We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #7 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed May 6, 2010

My partner, cockerspaniel and I stayed at the Observatory Hotel for a mini getaway and everything about the hotel surpassed our expectations. No I didn’t smuggle my cockerspaniel into the hotel in my suitcase, the hotel actually allows animals (dogs to be 20kgs or under) which is amazing for a hotel of its caliber.

The junior suite we stayed in was stunning and the photos on the hotel website don’t seem to do it justice. We were also upgraded from a city view to water view suite when checking in which was a great surprise. Two double glass doors open onto a large balcony which give the room a fantastic airy feel.

The service was outstanding in every way including the valet parking, luggage person, concierge, reception, bar staff and the waiter who delivered our morning coffee. Our dog was a little vocal in the lobby however the hotel staff were very understanding and accommodating.

My partner and I plan to return sometime soon (without the furry friend) to enjoy the pool, spa, restaurant and all other amenities the Observatory Hotel has to offer. We did manage to have a couple of drinks in the Globe Bar while our dog was looked after by a dog-sitter (organized through the hotel) which was an experience to remember – the décor was stunning.

There were little surprises and attention to detail throughout our stay which set the hotel apart from other 5 star hotels I have stayed at. Examples include bottled water, tranquility tea and hot chocolate brought up to the room at night, fancy dog cakes and biscuits for the dog and an abundance of high quality soaps/shampoos etc.

The Hotel is also conveniently located in The Rocks precinct in easy walking distance to the Harbour Bridge and other famous Sydney landmarks. Observatory Park is also a 5 minute stroll which serves as a great place for photos and a picnic.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taniwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2010

Thank you so much to the author for such a kind and detailed review of the Observatory Hotel.

As you perfectly mentioned, The Observatory Hotel is "pets friendly" and we do want them to feel at home as much as our guests do. We do place special pet-personal amenities in the room such as luffy bed, litter, water bowl and chewy treats for dogs. Even the Chef prepares a menu especially for them!

I am also thrilled to hear that you received an excellent service from our staff members and I will take great pleasure in passing your feedback on to all concerned.

Once again many thanks and I look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon for another getaway or special occasion.

Kind Regards,

Elodie Artozoul
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,636 - 1,642 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2010

This was our third stay at The Observatory Hotel and once again, it was a sublime experience. The luxuriously appointed rooms and public areas, exquisite dining (including the hotel's justly famous High Teas), the relaxed club-like atmosphere, and most importantly, the wonderful staff, guarantees any stay here will be an absolute joy. The spa and health club, complete with a star-domed indoor pool, further enhanced the experience.
Having stayed at a number of Sydney's premier hotels (all of which have been great experiences), we are of the firm belief that The Observatory is the city's and indeed Australia's finest hotel - a deserved member of the Orient Express group.
RGN, Sydney

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGNSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2010

Thank you very much to the author for the nice review of The Observatory Hotel.

I am very pleased to hear that your third time with us was as "sublime" as the previous ones!
Thank you so much for reviewing all the amenities and facilities the hotel has to offer.

As part of the Orient Express Hotels group, we are making a point of creating and maintaining this special "Signature atmosphere" that is common to all our properties and I am glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you again for taking the time to review The Observatory Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you, for the fourth time, in a non distant future.

Kind Regards,

Elodie Artozoul
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

pleasantly surprised. staff (and especially concierge) couldnt do enough for us. room was extremely comfortable and location in the Rocks area is excellent for getting around sydney.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crestcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2010

Thank you very much to the author of this review for this positive feedback on his stay at The Observatory Hotel.
I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our staff members took good care of you.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Elodie Artozoul
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I can highly recommend the Observatory. The staff were, to a person, wonderful and the property itself was well presented, the rooms spacious, clean and immaculately decorated (I especially liked the print of the voyages of Captain Cook on the wall - I managed to have a great stay and learn something as well.) We had room service which was very tasty, promptly and courteously delivered. The location is nice - equi-distant from the historical Rocks district with the Harbour Bridge and views of the Opera House and King Street Wharf which houses some lively restaurants and the Aquarium (a favorite of our son). The pool area is excellent although being indoors its probably note the best place to take a boisterous 3 year old as evidenced by the looks of some of my fellow guests. I would highly recommend this hotel for someone looking for a hotel with old world charm and service in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2010

Thank you to the author for your kind review of The Observatory Hotel.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our position in The Rocks, which is, as you mentioned, close to Sydney's "must see" attractions.
I am glad you could enjoy our pool and its famous constellations ceiling and, as a very important guest, your little one was welcome to enjoy the pool too!

Thank you once again for taking the time to review The Observatory Hotel and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Elodie Artozoul
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I wish I had written this review earlier when it was all fresher in my mind.

My partner and I stayed for one night, Christmas Night in December 2009.

Firstly, our room was spacious and well laid out. However, this is where the good times stopped. The room was dusty and had not been cleaned properly. I found dust everywhere, yuck! After we had settled in I called concierge to ask if he knew of anything that would be open for dinner (being Christmas night), he informed me he would call me back. He didn't! I called again and asked again and he was fairly uninterested. I went downstairs to the concierge desk and waited, and waited and waited while he spoke to someone else. He finally acknowledged us but again, he was so unfriendly I wished we had just walked on past. We ended up finding a place for dinner on our own.

They also wanted to charge us $35 or $45 for parking our car for one night.

The matress was quite possibly the worst I have ever slept on and the pillow was a thin lump. My partner and I both slept very badly. The decor was very old, but probably appealing to the older traveller who likes forals and worn carpets.

The day we checked out I recieved an email saying we had been charged $19 as a late charge for a minibar item. As we had not had anything from the minibar I immediately called the hotel and queried what the charge was for (the email did not say). Supposedly we had consumed two boxes of pringles! I did not even know the room had pringles. The manager agreed to reverse the charges (which took three days) but seriously, how can you get this wrong? And how can you just go charging someone elses credit card and write a email saying you 'hope that you will not object'! I do, and have never stayed in a five star hotel who make stuff ups like that!

I have enjoyed staying at the top hotels in Sydney and unfortunately The Observatory was a huge let down and is completely outclassed by places such as The Westin and Park Hyatt. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jrs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loxley99, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2010

It is always difficult to follow up, investigate and try to make amends as deemed appropriate, when so much time has lapsed following any incident that has caused a guest disappointment. Obviously by the scoring and commentary of this guest, they were far from satisfied, for which I am most sorry, but sadly 4 months after the event that this experience was posted, I am pleased that there were some redeeming features of their stay but I was sorry that they felt the room was not up to standard - The decor is not hip or trendy, we are a classic hotel - we have very high standards when it comes to comfort and cleanliness, with policies and procedures to ensure this is carried out, I am therefore suprised at this comment and sadly it is not one I am, at this late stage, able to verify. I regret there appears to have been an incorrect charge made in relation to the Mini Bar, which was advised to the guest and immediately removed when it was indicated that it was not correct. Finaly in regards to parking charges, as I have stated before, with the aim of offering guests the opportunity to experience the luxury of our five star hotel, we try to provide the very best of competitive rates, this may mean that it is a 'net' rate, giving the guest the option of any extras that are normally available. Car parking being one of these. It should also be noted that Sydney does have taxes and costs are high for any city center property, hence the charge of $40 that these guests paid for having their car valet parking during their stay. Indicatively the alternative hotels mentioned parking charges, range from $35 to $49, which are in line with most city parking.
I hope that these guests might consider returning, when I am sure they will have a more enjoyable experience, but understand we may not be of the contemporary style they indicate they prefer. I would emphasis that our mantra is to look after our guests, as I hope may be seen from other comments on TripAdvisor and we do our very best to resolve any problems the second they are brought to our attention so that nothing detracts from the experience at the time of the stay ...as sadly one can never turn back the clock.

Patrick Griffin - Managing Director - Orient-Express - Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Once again, Orient Express has shown me another fabulous hotel in a great location. The service, staff, rooms, restaurant, and other facilities are all top notch. It was my first trip to Sydney and after passing by numerous other hotels, I knew that my experience would have been a let down if I had not been at the Observatory. The location in the Rocks district is perfect to get the feel of Sydney and it's history. It is also a great location to sightsee and be able to come back to luxury to relax. We had one of the best meals in Australia at the reaturant. This is the only place to stay in Sydney!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hulagirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmSydney, Guest Services Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2010

Thank you so much to the author for the review of The Observatory Hotel.

I am really pleased to read that, as an Orient-Express frequent guest, The Observatory Hotel, only property of the group in Australia, met with your expectations.

I am glad you could enjoy what the hotel has to offer in terms of rooming, dining and its location on the Rocks.

I and the entire team are looking forward to welcoming you back in a non too distant future. Thank you again.

Elodie Artozoul
Guest Services Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Last week I had the to stay at The Observatory Hotel, Sydney. Upon arrival I was greeted by friendly Concierge staff who set the tone for my stay. The courtesy and professionalism continued at reception where I was "welcomed back", upgraded and escorted to my beautiful, immaculately clean room. The Observatory Hotel is rightly famous for its beauty, impeccibly maintained and luxurious ammenities, but my stay was set apart by the staff who are friendly, interested and professional. It is rare to find such a complete package in a 5 star hotel. But The Observatory has it all. Thank you for an amazing room, and above all, thank you to the staff who made my stay so memorable and pleasant. Mr Walsh

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsmSydney, Guest Services Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2010

Thank you so much for you kind review.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff members to be up with some of the best.
I am glad you decided to stay with us again and we all look forward to welcome you back in a non distant future.

Elodie Artozoul
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 180 in Sydney
1,414 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 180 in Sydney
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 180 in Sydney
6,635 reviews
The Darling
#4 of 180 in Sydney
916 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#28 of 180 in Sydney
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $264 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. From stunning Western Harbour facing views to our Historic Rocks district location, The Langham, Sydney is truly Sydney’s most exclusive address. Voted one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World; this luxurious property features a Sotheby’s artwork collection and the largest rooms in the city. Every room is a haven of plush, bespoke furnishings amidst soft panelled walls and high ceilings. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city outlook across Sydney. Nestled in the quaint cobble stoned streets hidden in the city, we are located amongst a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city’s most quintessential experiences. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Our iconic Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood features hand-curated gateaux, macarons and savoury delights designed by our in-house Patissier. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Bistro Remy" led by classically French-trained Executive Chef, Dave Whitting. The upscale, neighbourhood bistro contrasts classic technique with modern interpretation, serving reinvented bistro classics. Expect signature dishes such as Twice Cooked Soufflé, Black Ash Tortellini, Pink Snapper Cerviche right through Grainge Angus Beef with Béarnaise Sauce and Frites, Roast Pork with Apple and Duck Confit, all created with love, for a neighbourhood feel. For an indulgent experience into relaxation, join our award winning day spa with rejuvenating treatments & techno-gym facilities. Of course, this includes a few laps on our star-dappled underground pool amongst sandstone pavements for the ultimate spa stay. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney offers relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Featuring facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing