We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax on Sydney Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband, brother-in-law, sister and I had a very relaxing stay at the Sebel Pier One on Australia Day 2013. Staff members were very obliging, despite the fact that the road was closed for celebrations, thus making their job of parking cars extremely difficult.
We were close enough to walk around to King Wharf where we boarded our harbour cruise.
The deal included breakfast which was great and provided plenty of variety. However, the restaurant could not fit all guests in it so we had to walk back and forth across the foyer area to a conference room to dine.
The air conditioner was difficult to adjust, the shower head was too low and the strength of water flow could have been better. The bed on the other hand was very comfortable and the room was large.
However, the positioning of this hotel is wonderful, enabling us access to all that was going on around the harbour and providing a very relaxing atmosphere as we sat on the verandah of the pier, enjoying the cool breeze and all the sites of the evening on the harbour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,094 - 2,100 of 2,683 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Hotel was fantastic being located on Pier oone, therefore overlooking the water. The food was fantastic, best we had ever had and it was so relaxxing looking at the activity on the harbour. Great location in CBD walking to Circular quey and The Rocks. Pity no pool or spa. However overall great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90Bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Enjoyed a night away, just the two of us. Lovely room in a beautiful location. Walked around the Rocks for many options for dinner and enjoyed a stroll for a coffee the next morning. Could only stay one night, but it was very relaxing and felt much longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdiment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our son recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed. The location is fantastic - right by the water and an easy walk to the Opera House, Circular Quay and all the restaurants and shops in The Rocks. Our room was clean, bright and had a view of the harbour bridge. When we arrived we had a problem with our TV reception but a member of staff came up straight away and fixed it for us. The staff at the front desk staff were very helpful and enthusiastic so all-in-all a really good hotel for a Sydney stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malojakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed over New Year & booked a Walsh Bay suite on the first floor. The children slept on a large sofa bed and our bedroom had sliding doors.

Pro: The room was large, bright, architectually interesting (not a bog standard square hotel room) and airy with nice views over Walsh Bay. Great family room. The location was great within easy walking distance to circular quay and it's almost directly under Sydney Harbour Bridge. The staff on the whole were great - particular mention to Bernadette, head of house keeping who was top notch - nothing was too much trouble, always smiling and also the concierge guy as very helpful.
Family fireworks at 9pm are directly opposite the pier where the restuarant is. We sat watching the fireworks and the hotel was practically empty. Great spot.
Spa bath and toiletries were fab.
The hotel is tucked away in a quiet part of the harbour and was quiet and never too busy - relaxing after a busy day sight seeing and great given that we stayed over new year

Cons
We'd booked the hotel for new years eve as we have two children. We wanted somewehre where we didn't have to camp out all day to view the fireworks, and where it wouldn't ben too crowded at midnight. We'd been advised that the hotel guests would have private use only of the pier, where at the end you get a great view of the bridge for the midnight fireworks. The family fireworks in Walsh Bay are directly opposite the pier and we had a great view. However when we booked we'd telephoned in advance to ensure we'd have access to the WHOLE pier for the midnight fireworks. In fact my husband visited the hotel on a business trip two months before New years eve and was advised the same - we'd have access to the WHOLE pier for new years eve. However, upon checking in we were told that we'd only have access to the end of the pier (where you can view the midnight fireworks) if we booked a $499 per person seafood buffet with free flowing alcohol (no discount for the children!) We were amazed and disappointed as we'd thouroughly researched, telephoned, visited the hotel and this was NOT what had been told to us before. The guy on reception was non-plussed and didn't even acknowledge, nor apologise for incorrect information being given to us. As you'd expect, the hotel wasn't cheap as it was new years eve and there was a minimum 4 night stay, so we'd already paid AUD $3756 for four nights, so another $2000 for the four of us just wasnt on - we even asked for a discount as the children wouldnt' drink any alcohol, nor eat that much & we were told the price was the same for them $499.. Unbelievable !
However the next day the concierge was very helpful. He advised us of a great spot from where to view the midnight fireworks (pier opposite) and explained that we'd get a great view of the family fireworks from hotel in middle of the pier, the only part hotel guests would have access to (if you weren't paying for the buffet).
Thankfully this didn't ruin our new year, as things worked out for us in the end. But it so easily could have been a different outcome.

The aircon didn't work properly and the rooms were very hot - this was before the heatwave. Other guests seem to have similar complaints, so I think this is an issue that the hotel needs to address as it seems the whole of the hotels air con needs looking at. The windows didn't open, so the rooms were very hot. Thankfully we didn't stay during the heatwave - that would have been unbearable.

The breakfasts were included in our package and were ok. Bit pricy if you just paid on the day, so try & get a package where it's included.

We spoke with some guests who'd paid the $499 for the seafood buffet. They didn't have great views of the fireworks from the restuarant room, so many ended up on the pier outside. This was cordoned off for them, but they felt a bit cheated.

Overall, great hotel, but be careful if staying over new year that you're 100% clear exactly what you're getting and where in the hotel you'll have access to.

Room Tip: Walsh bay suite with large sofabed and seperate bedroom is great for a family with two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MOT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, great room ( we upgraded to the suite) and very helpful staff. We spent one night here for our 5 year anniversary and had a wonderful time. The welcome drink and buffet breakfast was enjoyable. Very close to The Rocks and Circular Quay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the far end of the pier for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a delightful place to stay. The hotel is tucked away on the quieter side of the harbour but in walking distance of all the fabulous sights that Sydney has to offer.All the staff seemed happy to work there and had time for a greeting with a genuine smile. Cheers Pier One.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 440Christine440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 182 in Sydney
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 182 in Sydney
1,467 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#16 of 182 in Sydney
2,098 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $195 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing