We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Faultless hotel. Top Service, great rooms and fantastic location. Everything that a Grand Hotel should be

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philosopherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    263
    95
    34
    40
See reviews for
263
903
86
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

There's no denying that this is an expensive hotel but on this occasion we got what we paid for and, in any event, Sydney is a very expensive city for Brits at the moment. We were there for a week and on balance this is the most comfortable hotel we have ever stayed in on fairly extensive travels (beating Oberoi hotels in India by a whisker). The room was great and the shower the best of a seven week trip. Concierge service extremely professional. Location is a real plus. On a quiet street in The Rocks area, ten minutes walk from Circular Quay and only a couple of minutes to an excellent fish restaurant (Fish at The Rocks) and a really buzzy pub - The Lord Nelson. Only thing we can criticise constructively is that service at breakfast was a bit patchy at times, interaction with guests got in the way of efficiency. Overall we can't believe there's a better hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Loved the bathroom, which was huge and modern. The bedroom was very dated and chintzy.everything was clean and good service. Internet was expensive. Breakfast was a ridiculous extra cost at $45 per person, it was ok but def not worth that sort of money.
I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbruegger, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

I'm glad you liked our bathrooms. They are indeed very impressive and the subject of many compliments by our guests!

The decor of the hotel is traditional in nature as indicated on our website, and many of our guests choose to stay at the hotel for this very reason. The hotel is designed to replicate the feel of a 19th century English manor house and to make guests feel that it is their "home away from home". We have a lot of guests in their 20's and 30's who appreciate the exceptional service we provide and they are as numerous as our guests in their 40's, 50's and 60's.

We are currently in the process of reviewing our internet service and will be offering free wireless in the lobby at some stage in the near future. We do currently offer free internet in the business centre which many guests take advantage of.

Currently it is possible to purchase our breakfast (as part of a package) for $29 which is a popular option chosen by many of our guests. The quality of our breakfast is renowned in Sydney and we believe it is comparable with the prices charged by other hotels in the Sydney CBD.

Yours sincerely

Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My family stayed at The Observatory during our recent visit to Sydney -- this was the last stop in a three week holiday in Australia and boy did we save the best for last (AND we stayed in some wonderful places in Australia!). The Observatory is synonymous with outstanding service -- every person we interacted with was helpful, professional and polite. Our room was an executive suite, which was very spacious for our family of 4. The room was very well appointed and the bathroom glorious. The children enjoyed the pool, which is quite large. The breakfast and breakfast service was exceptional. The concierge service exceptional. The location is very good - close to the Rocks where we dined one evening as well as within walking distance of Darling Harbor, where we dined a few evenings. We also dined at the hotel Restaurant - Galileo - which was exceptional (a very fine meal and fine service). This was one of our best hotel experiences ever, and we have stayed in many nice places all over the world.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

My wife and I frequent hotels almost every two weeks and we are usually regulars at the Shangrila, Park Hyatt or the Four seasons depending on availability. Two weeks ago as it was a special weekend, being our anniversary and her birthday i decided to check out The Observatory. We stayed in a junior suite with water views and had the staff arrange the romance package for us. From the time i made reservations to check out i could not be happier with the service here. Conrad who took my reservation and met me at check in is the most friendliest and accommodating hotel staff i have had the pleasure of meeting. Definitely will be returning here. The room was a decent size for a junior suite and had a massive balcony. Very clean and comfortable. Could not have been happier as we are very fussy when it comes to hotels. However Conrad and the staff at The Observatory definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We were very lucky to find a "stay 5 nights and get the last 2 nights free" offer on a superior waterview room at this marvelous hotel. That was indeed money spent well and worth every penny.
Service was top notch. Room was immaculate and spacious with nice views of Darling Harbour. Nice quite street but very central and convenient location.
Wouldn't hesitate a second if I got the chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPH360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Very comfortable, quiet, nice view on the bay, luxurious and spacious rooms, we appreciated the old-fashioned style. Exceptional.
The pool is magnificent !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripping_machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
6,349 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,459 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing