We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel with the service beyond any expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Stunning hotel with the service beyond any expectations”
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Brilliant spa facilities - cleanest swimming pool we've seen, sapphire-turquoise-colored reflections in the water, eucalyptus oil in sauna, rain showers, excellent herbal tea and friendly people all around made for a very pleasant experience.

Even though we are fond of modern style when it comes to the interior design, we found junior executive suite we stayed in to be magnificent and with lots of character, reminding us of The Tzar's Palace rooms (The Hermitage) in St-Petersburg.

Room service was beyond expectations. We ordered main course with an entrée. And, unlike in many hotels, where you find yourself hungry after eating small portions out of big plates - to our complete satisfaction, both portions were huge and tasty! Ceaser salad (with anchovies and the crispiest bacon) is highly recommended! As well as the creme brulee and chocolate mousse, which you can order at any hour of the day or night.

To conclude, The Observatory Hotel is a fantastic place to relax and unwind in the heart of the city, whether you are a Sydney-sider or traveled from far.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XentriX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    259
    95
    33
    40
See reviews for
249
864
85
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Room was very spacious & comfortable with wonderful bathroom amenities! Staff are absolutely 1st class, they went out of their way to be friendly & helpful and it was a pleasure to deal with people that are so well trained. The Globe bar is a fantastic venue too and we spent some very happy hours there!

A wonderful experience all round and my husband and I are looking forward to a return visit sooner rather than later, I coudn't recommend this establishment highly enough.

Suzanne Sheil

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne48Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

I booked a room for my son and his partner as a gift. From the moment my call was taken to organise and pay for their stay until the moment they left the hotel the experience was wonderful. Exceptional customer service - by phone and in person. The room (they stayed in a junior suite with water views) was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and everything had been thought of. Breakfast was superb. Congratulations to the management and staff - my thanks for making their stay so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farside8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

This hotel is purely and simply the best in Sydney (and I have travelled extensively throughout the world). From it's impeccably elegantly furnished interiors you are immediately transported to an oasis of absolute luxury and beauty. It's five star accolades are very well deserved indeed! We treated ourselves to a superb Traditional Afternoon Tea at "Galileo's" and from the moment our taxi arrived at the hotel, we were ushered into the hotel with the upmost courtesy by staff. This high level of service continued right up to the time of our departure. The service we received inside "Galileo's" was even more impressive and the delicious treats and beverages on offer was just to die for!!! It is, without doubt, one of the best places I have ever visited in Sydney and a perfect way to enjoy a leisurely afternoon with friends. It is now on my "wish list" to actually sleep at this glorious hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

The SPA and gym need an update as does the rooms. The restaurant is no longer open for lunch. However, the staff are good and very accommodating. Location is also wonderful for visiting the Rock area. Would recommend other Circular Quay Hotels to visit the area until this one is updated.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VanessaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We had a fantastic time at the Observatory, both humans and our two westies alike.

It was made all the more special by the exceptional location and genuine service.

It's been some time since our last visit to that part of Sydney town but it won't be so until the next.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southern_Family008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

On New Years Eve, my family and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Observaroty Hotel. From the moment we pulled up in our car, the service was exceptional! We are a family of five with an older teenager and two younger children and always require two rooms when travelling. Even with a fold away bed, the rooms were sumptuous and still had plenty of room to move around. The beautiful individual plate of confectionary for our children, with their names written in chocolate was just the start of an amzing level of service.

The location is fantastic - out the front doors and across to The Rocks and Circular Quay, or turn right and head to Darling Harbour only a short walk away.

We came and went throughout the night and the Front of Office staff were patient and still cheerful at 1:30am in the morning. Breakfast the following morning was very well priced and great value for money. It may have been New Years Day, but again the staff were wonderful and my children were made to feel extremely welcome. Children are sometimes just barely tolerated in some hotels - not here! There were a number of breaksfast guests, both young and old and the attention to every single on of those people was first class.
I would highly recommend a stay at this Hotel and look forward to returning next time we are required to be in Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltravelledkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#26 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,190 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing