We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best hotel I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #7 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the bag guy to concierge to reception these guys have got a really lovely formula for hotel management.
There was a lovely little plate in our room with petit fours and a "happy birthday" to my girlfriend. The bed was the most solid and a king size all in one ( not 2 singles pushed together like the Hilton) with beautiful pillows to suit snorers and light sleepers.
The little takeaway slippers and the water pressure in the shower and the best quality tv with free wifi. Man this was the best experience.
Waking up to light closed off completely allowing us a sleep in, lovely balcony doors opening onto the quaintest Victorian terraces.
Easy stroll to the rocks and town for eating out. And to top it off the concierge gave us an umbrella as it might rain.
Definitely coing back tithe langham.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter whether you get a city facing or a Barbour room, they both offer a unique experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trikemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Langham, Sydney.

It is always a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,089 - 1,095 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for an evening to get away from it all even though we only live a 10 minute drive away. The hotel has old school charm with excellent service tucked only a few minutes away from the busy endless hum of the city CBD streets. High Tea served for afternoon tea is always good with a great selection of teas & champas. Service is always there if you need it but never intrusive.
We stayed for the night in a harbour view room which was a decent size with a good large bathroom. The bed felt a little old but was still comfy, views are now overlooking the large developments expanding Darling Harbour but there was no noise on the weekend and the views are still currently uninterrupted. The pool doesnt have any views but was very clean with a nice big joining spa. Our package included an 8 course degustation dinner which was excellent, the joining bar has a nice hum to it with a great bar tender/cocktail maker. Well worth the extra $ if you dont want to stay in just another hotel and experience some proper service and hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nofxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our Executive Chef, Anthony Craven. He will be happy to hear his food was thoroughly enjoyed!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at the Langham for the first time for two nights in June.

I chose the Langham specifically for its proximity to a business conference I was attending at Pier One. Its location for that purpose was ideal. I will, however, use it again regardless of where I need to be in the city.

The Hotel does have an old world style which may not be to everyone's taste but I found it a created a wonderful atmosphere which would be particularly conducive to relaxed recreational visits.

I had a really spacious room and bathroom (I was in a King Bed Room overlooking Kent Street #133). My room was well appointed, spotlessly clean and in a good state of repair (I note others have commented on defects - I didn't experience any). The bathroom had a full sized bath, large shower and, for couples, the benefit of two wash basins. I really enjoyed the fact that my room had a small balcony with a door I could open so I could get fresh air. Despite being on the street side I found the room totally quiet (when I had the balcony door closed).

I didn't eat in for any meals but did briefly use the bar which was again spacious, comfortable and well appointed.

So, I found the accommodation itself very good and good value at Sydney prices (I paid $295 per night).

The service was standout. I found everyone smiling, courteous and efficient from the concierge, to reception, to the bar staff and to the gentleman from engineering who arrived within 3 minutes when I found the padlock on my suitcase had jammed shut. With bolt cutters and a smile he resolved my predicament in no time. This is equal to the best service experiences I have encountered in any hotel Australia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, they will be pleased to hear they each played a part in making your stay special.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked a last minute mystery deal and were happy with the outcome.

Hotel is very clean and rooms are spacious. Hotel staff are welcoming and friendly.

Loved the pillow menu!!!

Pool and Day Spa facilities are immaculate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absolutlynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear absolutlynat,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded and you have a great memory of your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed from 16-18/06/2013. Only knew it by its former name "The Observatory" and by its great former reputation. Stayed in a better then expected large room, king bed, stunning bathroom and a stunning Hotel. The staff were excellent to say the least. The buffet breakfast was a great meal and the resutant in Gallieo was excellent. The hotel is old world charm and is still wedll kepot by Langhams.
The bed was a disappointment as it may need replacement due to starting to sag, otherwise it was not too bad. Very large bedroom looking onto Darling Harbour and was a very quite room.

My wife and I will try be trying to go back and will use the Langham. I notice that Meriton World Tower is Sydney number 1. We stayed there last time 2011 in a 3 x king bedcroom apartment and it was also excellent but nothing like the Langham. If you are a couple and want real qauality stay at the Langham. The Langham is totally a different expeirence as you will meet many top staff and do not miss breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackboycreek58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

It is always a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our team.

The Langham, Sydney is looking forward to introducing the signature Langham Blissful beds soon. These bespoke Simmons Beautyrest Mattresses with a tailor-made feather-topper will be a welcome change to our hotel, and one we know our guests will love.

We look forward to welcoming back on your return to Sydney.

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Langham in Sydney for one night and finally found the perfect replacement for my past many years at the Ritz Carlton in Macquarie street which is now gone and poor management cannot revive its wonderful memories. This Hotel has the service and environment to be the next home away from home and I would recommend to all my Melbourne business colleagues as the preferred option in Sydney.
Dear management, don't let this wonderful legacy down, please replace your scratched and heavily worn room service trays, this is not a good look, I can recommend a supplier if need be, with that said however I was pleased that my room service waiter "set up" my dinner on the table, added an orchid, laid out cutlery and condiments, I have not seen this level of room service in years, and can I say your menu is well priced for the quality.

Also, as with another review, please, please consider the bathroom amenities, these are not the level I would expect from your wonderful establishment, think Aesop, Aveda, Crabtree and Evelyn or The White Company the list goes on, but they are more deserving of your hotel brand.

Just a thought

I will be back for extended stays

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Malcolm,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the relevant department heads.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Sydney on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip to Sydney. From the very first step inside the premises you know you w in for a luxury experience. The staff are wonderful and never before have I been asked by the check in staff if I would like to be escorted to my room. The room was spacious and the amenities were excellent quality. The little touches like bath salts next to the bathtub and heated towel rail are things you do not experience in five star hotels. I had breakfast in the hotel, and the level of detail was exceptional. To have the waiter deliver my breakfast and address me by name shows that they really care and go that extra mile to make you feel comfortable. I stay in Sydney quite regularly, and this is now my new preferred hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read your feedback!

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable. Our most regular guests tell us they return to the hotel as they are made to feel like they are at their luxury Sydney home, and I am delighted to hear you had the same homely experience during your stay.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 180 in Sydney
1,413 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 180 in Sydney
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#35 of 180 in Sydney
6,633 reviews
The Darling
#4 of 180 in Sydney
916 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 180 in Sydney
4,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $266 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. From stunning Western Harbour facing views to our Historic Rocks district location, The Langham, Sydney is truly Sydney’s most exclusive address. Voted one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World; this luxurious property features a Sotheby’s artwork collection and the largest rooms in the city. Every room is a haven of plush, bespoke furnishings amidst soft panelled walls and high ceilings. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city outlook across Sydney. Nestled in the quaint cobble stoned streets hidden in the city, we are located amongst a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city’s most quintessential experiences. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Our iconic Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood features hand-curated gateaux, macarons and savoury delights designed by our in-house Patissier. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Bistro Remy" led by classically French-trained Executive Chef, Dave Whitting. The upscale, neighbourhood bistro contrasts classic technique with modern interpretation, serving reinvented bistro classics. Expect signature dishes such as Twice Cooked Soufflé, Black Ash Tortellini, Pink Snapper Cerviche right through Grainge Angus Beef with Béarnaise Sauce and Frites, Roast Pork with Apple and Duck Confit, all created with love, for a neighbourhood feel. For an indulgent experience into relaxation, join our award winning day spa with rejuvenating treatments & techno-gym facilities. Of course, this includes a few laps on our star-dappled underground pool amongst sandstone pavements for the ultimate spa stay. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney offers relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Featuring facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing