We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ditto" the previous reviews. Extraordinary hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“"Ditto" the previous reviews. Extraordinary hotel!”
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We stayed last month for 4 nights at the Observatory with our 14-year old daughter, during our first trip to Australia. What an introduction to this wonderful country! We echo the sentiments registered by other recent TA contributors: this hotel's personal service, in particular, is extraordinary. From the planning help of Yvonne to the super ideas on a zoo visit and rental car to the Blue Mountains from concierge Michael, to the gracious breakfast service each morning from Ernesto (what a way to start the day!), to the personalized cookies and hot chocolate for our daughter... Wow! we were so impressed. The consistently attentive, cheerful, and helpful attitude demonstrated throughout our stay was pretty remarkable.

And I haven't even started on the hotel furnishings and accommodations! As noted by other guests, the pool and spa are lovely as are the guest rooms and lobby. Although this hotel doesn't have the views and nightlife of bigger hotels by the water, its intimate, comfortable, and neighborhood feel more than makes up for this and was perfect for us. In fact, we especially loved the neighborhood-style restaurants within a couple of blocks of the hotel. The only suggestion I have is to re-think the wireless access fees. They are exhorbitant and we ended up having to go to an Internet Cafe. Overall, however, we thought the price/value of the Observatory stay was excellent (particularly with breakfast as part of the package)... and we will have lasting memories of our stay in Syndey. (By the way, I have written a thank you to a hotel manager and I have attached this note).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    263
    95
    34
    40
See reviews for
263
902
86
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Although my husband and I travel a lot, I usually don't take the time to write reviews. However, our experience at The Observatory was so extraordinary, I felt compelled to write this review. The service in this hotel is the best I've ever had anywhere in the world. The concierge found interesting and exquisite dining. We forgot some of our clothing at another hotel in the Blue Mountains. They found our clothing, had it shipped to them, then in turn they shipped it back to us in the U. S.! The rooms are beautifully appointed, but the staff makes this place truly one of the best anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treborcollect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

The staff from when we arrived we fantastic. Our room was spacious and comfortable.
The meals from the dining room - we had dinner and breakfast - were delicious, and the staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelmali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

I want this hotel to be my official residence in Sydney - a hotel should look and feel this good. The rooms are large and stately with lovely colonial prints and beautiful furniture and decor that gives the hotel a distinctive Australiana feel. It has an old world, Sydney rocks charm of a bygone era. The hotel is quiet and peaceful, the hustle and bustle of Sydney seems miles away yet are within a short stroll.
The drawing rooms, foyer and bar areas are charming and the staff are exceptional. The gym and pool area are first class.
I loved everything about this hotel. It is more expensive but you get what you pay for. You don't get the stunning views some other hotels offer but staying at a place like this, who cares? I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

This six star Orient Express Hotel is not for the faint hearted when it comes to prices. While I understand you pay a certain premium for "name" and the agreeable location (it's not the best location in Sydney for a hotel but it's not too bad either) a hotel is pushing it by charging $13.50 AUD for a gin and tonic (Gordon's mind you) and $45 AUD for breakfast (and it wasn't a buffet. It was one hot selection from a set menu and a coffee. If I'd wanted a second coffee I'd have to pay extra.)
Don't get me wrong, this is a very comfortable hotel with extremely helpful staff who, if anything, smiled a little too much. However, there is nothing to warrant completely ignoring the concept of a fair price for hotel staples (yes I think gin and tonic is a staple!)
The other downfall was getting a taxi from the hotel. This is where it was a little too quaint. A hotel staffer with a lava lamp (well it looked like a lava lamp) stood in the street and waited for a cab. Being a quiet street he waited. And waited. And waited. I got the impression taxi's don't venture down the Harbour Bridge end of Kent Street all that often. And the hotel must have thought it was beneath then to call a cab. That aside, The Observatory is a little faded. It's a little bit quaint (I'd send my grandmother here to stay and know she'd feel comfortable amongst the wood panelling and the chintz) and it's a little bit boring.
Stay here if you want quiet and you don't care about cost. Stay here if you want hotel staff at your beck and call (there seemed to be more staff than guests).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roserandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The Observatory Hotel is in a good location and is an elegant, comfortable hotel. It is a little bit pretentious but the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was enormous. Views were not as nice as i'd hoped. The breakfast, which was included with our room, was fabulous. If it's not included it's very expensive. The high speed internet was also very expensive and mini bar quite a rip-off. The swimming pool is large and quite a cool relaxing place. And the gym is pretty good too. Overall we really enjoyed the hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in the US
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

If you are staying in Sydney, stay here.

There is little difference between a 4-star and a 5-star hotel in terms of general appearance in my mind. The difference comes from the service and, in this, The Observatory came through in spades. From the moment we walked in the door until to leave five days later when we had to leave, the service was spectacular. The rooms were really well appointed, the shower was *amazing*, the room service was excellent. My only comment, and this probably speaks more to me than to the hotel, but it was the only place in 4 weeks of traveling that I felt a little underdressed - though no one would have dreamt of mentioning it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abates25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
6,338 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,453 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing