ in this hotel?”
“What room are you in?” we were asked, followed by a long pause.
“Two Sixty, you say? Ah, that’s a ‘Disabled’ room. We seem to have been fully booked when you arrived”, she said cheerfully. “Sorry about that.”
Disabled? “We appreciate that you look after the disadvantaged, and so you should,” we said.
But the five-star Sebel Pier One in downtown Sydney should also provide the advertised view of the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. No? And warn guests when they are about to be declared “Disabled”?
“Well, we can move you to a new room, if you like. I think you got the disabled room because we were busy. We still are.”
The receptionist glanced at the bar area which the previous evening had been staffed by a couple of bored barmen taking in a rugby game. “By the way, we aren’t a Five Star hotel,” she said. “Just four and a-half stars.”
As we checked out on the final bill we’d been domiciled in “Hong Kong, Switzerland.”
Glad you care, Sebel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mogHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pier_One_Sebel, Manager at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear mogHongKong

My sincerest apologies for the manner in which we handled your orignal room allocation. I trust the new room was to your satisfaction.
Our location nestled beside the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge does allow for a close up view of the icon, however we do not to advertise that this is the view due to proximity to this, any many other Sydney icons.
Our concierge should have been on duty on your arrival and I offer our sincerest apologies for this.
We do hope to see you again, and should we be able to help you any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Location, location, location! Everything is within walking distance from the Sebel. It's practically located under the Harbor Bridge. Close to The Rocks and the hip Circular Quay, this is the place to be for a lovely, relaxing stay. The rooms are industrial-chic, clean and quiet. The breakfast spread was actually one of my favorite parts - a melange of fresh fruits, heated items, a multitude of cereals - I ate to my heart's content. The staff here was helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 178 in Sydney
4,368 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 178 in Sydney
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing