We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Lagonisi, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class Experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel is perfectly situated to reach important spots in town, including the harbour and the Rocks, in walking distance. Elegant and comfortable hotel, a very friendly staff in combination with spacious rooms and comfy beds. All services were according to our expectations and more. This is an excellent place to live downtown and have a relaxing surrounding nevertheless.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManolisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    259
    95
    33
    41
See reviews for
249
863
85
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed overnite for wife's birthday. Left my jacket behind (in the room) and upon my enquiry the following day I was told that item was not being found. Not being found??? I left it there!!!
Spoke and wrote to Hotel Manager who refused to deal with the issue/acknowledge responsability. I was expecting a different treatment from a 5 star hotel costing me $300/night (and another $300 in lost jacket). I would not recommend anyone to stay in this establishment. Over-priced anyway for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank benstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbruegger, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met.

We have an excellent record of recovering and returning guests' lost property - in fact we keep a lost property log in relation to all guest items left behind in the rooms. When a guest notifies us that they believe that they have left an item behind in their rooms, we check immediately with our housekeeping staff to try and locate the item. We really do pull out all the stops to try and locate anything left behind.

Most of the time we are very successful in locating the lost item. On some occasions guests may believe that they have left the item in their hotel room when in fact it was left somewhere else.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours sincerely

Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel a few times now and it never disappoints.

The style of the building is in keeping with the surrounding heritage Rocks area, with cosy, wood panelled public rooms and select, quality furnishings and fittings etc. Easy stroll to the Rocks, Sydney Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay and the main retail area is a 10-15 minute walk away.

The restaurant 'Galileo' is one of the best in town and is sure to impress the best gourmets worldwide - would however like to see them promote Australian/ New Zealand wines a bit more. Regardless, it's an excellent restaurant - but do try some of the locals nearby (e.g. "Fish at the Rocks" just a short stroll up the street - turn left as you exit the main entry; a pub crawl at some of Australia's oldest pubs is also worth a try/look - ask the concierge).

The biggest plus of this hotel for us though is the service - quick response time to requests; polite and not obtrusive - and for those overseas guests that are challenged by English - a number of the staff are multi-lingual.

If you want a view of the harbour and are happy to settle for less in terms of service....go to the Quay Grand hotel. But if you want to eat well and feel like you're at home (away from home), we highly recommend the Observatory hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

After being slightly underwhelmed when we arrived (after a long flight from the UK) this hotel grew on us and in the end we decided it was one of the best we have stayed in. It is located in a quiet residential pocket of Sydney but right in the centre within 15-20 mins walk of all the main sights; darling harbour, circular quay and the main shopping area. So you get the benefit of the quiet location and some v good local restaurants that don't rely on the tourist trade so are good value and good quality whilst still being in the centre of things. Also a good deli/cafe at the end of the street (left out of the hotel) for breakfast.

The rooms and bathrooms are large, & the rooms well insulated so even though we were next to the lift there was no noise, we slept very well. Bathrooms are very plush. We had a water view room - the hotel backs on to the area of the harbour that leads upto Darling harbour rather than the more picturesque Sydney Bridge Harbour but its stil a great view & enjoyable to sit and watch the activity in the harbour. The room was large enough to have a seating area with two v comfy armchairs, so you do get the value of the view by being able sit at the large picture window Its one of the few hotels we have stayed in where we have actually chosen to spend time in the room relaxing.

The hotel is not that big, the public areas are quite small compared to some of the big chain hotels so there isn't a wow factor when you arrive but really how much time do you spend in these areas? The service was v good in the hotel including the conceirge, everything seemed less corporate and more individual than in many hotels.

We did use the pool in the spa and it was really nice, a reasonable size for a proper swim, the changing areas were good and the fitness room looked good too. None were busy, we were the only ones in the pool.

Only a couple of small negatives: (1) high charge for internet access and only wireless access in the lobby (still a fee for this) meaning its not worth it for non-business traveller. This was something we found in all the Aus/Nz hotels on our trip. There is a PC you can use without a charge in the lobby which we did everyday instead and only had to wait once. (2) Some of the public areas - drawing room and the cafe were off limits for part of our stay for private functions which given there isn't a great deal of public space in the hotel felt a bit restrictive. We ate in the bar and the food was good but as usual in hotels a bit pricey, local restaurants are better value for money.

The location,the service and especially the room all contributed to an excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank SJD_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Booked intp this hotel for a weekend treat in Sydney, based on outstanding recommendations from Trip Advisor. The location is wonderful, staff friendly, and our room was well appointed and stylish. Really, a very agreeable spot but we have two cavets. First and foremost, the room was too hot, and the air-conditioning could not be set lower that "19-20 degrees". In fact, there's no temperature control in the room, just the opportunity to press a "1", "2" or "3". Even the female half of the couple complained (which is very rare), but Reception told us there was nothing to do. Second, the hotels promotes its DVD library, but only when the typed list of titles appeared (around 40 titles only) did we discover that the fee of $13 applied per title. In a hotel with rooms costing $300+ per night, this seems petty and was disappointing. When will classy hotels learn not to penny pinch, and to stop charging for everything, from DVDs to internet? Bed was fairly comfortable but by no means outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike1955092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbruegger, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff, the quality of the rooms and our location. We take great pride in the appearance of our property so we are pleased you noticed.

Our air-conditioning is centrally controlled but we do offer guests the opportunity to control the fan strength in their rooms which is what you are referring to. Perhaps you stayed at the hotel on the odd day in Sydney when the temperature rises to the high 30's [in degrees celcius]. In general we do get many positive comments from guests about how cool our hotel is even when it is quite hot outside the hotel.

Regarding the DVD library, we offer this as a service to our guests and we do try and keep the library current and there is a cost involved in it. We are sorry that you did not like the DVD hire cost but we do want to point out that we offer 5 free movie channels by the main Australian movie provider Foxtel for our guests which most guests are quite happy with.

Yours sincerely

Ralf Bruegger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos,California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We had a one bedroom executive suite for 5 nights. So many things to like: the subdued,elegant decor. Chinese porcelain vases, etchings of Australian scenery and birds, blue silk curtains, the blue satin ribbon tied around the bathroom tissue roll, art work in the bathroom, 3 floor to ceiling curved windows in the living room with view of trees, tennis courts, town homes, brass and green marble lamps,
So many luxurious conveniences: the nespresso machine in the room for making aromatic coffee,receiving a dry umbrella at the front entrance when returning with a wet one,being able to use the computer downstairs and send a fax at no charge, the huge pool with a starry southern cross ceiling.
It was very pleasant to have a light supper in our room with our own wine. When I asked for ice it came in 60 seconds.
The location was perfect for us. We walked several times a day to the Circular Quay in about 15 minutes and never tired of the attractions there. But it was fine to return to a quieter neighborhood . We sampled lunch at the Four Seasons and tried the lift. Service was uninspired and the lift wait was long. At the Observatory the lift came at once and was always unoccupied. Surprising since the hotel was completely full. What a grand start to our Australian and New Zealand adventure and totally worth it. The suite was $600 a night without breakfast. The staff were all gracious and helpful without being intrusive. So glad we went.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosGatostraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at The Observatory Hotel. I've spent a lot of time in Sydney's CBD, but never imagined that there would be a street so close to the centre of everything and yet also so quiet and peaceful! The staff were extremely courteous and helpful, the decor was gorgeous, and the room was amazing. Expensive, but that comes with the territory with a hotel of this calibre. Very impressive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,171 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing