We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Sebel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #21 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2008

Absolutely loved The Sebel Pier One. Great location and service was excellent! It's a very unique hotel and the lobby and it's glass floor are gorgeous. We stayed in a waterside room which had lovely views of the Harbour.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKATZ_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,497 - 2,503 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2008

My Husband and I have just spent our 10th wedding anniversay at The Sebel Pier One and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is beautiful and service was great. We were truly spoilt and will definitley be back!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GucciSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We were given a night at Pier One as a gift so we probably shouldn't grumble that much....but...

This is possibly one of the noisiest hotels I've ever stayed in. The racket from the vacuum toilets is incredible and all night all you could hear was 'whoosh' as people flushed. One hopes one wouldn't be stuck there with a tummy bug running around or it would be one long whoosh.

The rooms are of average size and furnished with an odd, over-stuffed armchair in the King Room overlooking Walsh Bay. Being a heritage-listed site, the design is severely compromised, with windows in weird places.

Of course, you can't beat the location, especially if you're planning a night to see either a Sydney Theatre Company or Sydney Dance Company production. Although the $25 parking charge is obscene, it's just a cage on the other side of the road, open to the elements and the yoofs that frequent the area.

The restaurant is okay, but like most central Sydney restaurants is fabulously over-priced for what you get. We didn't make it in time for the buffet breakfast but by all accounts it is reasonably pleasant.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank zerogeewhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Just very simple advice...avoid. Have stayed at many hotels and this one for a supposed 4 star hotel was severely lacking in any style , service or reception staff with manners.

Reception staff were lazy and uninterested in guests and have to be among some of the most unhelpful staff I have ever met in an hotel

The rooms were shoddy and not cleaned well. The bathroom was disgusting. I would avoid staying here at all costs.

We moved to the much more central and highly efficent Sydney swissotel which was deserved of its 5 star rating. Do not be disappointed- avoid this hotel . Please.......................

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IrishguyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed at the Sebel Pier One in Oct 2007 and must say I wouldn't rush back there.

Our room size was average but the window ledge was so wide you had to just about crawl up to close the curtains (thank goodness for a husband with long arms). There was no extractor fan in the bathroom so whenever you had a shower the whole room steamed up. The mirror in the bathroom was not cleaned the entire time we were there which was evident by the writing that you could see on it when the mirror steamed up (left by the previous occupants or the ones before them!!!). Every time someone (probably from rooms above us) flushed their toilet you get hear it & everytime we flushed our toilet, the bathroom door would open. The mini fridge had the piece that holds things in place in the door missing so everytime you opened the fridge everything that was in the door fell out. The bed was king size & really firm, but we like a firm bed so that was not a problem for us.

On the plus side it was within easy walking distance of Circular Quay & had great views, but then again you don't need to stay in the hotel to get the spectacular views.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jacs1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Stayed overnight after attending a wedding. Lovely spacious rooms, great service, breakfast buffet was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayshaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

After paying over $400 for a king room overlooking Walsh Bay (NOT including breakfast, parking or late checkout), we were very disappointed to find our room was directly above a function area and we were forced to listen to loud music and guests talking and laughing until after 11.30 pm. We had hoped to have a reasonably early night but it was not to be.
The room itself was a good size but mediocre apart from the bathroom which was quite nice with two sinks, spa and plenty of fluffy towels. The bed was comfortable but not worth the money and the Sebel Pier One will not be on our "revisit" list.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 181 in Sydney
2,067 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
1,333 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $186 - $587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing