We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but little costly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were fortunate (like others it seems) to have our booking upgraded to a junior suite at no extra charge.

Like other reviewers we found the level of service excellent. From room service to dinner and breakfast staff were attentive, friendly and very helpful (without exception).

The hotel is classy but unpretentious and just a short stroll (10-15 minutes) away from Circular Quay (it was nice to be in a relatively quiet area but still be so close to the heart of this beautiful city).

I think we've been well and truly spoilt now and when we return to this great city i think it would be hard to find a more relaxing and charming hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivanRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear VivanRaj,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read your feedback!

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests & building great memories. I am delighted that you left with your own special memories. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to exceeding our guests’ expectations.

I’m delighted you were able to take advantage of our location; we too think our location is quite special & gives our guests a residential experience of Sydney and The Rocks.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

969 - 975 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

We got a great deal and stayed 2 nights recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is only three floors high and is located in a quieter street at Millers Point very close to the Rocks. A pleasant change from the big multi-storey hotels! It is away from the hustle and bustle of the busy CBD but still within easy walking distance. There is a real village atmosphere in this area and we loved it! Little cafes and restaurants nearby, tennis court and parks across the road, historic terraces opposite, bus stop around the corner and the harbour at the end of the street all make this a really special place. All hotel staff were professional, polite and friendly. They could not do enough to help. Our room on the city side overlooked the local area and was very pleasant. We felt we were in a quiet suburb of Sydney not in the centre of the city! It was very relaxing. The room was very spacious, clean and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was amazing! The buffet breakfast was absolutely delicious - plenty of choice and nicely presented. Freshly squeezed orange juice was served at the tables. The pool and spa would have to be one of the best in Sydney. Make sure you have a swim or go to relax! Great views from Observatory Park on the hill opposite, especially at sunset. Make sure you go exploring - its an easy walk to Darling Harbour, the Rocks, the Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay and there's so much to see and enjoy! The bus at the end of Argyle St takes you right down George St to the Town Hall and Central. We will definitely stay here again. We loved it!

Room Tip: City view rooms are great too! You can enjoy the harbour from the piers and local parks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerryandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear KerryandDave,

It is a pleasure to read your delightful comments & we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your returning stay at The Langham, Sydney!

We too believe that the hotel exemplifies charm & timeless elegance. We do have a very high standard for both customer service and the overall guest experience which I am glad you got to experience during your stay. It is also lovely to hear you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms of which are the largest guest rooms in Sydney.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable & I am glad that you leave with your own special memories!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Wishing to repeat our Langham London experience we booked for the Christmas themed Tiffin High Tea at the Langham Sydney. Prices were similar to London but with the advantage of the figure being in Australian dollars, not pounds Sterling.
I must be getting really old because on each occasion on which I phoned I was asked to for my first name by the young attendant to enable the conversation to continue. That's not Langham-like, nor the norm in other Sydney hotels of grander stature.
Having surmounted that hurdle & arrived at the restaurant ( in which I have previously enjoyed dining) we were shown to a pleasant table by an friendly waiter who took our order & in due course tea arrived (weak) & after a short delay our tiered stash of lovely looking eats were presented. Sandwiches were delightful, scones flat & tough, jam & cream minuscule,panna cotta yummy, macarons showing age & some nice chocolate dipped puddingy things.
Attendance by staff had vaporized & on the point of walking up to the bar we were finally able to get a refill of beverages.
Not what we expected & not worth repeating. I will wait for London again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank miserygutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear miserygutz,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

I was disappointed to read to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

I have brought your feedback to the attention of our Food & Beverage Manager, who has begun implementing processes to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 6 Dec to 10 Dec 2013. Overall, I can say that we were not impressed with the hotel taken into consideration the huge price we paid.

THE GOOD
1) Located in The Rocks area, near major Sydney attractions such as Harbor Bridge and Opera.
2) The rooms were kept clean at all times.
3) Beds are comfortable and super large (I've never seen a bed this size in my life!). Great pillows as well. The large and well equipped bathroom is also a plus.
4) Well equipped fitness and nice internal pool (although I have not tried it).
5) Staff is friendly and eager to help, good concierge information and advice.
6) Nice and comfy looking overall, traditional style.

THE BAD
1) I have been in many 5 stars hotels over the world but this one is extremely pricey with a very low value for money overall.
2) Rooms look a bit old and the carpet being worn + lamps are not helping to the image either. Parts of the walls in our room were dirty or stained. The hotel also smells like an old and decrepit building.
3) Very far from any public transportation (bus or train) and when we left for the airport we needed to walk over 500m with our luggage to get to the nearest train station (roads are extremely busy during top hours and taxi could take an eternity in Sydney, so train is the only option).
4) WiFi is not entirely free...it is true that you can become a member and subscribe to their database and you will get free WiFi, however this creates an additional step.
5) I was astonished to find that they charge Credit Card fee to their already inflated prices!
6) Surroundings are not nice, hotel is located on a very small, ordinary and obscure road, in front of constructions.
7) Far from any good restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Alexandru S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be highly attentive. As you point out, our location whilst not right in the heart of the city is quite lovely. The tree lined Kent Street and the heritage housing of the area has a lovely ambience and is always very peaceful.

I acknowledge that we are not the lowest price for a Sydney 5 star hotel, however our goal is to deliver good value for money through the luxury surrounds and highly attentive service and I was pleased to read that we met your expectations here.

Since taking over the hotel, we have made every effort to make many improvements to infrastructure within the hotel and have upgraded many air conditioning units, in room entertainment and wireless internet. We are committed to continuing these investments to better our guest experience.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.


Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife & I stayed for 4 nights recently in a Junior Suite. This was our first visit to this hotel since it changed from its days as the Observatory. After having stayed at the Langham in Melbourne we were expecting a similar standard in the Langham in Sydney. We were very disappointed as it appears nothing has been done to the hotel since its rebranding as a "Langham" hotel. The Langahm in Melbourne is a first class hotel, not so for its Sydney sister. The hotel is tired, carpets worn in many places, wall paper peeling off, paint dirty and discoloured, the list just goes on.

The poor standard of the hotel is partly made up for by the service provided by the team of excellent staff who were always so helpful and pleasant, especially the concierge team.

We also were disappointed with the standard of breakfast, poor selection and quality of food, especially the fruit. Room servicing was another area in which the hotel fell down. We returned to our room one evening only to find that it and been serviced. A quick call and it was attended to, however it should not have been presented in the manner that it was.

Our room was sold as a Junior suite, however in reality it was only a large room, not a suite at all.

Location was poor, a long walk into the CBD or to the closest train. If the weather was poor, it would not be possible to walk at all.

Finally, opposite our room was a major construction site. On Saturday morning when we were expecting to have a lay in, we were disturbed by the sound of jack hammers. In other situations like this, I have found the hotel web site warns guests of the construction activities so they can make an informed decision on whether to book or not. There was no such warning in this case which I find unprofessional. Clearly, the hotel knew that by making such a statement they would likely lose business, however good establishment offering good customer service would do so. As I said, others do, so why not the Langham?

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear rustycycle,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. It was disappointing to read that your stay fell short. As a company, we pride ourselves on extending the best service and hospitality to our guests and I would personally like to follow up with you on your experience with us.

Can I trouble you to email me at sonia.lefevre@langhamhotels.com so that we can discuss this further.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I booked through wotif.com and was surprised to get such a great hotel at the "mystery rate".
The room was beautifully appointed and the bed gap heavenly comfortable.
All staff I came in contact with were extremely friendly and helpful and not too stuffy as is often the case with 5-star hotel team members...would definitely stay again and soon....!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Travellor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Travellor69,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read your feedback!

We too believe that the hotel exemplifies charm & timeless elegance. We do have a very high standard for both customer service & the overall guest experience which I am glad you got to experience during your stay.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Cracking hotel staff are amazingly friendly (except the Chinese girl that works in the bar / cream tea area) lots of lovely extras in the room and a nice 10 minute walk to main parts of Sydney (Circular Quay) or just 15 mins to Darling Harbour, rooms are lovely too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear AlanSussex,

It is a pleasure to read your delightful comments & we are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at The Langham, Sydney!

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to delivering enchanting encounters & exceeding our guests’ expectations. We are happy to hear that you got to make your own special memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Sydney in the future!

Best Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,387 reviews
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
6,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
2,584 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
4,511 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $269 - $729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. From stunning Western Harbour facing views to our Historic Rocks district location, The Langham, Sydney is truly Sydney’s most exclusive address. Voted one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World; this luxurious property features a Sotheby’s artwork collection and the largest rooms in the city. Every room is a haven of plush, bespoke furnishings amidst soft panelled walls and high ceilings. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city outlook across Sydney. Nestled in the quaint cobble stoned streets hidden in the city, we are located amongst a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city’s most quintessential experiences. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Our iconic Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood features hand-curated gateaux, macarons and savoury delights designed by our in-house Patissier. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Bistro Remy" led by classically French-trained Executive Chef, Dave Whitting. The upscale, neighbourhood bistro contrasts classic technique with modern interpretation, serving reinvented bistro classics. Expect signature dishes such as Twice Cooked Soufflé, Black Ash Tortellini, Pink Snapper Cerviche right through Grainge Angus Beef with Béarnaise Sauce and Frites, Roast Pork with Apple and Duck Confit, all created with love, for a neighbourhood feel. For an indulgent experience into relaxation, join our award winning day spa with rejuvenating treatments & techno-gym facilities. Of course, this includes a few laps on our star-dappled underground pool amongst sandstone pavements for the ultimate spa stay. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney offers relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Featuring facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing