We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy - couldn't sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Noisy - couldn't sleep”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is absolutely lovely, with magnificent views, fabulous location on the harbour. Service was also very good. However, we booked a cheaper room (which still cost well over $200 a night) and ended up with a room next to a generator, or air conditioning unit or something, which kept us awake. I complained, and was told that there was work being done on the pier but that it shouldn't last. Noise seemed to go - until 3.30am, when there was persistent hammering outside, loud enough to wake us up and keep us awake. Again I complained, and the staff, who were helpful, checked for us and told us that yep, the work on the pier was still continuing but should end soon. It did - at 5am, and we had to get up at 5.30 anyway to catch a flight. So - awake since 3.30am due to council workers undertaking repairs.

I lodged a written complaint but didn't hear anything further from the hotel. So, best check that no work is going on for your stay. At these prices, I expect a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    737
    287
    123
    65
See reviews for
375
1,246
106
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Sebel Pier one would have to be one of the best places I have stayed in the city. The position is ideal, being close to and within walking distance of Circular Quay, The Rocks, Opera House and many good restaurants. To walk into the city centre would take about 20minutes or so, there are trains and buses available not far from the hotel, and taxis were always available out the front. The room we stayed in was clean, bright and had an amazing view, with the afternoon sun streaming through the windows. There was no noise so you are guaranteed a great nights sleep, and the beds are very comfortable. There was a lot of character in the building itself and the staff were most pleasant, friendly and helpful. I must say I was impressed with every aspect of this hotel and would definitely recommend it as an ideal and comfortable place to stay with exceptional front desk service.

Room Tip: Rooms with waterviews on either side of the hotel are worth staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Amazing... Beautiful room, glorious views, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I visited Sydney for the umpteenth time last week. We had left booking until the week before so twin share rooms near circular quay were not easy to find. I am glad that we booked the Sebel. It has a stunning location just under the harbour bridge, and breakfast views are to the water. We stayed in the cheaper of the rooms and they were a good size. We asked and received a quiet room, on the top floor. The conversion from wharf to hotel has been done very sympathetically, and it is lovely so see some original features.

The room was clean and comfy, the double glazing meant the room window could not be opened, but I guess they do this to eliminate noise from the bridge. The room was very quiet. Bathroom was fine, toilet is very noisy- some kind of vacuum system, water efficient no doubt and you do get used to it. Bed a little firm for my liking, but comfortable.

Bar service was good, concierge friendly.

We had a snack on the first day and the inside of the spring rolls were cold, this was rectified well by staff but I would have preferred it not to happen. We decided not to eat in the restaurant for dinner as a result of this. This was a shame as the weather was dreadful and we got drenched going out for dinner on the second night. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, your standard sydney big hotel breakfast.

The location makes this hotel, being on the water gives a feeling of space and light and yet you are only 5 mins walk to the bustle of circular quay. But for the food problem I would have scored it higher.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed just one night at the Sebel, but right from the get-go, the first thing I noticed was just how attentive and friendly the staff were! This, combined with the breath-taking views, makes it a night to remember!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sebel Pier One is a gem of a hotel that ticks all the boxes for what a class Sydney Hotel should be.
The location is the first plus. Nestled right underneath the Harbour Bridge with great water views from many rooms and within comfortable walking distance to all the Rocks and the lower city has to offer. This hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere however we had a Sunday & Monday night stay when the hotel was reasonably unpopulated and therefore avoided the "wedding set" that gets a mention hereabouts. Our heritage King room was on the Hickson Road side of the property and the room was spacious, well appointed, clean and quiet. (Next visit we'll book a room with water views) The bed was extremely comfortable giving very good sleep quality. Good quiet efficent air conditioning and electric drop-down shutters that provided good light blocking. The enviro-friendly toilet system that gets a mention in some reviews is really nothing new to anyone that has travelled by plane or ship. No more noisy or intrusive from other rooms than the plumbing in most hotels we've stayed at IMO. House cleaning gets a big tick. Couldn't fault it at all.

The hotel's staff are nothing short of fantastic. All were friendly, professional and very efficient. It's nice to be greeted with a smile that seems genuine. The Concierge desk gets a special rating for the top notch advice and the handling of the valet parking both on arrival and with our early departure. Can't comment on the Restaurant as we ate all meals out apart from bar food light snacks but the Front Bar drinks and bar food service was both good quality and reasonably comparably priced. The bar food is prepared in the same kitchen so I'd sumise that the restaurant offers quality dining. A very nice spot to sit on the Pier and enjoy the sunset either with dinner or over a drink or two. Overall, a relaxing and impressive hotel experience. We have a few Sydney hotels that we would gladly stay at again and definitely place Sebel Pier One amoungst the top choices

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a water view to get the most from this very good hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin-Powers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed on a 4 day business trip earlier this month.. The Sebel is in a really handy and unusual location especially if you've been to Sydney before.. this is like a secret location but still just a few minutes interesting walk from the city proper .We were allocated a room with full length windows opening (yes, really opening!) out over the harbour.. very quiet and tranquil. The room was very pleasnt.. cool white decoration, simple, neat and comfortable... great breakfast room where it was most tempting to simply linger over a few cups of coffee and the paper... Hey, Sebel people , can you PLEASE provide tea pots for thoes who like a few cups of tea . ??
Disappointing bathroom.. weak water pressure .. and here was me thinking that the only reason you stay in a 5 star hotel is for the luxury of a long pelting shower! And the toilet?.. weird... I'd stay there again .. probably based on the price...

Room Tip: don't unpack until you are fully satisfied with the room that you have been allocated.. If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,370 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#11 of 178 in Sydney
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing