We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great, "outside" services not so great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #30 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location great, "outside" services not so great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I liked the feel of this hotel, great feel when you enter and see the deck on the water front. staff were friendly. the first room were were given smelt of sewage ( they have had problems with the "aircraft" toilets i think) the second room was fine. they changed us without an issue. it is a great site and we enjoyed being so close to the harbour and Bridge.To get anywhere from the hotel is either walk to the train station (15min) or Taxi. the 3 taxis we got from the hotel were dirty, driven by mutes( they never said a word to us, we think it was because we only got a short ride to the train station) . for a hotel with guests paying top dollar i would strongly suggest they get there own shuttle. I had just flown from Paris ( where hotel shuttles are very common) and being meet at the airport by a hotel shuttle would have added positively to the experience.
Wifi needs to be free in the rooms, we only need an hour $9.95 ( for emalis ) but this lasted one 10 min connection and they was no clear way to see how much time was used and how to logoff to stop the meter.
so in summary the hotel has good room sizes and views. to me it is the "outside" services they need to improve as it does reflect on the hotel and our decision to stay again or not.

Room Tip: the higher floor you go the less noise from the "aircraft" loos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steamworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    628
    255
    102
    59
See reviews for
281
975
82
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Firstly, I didn't take any photos but I did make a YouTube video! Please see here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfuIvClUdF0

The Walsh Bay Suite opens onto a hallway which has a nice little 'feature shelf' off to the left where they have some ceramic flowers in a vase. A nice touch of colour, considering the suite itself is quite white.

The bathroom is spacious withdouble vanity sink areas, shower and loo, and has a massive, deep oval shaped spa bath.

NOW LOOK FELLOW TRIPADVISORS - the hotel is heritage listed and as a result they cannot alter the existing building without council approval and yes this includes the plumbing, so yes; you will hear the swoosh! of other rooms flushing the toilet or letting the bath out (it's like an airplane toilet that has a very strong suction when flushed).

This will make a loud noise that can be quite startling when you're relaxing in the bath but couldn't be heard from the Living Room or Bedroom.

We didn't mind because the suite was just too nice to get all upset by something that the hotel can't fix.

As for the suite, after a short trip up some stairs you're in the living room. It's very spacious and has quite a lot of character what with the building's original beams (rafters?) in the room. Apparently Blue Hotel over at Wooloomooloo (formerly the W Hotel) is very similar to this hotel. The Living Room has a great set up with couch, chairs, tables, etc. but the real winning point is the double-length 'day bed' areas where you can relax, read and book or watch a movie and enjoy the view (it was pretty cool seeing The Bounty - Endevour replica - sail by!)

The Bedroom is very boutique style with tastefully positioned artworks and magazines. The armour has a ton of space too. You can close the sliding doors off to the living room so you can completely black the room out to morning light.

The CD player is a great idea - we bought a CD in Pitt Street Mall from a busking bass player (and a very good one at that!) so we had funky bass going all the time in the suite!

Also, we were in Sydney to catch the Kevin Smith and Jason Mewes show at the Enmore Theatre (you might know them better as Jay and Silent Bob from the movies Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy, etc.)... the next day after the show we were having drinks in the bar downstairs and who should walk by on the jetty with some friends? JASON MEWES!!! So we went and said hello, got some photos and even helped take some photos of him and his friends in front of Luna Park. It was all just too perfect - best holiday ever!

Can't say enough good about The Sebel Pier One Sydney... great hotel with great service and I hope that they get 'absorbed' into Accor's MGallery Collection soon!

Room Tip: Definately spend the extra $ and upgrade to the Walsh Bay Suite. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I travel interstate often and when ever we go to Sydney we stay at the sebel pier one when ever possible, this hotel is right on the habour near circular quay,so quick access to the ferries and right next to the habour bridge, with in walking distance to the city centre mall, the markets at the rocks,the railway station, it is all there, not to mention the many resturants on the harbour including doyles, if one stands at the front of the hotel you have the harbour bridge right next to you and look across to the opera house which also is only a 15/20 minute leisurely walk there taking in all the activety of what is happening on the way, and luna park is also nearby, at night the lights are spectacular.We have just come back today from an over night 2 day visit and when we arrived they upgraded us to a suite which was really lovely,it had a huge bathroom with a spa bath and seperate shower, a seperate lounge and large bedroom. The hotel is a converted Wharf building with much history. In the foyer area there is a section of the floor that is glass and one can look through to the water under the wharf, it is tastefully modernised, but kept within the era of the history of the wharfs. the staff are all so helpfull, and nothing is too much trouble, we always enjoy our stay with them and look forward to the next.

Room Tip: to book a harbour view room book ahead, and the suite we stayed in was on the 2nd floor on the far e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 188ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Most enjoyable weekend with the Lady at SP1. All was well presented, although the corridor on level 3 was under refurbishment and being painted.

The King Waterfront room was spacious and well presented. The bathroom was a good size, modern and spotless.
Staff were courteous and friendly.

Located within minutes of the Rocks and Circular Quay. We took our pushbikes and enjoyed cycling in the city and around the waters edge to the Botanic Gardens.

Room Tip: I think there may be rooms with Harbour Bridge views. Our room looked over the water on the Northern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry_and_Lai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here in a waterfront room, after originally being given a room on the ground floor we went into the room and their was absolutely no privacy as th eroom opened onto the pier, we went back and asked for a room on another level, which they gave us.
Room is looking very tired, toilet noisy, towels old. Very average, expected a little bit more luxury.
Breakfast ok, had to wait for a table for 15 minutes,
Not sure I would stay again, although good location near the rocks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at Sebel Pier One Sydney for 2 nights while on business. Unfortunately I had a level 1 room facing the road so I couldnt experience the best of Sebel Pier One and the beautiful Sydney Harbour.

The room was a good size and the bed super comfortable. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful.

The Toilet was a bit of an issue and sounded like an airplane toilet when you flushed it. you also had to cross your fingers that it actually did flush and not just fill up!

The location is great as you are just a short stroll from Circular Quay and while I was there I ran around through the Botanical Gardens which are very nice.

I would also like to know when Sydney Hotels are going to catch up with the rest of the International locations around the world and provide FREE WIFI!!!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a Harbour facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyjwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Sebel is a lovely hotel, in a great area with a fantastic outlook. The rooms are very clean, comfy bed and good sized bathroom. However the toilet is like something on an airplane and unfortunately if it is used by any room with a few rooms radius, you will wake up!!! Also there was a function on both Thursday and Saturday nights, and the noise carried on well past midnight and windows are definitely not sound proof. The first night, this wasn't a problem but with an early flight on the Sunday it wasn't ideal to still be awake well into the early hours of the morning. Perhaps ask for a room not directly above the bar area.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the bar area as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billi_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,576 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,428 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection(R) is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings from the stunning, stylish absolute waterfront Suites through to our Eastern facing Heritage rooms. In the heart of the Rocks our location offers the perfect accommodation base for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or Sydney wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Guests can also enjoy one of the Signature Cocktail creations. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking, 24-hour security and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing