We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True classic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a lovely stay for my 30th birthday. It was a wonderful classic hotel in a quiet but convenient location, walking distance from The Rocks and many restaurants. The suite was spacious with a nice balcony. Highlight is definitely the sub-basement pool and facilities. Highly recommended for a short, local city escape.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Jon_Lily

It is a delight to read your wonderful feedback!

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests & building great memories. I am delighted that you left with your own special memories for your birthday. It is great to hear that you also got to experience the tranquil oasis that is the pool & Day Spa and we hope you felt relaxed & rejuvenated!

I’m delighted you were able to take advantage of our location; we too think our location is quite special & gives our guests a residential experience of Sydney and The Rocks.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Birthday weekend, great deal as mystery hotel.
Pre dinner drinks - Lord Nelson Hotel, Dinner - Fish at the Rocks, after dinner drinks back at the Langham - all a very short walk :)
Room, service, everything - incredible!!!!

Room Tip: King beds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacaBonnetBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear MacaBonnetBay,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We do have a very high standard for both customer service and the overall guest experience which I am glad you got to experience during your birthday stay.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Sydney in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for one night to get away after having a minor operation. I have wanted to book myself into this hotel for some time and was lucky to find a Secret deal on Lastminute.com.au which turned out to be the Langham.

I had previously been to the venue for High Tea when it was the Observatory hotel which is has been an all time favourite of mine for High Tea, the Creme Brulee is delish!

I arrived around 1pm after my surgery, check-in was 3pm but the gentleman who's name I did not catch (Tall, asian looking young man) and the rooms were not ready so my friend and I had tea & scones while waiting. My friend quietly told him that I needed somewhere to lay down after surgery and he was able to accommodate me with a room around half an hour later.
When I got to my room, one of the girls even brought me extra bottled water which was great, thank you!

The rooms are luxurious and very Victorian style. They were very clean, the bathroom was very modern with heated towel racks, spa baths and lavender bath salts which I took advantage of! Beds & pillows were a delight.

The only downside I found was that the menu was a little outdated, I ordered a sandwich through room service which was on my menu however when I called the staff member could not find it and I was charged $12 more for it, I was able to sort it out after but it's something that could be fixed.

I'll definitely be back, I would love to organise a girls weekend with high tea & using the day spa!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Naadz,

Thank you very much for the delightful feedback!

We too believe that the hotel exemplifies charm & timeless elegance. We do have a very high standard for both customer service and the overall guest experience which I am glad you got to experience during your stay.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to delivering enchanting encounters. At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We do hope you had a special stay & we wish you a speedy recovery! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Disappointing . Arrived here for 6 nights having just spent a week at Langham Melbourne . This hotel was the observatory under previous owners and there are apparently plans to refurbish it. Perhaps this accounts for the patchy service . Concierges were outstandingly knowledgeable and helpful . Afternoon tea was excellent . Breakfast service was very average . Really expect fresh orange juice for 5 stars ! Twice they tried to pass off carton juice until challenged . Got fed up with stacking our used plates on the table. Pool staff lazy as loungers left with soiled towels and cups long after guests had left . The vacuum cleaner was permanently on view in our corridor for the entire period of our stay . Staff entered our rooms on three occasions without waiting to be admitted . Check out took forever as so many errors on our bill. Feel the place needs a firm hand if it is to live up to the standards at Langham Melbourne . Also a pity that there is no outside space.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear JeJackson,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.

We do have a very high standard for both customer service and our overall guest experience and I am disappointed to hear your experience did not meet your expectations.

It was disappointing to read that your stay fell short and we will work with the staff involved to ensure this is resolved. I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.


Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The Good
1. Well located: in close proximity to The Rocks and Darling Harbour.
2. Good service: concierge and front desk always efficient, knowledgable and native English speaking.
3. Spa & Pool: the best massage I have ever experienced. Warm indoor pool, locker room, sauna, towells available. Must book massages well in advance.
4. Dining: Galileo restaurant outstanding dining ambience and quality food. Must book well in advance. Breakfast is also of very high quality although range is adequate but not expansive.
5. Caters well for children or out of the ordinary requests.
6. In a nice, quiet historic part of town.
7. Room: large, very comfortable beds and furniture, massive bathroom. Definately 5 star.

The Bad
1. The cost: not cheap but certainly a value proposition.
2. Location: slightly away from the CBD centre of action. This can be viewed as both a positive and negative aspect.
3. A bit of an old fashioned hotel. Again, this can be viewed in a positive or negative light.

All in all a class act.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank BentTroyTheRentBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear BentTroyTheRentBoy,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney; it was a delight to read your comments.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable.

I'm pleased you were able to enjoy our Day Spa, it's a serene sanctuary designed to calm and pamper the mind and body and is definitely a favourite among our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham Sydney in the future!

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great Location and Great Place to stay. Enjoyed the experience again at Langham although there has been name change since our previous stay - however they have retained the same excellent customer service, warmth, ambiance etc - we had small hiccups with TV not working or our breakfast request forgotten, but it got sorted out very quickly, with apologies from staff who I cannot fault at all. When we stay at other hotels, we find ourselves always comparing them to the excellent Langham friendly customer service.
The only tip I would give them is to have some more vegetarian choice in their breakfast buffet

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avishukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear avishukla,

It is a pleasure to read your delightful comments & we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Langham, Sydney!

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to delivering enchanting encounters. At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Went there for a 2 day business meeting and the hotel was a great experience. Nicely located, rooms spacious and staff very service minded. The overall service quality is top and they really know how to treat guests there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Stefan P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, they will be pleased to hear they each played a part in making your stay special.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 182 in Sydney
1,467 reviews
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 182 in Sydney
2,651 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darling
#9 of 182 in Sydney
930 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#37 of 182 in Sydney
6,725 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 182 in Sydney
4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $293 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. From stunning Western Harbour facing views to our Historic Rocks district location, The Langham, Sydney is truly Sydney’s most exclusive address. Voted one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World; this luxurious property features a Sotheby’s artwork collection and the largest rooms in the city. Every room is a haven of plush, bespoke furnishings amidst soft panelled walls and high ceilings. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city outlook across Sydney. Nestled in the quaint cobble stoned streets hidden in the city, we are located amongst a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city’s most quintessential experiences. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Our iconic Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood features hand-curated gateaux, macarons and savoury delights designed by our in-house Patissier. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Bistro Remy" led by classically French-trained Executive Chef, Dave Whitting. The upscale, neighbourhood bistro contrasts classic technique with modern interpretation, serving reinvented bistro classics. Expect signature dishes such as Twice Cooked Soufflé, Black Ash Tortellini, Pink Snapper Cerviche right through Grainge Angus Beef with Béarnaise Sauce and Frites, Roast Pork with Apple and Duck Confit, all created with love, for a neighbourhood feel. For an indulgent experience into relaxation, join our award winning day spa with rejuvenating treatments & techno-gym facilities. Of course, this includes a few laps on our star-dappled underground pool amongst sandstone pavements for the ultimate spa stay. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney offers relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Featuring facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing