We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but that's about it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location but that's about it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as part of the "scoopon" promotion. The room was nice and clean, and quiet. Although the room was a water view room, there wasn't much to see as we had an end room. Check in was easy and fast. We had free wifi included however we were not able to get a strong enough signal to access it! Breakfast was fairly basic, the usual bacon & eggs. Bar prices are fairly expensive, but a short walk up the hill to the harbour view hotel and we were able to buy drinks at half the price! Wouldn't stay here at full price as I think it is overpriced for the small amount of service that you receive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Channi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    698
    283
    116
    64
See reviews for
336
1,144
90
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in the Walsh Bay Suite. Great room, great view and great location. Quiet in comparison with uptown hotels, yet still clos enough to everything you want to see. Made to feel really welcome by everyone. Will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodney_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely location just under Sydney bridge, however that is about all! We are here while staying in Sydney and had considered staying. However the service and standard of food put us off the hotel as a whole. We just had some pizza, calamari and a few drinks as a light lunch on the pier. Service was extremely slow and most of the food was very poor quality and did not taste fresh (even the pizza) but was very expensive, and the staff were nearly all rude and unapologetic when we said that we were disappointed.
On the basis of that experience alone and the service I wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank S_tweetnothings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here one night and were very impressed. The location is superb and the hotel is EXCELLENT value for money, all those beautiful water views for a fraction of the price of the other hotels in the area. I almost don't want to give it a good review.....because then everyone will know about this little gem! Hopefully they keep the prices sensible. The staff were helpful, the room was excellent, I loved the features of the pier that they kept in the decor. Breakfast was pretty standard breakfast fare, but plenty of choice, fresh and delicious, topped off by stunning water views. I have no idea how this place was so peaceful and not crowded, can't wait to get back there, my new favourite hotel. Hopefully no one reads this review and you all stay away!!!! Too good to share!

Room Tip: The waterviews are stunning. We had a suite on the first floor. Perfect. Some rooms on the second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJM2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I love this hotel and I stay here each time I'm in Sydney. I was given a Bridge View room which had a lovely view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge.
The room itself had a king size bed and was very spacious with a comfy armchair, desk and all e mini bar amenities you could want.
The location of the hotel is great within The Rocks area. On Sundays they have the markets which are great to walk through and pick up fantastic bargains. There are also many food stalls to choose from.

The only downside to my trip this time was that the room service meal wasn't very good. I had ordered the soup of the day (which was mushroom) and it was so bad I couldn't eat it. The rest of my meal was okay but certainly not the standard I've had in the past.
The breakfast the next day made up for the room service meal. The selections were very good and everything was well presented.

Room Tip: If you have a room located on the Pier you have your own outdoor table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLTDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing