We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We loved this hotel. Outstanding location (in the Rocks), very refined and professional management, large rooms. We also got a very good price, booking via Orbitz. Highly recommended and we will return to this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    255
    94
    32
    40
See reviews for
241
831
84
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite on check in. We did have a problem with the sofa bed but it was fixed while we were out for the evening in the quiet, efficient manner that you find with the staff at Langham Hotels. This is the old Observatory Hotel re-branded as a Langham and it has that old world comfort in the furnishings and room sizes. The only grizzle I would have is that the breakfast room is too small. We had to wait 20 minutes for a table. The selection is good and the service excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1redgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent two lovely weeks here (wedding anniversary). Our suite was spacious, very clean and most comfortable which was great to come to after a long day of sightseeing. The service from all staff was outstanding, friendly, polite and prompt. Breakfast was always an event to look forward to; from the gorgeous, delicious food to the great staff. We will return!

Room Tip: Walking distance to the Opera House, Observatory, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex333W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose this hotel for our wedding anniversary stay as our first overnight stay was great. We upgraded to a suite this time and this added to the overall experience of staying in what must be considered as one of the best hotels, if not, the best hotel in Sydney. The service we received from the greeting, through to showing us to our room, the breakfast staff and checkout was the best I have received in any hotel. The standard rooms are tasteful, spacious and very clean and the suites go up one notch further. Due to the location, it is so much quieter than other hotels and sleeping in a strange bed was not a problem, as it quite often can be when travelling. Our wedding anniversary celebration was made so much more memorable as a result of staying here and we will definitley be back again anytime we are staying in the city overnight.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the 3rd floor suites - well worth it ,especially if you are staying for multiple n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel_boik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, null, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

The guys on the reception takes good care of you so you feel like home.Very courteous and happy to serve customers. What an excellent customer service that makes the Langham plus.! As a Travel counsellor and specialist in their hotel worlwide this one really treats me well with flowers and wine when I arrive in my room.Location was not that great but overall experience it was amazing! Thank you Langham Sydney!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not the best location* in Sydney but more than makes up for this with excellent service, great rooms and good facilities. The rooms are tastefully furnished, large and comfortable. Highlight fo us was a great breakfast every morning. The breakfast room has a lovely ambience and is staffed with helpful, cheerful people. By the second day, many staff remembered our name and preferences. The location, while not ideal, is an easy walk to the restaurants of The Rocks and a reasonable walk to the city shops and Darling Harbour.

Room Tip: Corner suite on top floor has a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My partner and I were given a gift of a night at the langham hotel. You like us might wonder where it is. It is in the Rocks and what an experience we had. From the time we arrived the service was like nothing I have experienced. They greeted us at the car, took our luggage parked the car and escorted us to reception. At reception we were asked what time we would like to check out, 1.30pm was fine. Up. To the room which was enormous, great view, great linen and enormous bathroom. We went down to the pool and gym which were also fantastic. Had a spa and a sauna, towels, lemon water and herbal tea supplied. The rocks is five minutes away so off we went to explore. The next morning breakfast at the hotel, again the service was second to none and the food fantastic, I will definitely back.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,998 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing