We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't rush back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wouldn't rush back”
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed at the Sebel Pier One in Oct 2007 and must say I wouldn't rush back there.

Our room size was average but the window ledge was so wide you had to just about crawl up to close the curtains (thank goodness for a husband with long arms). There was no extractor fan in the bathroom so whenever you had a shower the whole room steamed up. The mirror in the bathroom was not cleaned the entire time we were there which was evident by the writing that you could see on it when the mirror steamed up (left by the previous occupants or the ones before them!!!). Every time someone (probably from rooms above us) flushed their toilet you get hear it & everytime we flushed our toilet, the bathroom door would open. The mini fridge had the piece that holds things in place in the door missing so everytime you opened the fridge everything that was in the door fell out. The bed was king size & really firm, but we like a firm bed so that was not a problem for us.

On the plus side it was within easy walking distance of Circular Quay & had great views, but then again you don't need to stay in the hotel to get the spectacular views.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jacs1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    697
    282
    116
    64
See reviews for
336
1,142
90
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

Stayed overnight after attending a wedding. Lovely spacious rooms, great service, breakfast buffet was nice.

  • Liked — It felt very luxurious
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayshaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

After paying over $400 for a king room overlooking Walsh Bay (NOT including breakfast, parking or late checkout), we were very disappointed to find our room was directly above a function area and we were forced to listen to loud music and guests talking and laughing until after 11.30 pm. We had hoped to have a reasonably early night but it was not to be.
The room itself was a good size but mediocre apart from the bathroom which was quite nice with two sinks, spa and plenty of fluffy towels. The bed was comfortable but not worth the money and the Sebel Pier One will not be on our "revisit" list.

  • Liked — Convenient for theatre venue
  • Disliked — Noisy room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovingagoodholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

We were on a two month tour (Dubai/NZ/Oz/Malaysia) and have to say for the price paid (the most expensive hotel on our trip inc 5* in Dubai, and Malaysia e.g The Datai), the Sebel Pier One was the most disappointing of the hotels in which we stayed.
From the initial room (a "harbour view" for which a supplement was paid) all we saw was a former metal crane; upgraded to a suite (after a fuss, at no extra cost) with traffic flowing passed one of the windows! The trains we expected, but not a busy main road with less-than-effective double glazing.
Breakfast somewhat of a disaster with no real management; ran out of coffee, cold items etc.
Charged for internet usage - in this day and age!
Despite a Formal Complaint before departure, a month on there has been no feed back from the hotel.
Sorry, but we will definitely NOT be returning nor recommending.
This by a hotelier of 40 years standing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor quality of accommodation
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HOTELIERShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in mid October 2007. It is a very unique property, originally old warehouses and dockyards, and only 3 floors high. Apparently no 2 rooms are identical. The theme is very nautical with some exposed beams and a lot of blue/white decor. We had a double bed and a rollaway and there was still plenty of room to move. Extremely spacious with large window ledge (although the ledge was quite high and you had to crawl up onto it to close the curtain!). The window in the main room was also a bit small which meant the room was not overly bright, but it didn't bother us.

The bathroom was also large and, by contrast, very bright thanks to quite a large window (again with a very large, high ledge which required climbing up on to close the blinds - which you want to do if you're having a shower, as our bathroom faced out onto the road!).

The view from both windows was amazing...virtually right under the harbour bridge...and a glimpse of the Opera House too. Obviously if you're on the other side and facing out, you won't see this, but you'll have a lovely waterfront view. Needless to say, the hotel's location was very good. Right on water and virtually under the bridge. About a 10 minute brisk walk to Circular Quay and the Rocks.

We found all the staff to be lovely, and dealt with quite a few people at reception and in the restaurant, where we had breakfast every day (very good selection of food...well worth having).

For those looking for a nice, simple feed for dinner, try going to the Observer Hotel in the Rocks. It's a nice pub with good food at reasonable prices, but you might want to avoid it on weekends when the live music is very loud!

Katoomba is also worth doing as a daytrip. It's a town in the Blue Mountains and you can get a wonderful view of the 3 Sisters and the mountains from Echo Point. And there's a great café there called the Parakeet Café which does lovely toasted sandwiches!

If I ever went back to Sydney, the Sebel Pier One would be my first option.

  • Liked — Location, views, comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Loquita23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in September this year. Unfortunately our visit to Syndney collided with the APEC conference which meant that security in the city was high. We found hotel staff to be friendly and courteous. We were able to check in to our room at 10am. The room was lovely and had character which is often lacking
in modern hotels. Friends of ours were also staying in the hotel at the time and a visit to their room indicated that we had been lucky. Their room was much smaller than ours with hardly room to walk around
the bed. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as it was quite expensive but had no trouble finding alternative places to eat. Check
out was quick and overall our stay was pleasant.

  • Liked — Location, Character of hotel
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briongloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

I stayed here for two nights while visiting Sydney, the hotel is lovely and the room was really clean and comfortable. I had a few problems with two members of staff, first of all I had requested a safety deposit box at reception, the manager was called twice in 20 minutes to arrange this for me, after 30 minutes he/she did'nt show up and as we had to be somewhere i cancelled my request. I thought this was bad service as I had some important documents and jewellery to be kept safe, in the end I locked them in my suitcase and hoped for the best. Secondly, I could'nt believe way we were treated at check out, it was rather early 5am, but this is no excuse for bad manners, the man at reception made up our bill and asked us for the money with no please, thank you or have a nice day, I could'nt believe it, I felt like asking him did manners not kick in to 9am, but instead I will write to his Manager, it left a bad taste in our mouth about this hotel and our memories of Sydney. On a posititive note, our waitress on the night we had dinner was lovely and could'nt
do enough for us.

  • Liked — Clean Room
  • Disliked — Reception Staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Songbird H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 174 in Sydney
1,666 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Property: Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#27 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings. Located in the heart of the Rocks, our hotel offers the perfect accommodation for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Our luxury Sydney Harbour hotel's accommodations also offer a smoke-free environment, valet parking and 24-hour security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing