We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Absolutely outstanding from the minute we pulled up in the car until the minute we left. I have never stayed anywhere where I felt so comfortable and so at home. The staff here from the Duty Manager (Douglas) to the lady that turns down the beds and the Concierge's always genuinely made us feel welcome and the facilities and the food backed it all up ( best poached eggs ever for breakfast). most of us are usually fairly quick to pass judgement but this made establishment made a night away into a memory for my wife and me.
Thank you
The Langham

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that you delightful time whilst staying at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team of people and they are committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

I will be sure to pass your feedback onto Douglas and our Concierge, I'm sure they will be pleased to know they played a role in making your stay so special.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Kind regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,810)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Everything about this stay was perfect - staff were polite, attentive and knowledgable, food was consistently delicious, location was beautiful and the day spa was so relaxing - and our canine companion was able to stay with us. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 472anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

I am so pleased you were able to take advantage of our Pampered Pets Programme, we are proud to be the only luxury hotel in Sydney that is pet friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! Everything about our time at the Langham was first class. A beautiful, boutique style hotel with professional and friendly staff. When my wife and I arrived at check-in we were greated with a warm welcome and immediately informed that the room would not be ready for about 10 minutes. The staff provided us with a drink while we waited and a room upgrade (the drink would have been enough but we are definitely not complaining!!!). The Langham Suite we stayed in was spacious with elegant decor. We enjoyed a pre-dinner drink in the bar with piano playing in the corner and enjoyable conversation with the bar staff.
The worst thing about our stay was having to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that you delightful time whilst staying at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team of people and they are committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Kind regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed one night prior to the start of our 5 week overseas trip and it was wonderful. We did receive an upgrade to a Junior Suite and the room was large, well furnished and had all the little things. But it was not only the room, the staff and service also made this an extremely enjoyable experience. Breakfast was in our rate and was extremely good. I have stayed in most of the 5 star hotels in Sydney, and this was definitely one of the very best.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CORCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We do have very high standard for both customer service and our overall guest experience, and I am pleased to hear your experience exceeded your expectations.

I will be sure to share your complements to our Executive Chef, Anthony Craven. I am sure he will be delighted to hear his breakfasts were thoroughly enjoyed.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Langham prior to our flight home to the U.K. after 4 weeks in Australia.

It was a lovely finish to a great holiday. We had a harbour view room, with great views towards Darling Harbour (spectacular at night), though for a couple of days the daytime view was kind of dominated by P&O cruise ships moored at the terminal in front of the Hotel, However, these ships had disappeared by 5 pm both days.

The room was simply gorgeous. Very luxuriously furnished & extremely comfortable. The marble bathroom being particularly impressive.

We had stayed at the Melbourne Langham on our arrival in Australia & were so impressed we had decided on the Sydney Langham to end our holiday. I'm glad to say we weren't disappointed.

The Pool & Spa are very impressive, & we enjoyed our refreshing swims after a tiring day footslogging round the Sydney sights. It was also reassuring to have the knowledge that we were coming back to a quiet room where you knew you would have a restful nights sleep.

The Sydney Hotel is quite different to the Melbourne one, but they are both exceptional places to stay - not least because of the friendliness of the staff.

Finally, the location of the Langham is ideal - an easy walk to either the Rocks & Circular Quay (where all the ferries depart) or Darling Harbour with all it's attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded and you have a great memory of your time with us.

I'm also pleased you acknowledged our pool in The Day Spa, its peaceful ambience makes it the perfect place to escape, and is definitely a favourite among our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a night at the Langham, Sydney recently. The staff were so friendly, engaging and genuinely customer focussed. We loved the boutique nature of the hotel. The rooms were beautful and we were lucky enogh to have a verandah off our room which was lovely. The spa and swimming pool facilities were also superb.
The only small critique was the full-breakfast. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and helpful. I was slight;y disappointed in the variety of hot food available as well as the quality of the eggs and bacon (over cooked). Coffee was superb.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the moment you arrive till the minute you leave, you will love the luxury and elegance of the Langham. The Langham itself is beautiful, very elegant, stylish and beautiful. On entering there is a beautiful scent of fresh flowers, and the surroundings are beautiful, plenty of places to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet. The staff are just lovely, they are so genuine and caring, so very willing to do anything to make sure your stay is everything you want, and they genuinely seemed intent on making sure your stay is fantastic. We have stayed in other Sydney hotels, of lesser rating, where staff have been quite aloof and condescending, intimidating even, so it was extremely refreshing to stay somewhere where you were made to feel welcome and at home. Our room was huge, again, very luxurious and beautiful. The bed is huge and so very, very comfortable. The bathroom is gorgeous, loved the bath and there were even bath salts to use. Breakfast was lovely, quiet and peaceful, great food and coffee, wonderful service, and able to linger as long as you like.The hotel is beautiful, serene and luxurious, and the lovely, attentive staff complement it so well. The price was not that much different than other Sydney hotels we have stayed at, but the difference in the experience we had was massive. We will definitely be returning again and we would recommend everyone stay at the Langham, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room was a basic room overlooking the street, but it was fine - large and little to no noise fr...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Diane,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team, they will be pleased to hear they each played a part in making your stay special.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 178 in Sydney
2,517 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $276 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing