We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Langham, Sydney
Nearby Hotels
$230
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$186
$134
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$234
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$229
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$191
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$248
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$177
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,048)
Filter reviews
2,048 results
Traveler rating
1,581
291
96
37
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,581
291
96
37
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservatory hotelhigh teabeautiful hotelrocks areacircular quayjunior suitekent streetquiet streetsteam roomturn down serviceindoor poolpillow menubeautiful roomrooms are largefive star hotelharbour viewan easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,342 - 1,347 of 2,048 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

In favour of The Langham there were personal touches such as petit four in the room also complimentary water - these were appreciated.

We have visited the Langham when it was the Observatory, many times. Had functions, birthdays,anniversary and other special events, and have recently (before our stay) recommended to friends for functions and accommodation. It is now the Langham. Despite having a letter from The Langham setting out terms - given at reception. We encountered difficulties with GUARANTEED late check out - a call to our room in the morning asking when we were checking out and indicating we hadn't asked for it and they were fully booked and it was up to them! Afternoon tea - didn't advise we had to book. Key card to get to our room cancelled so couldn't get back in. All of these items could have been communicated on the letter. In addition I purchased a gift from Langham Shop to be dilivered to the room it wasn't. On complaining I was firstly told it was the travel providers fault! I poiinted out that the hotel had given me the letter and NOT the provider. I found general lack of training and professionalism. In addition why add pink ribbons etc which I understand is peculiar to The Langham, which clash dreadfully with the wonderful decor already in place! Breakfast was mediocre and for a five star establishment it just didn't cut it.

Having said the above I will say that the wait staff and the food in Galileo was wonderful. The wait staff in the bar were also very help[ful. These I believe were staff in place when Langham took over.

Would I visit again, probably not unless I hear it has improved considerably.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chooseygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

I was disappointed to read to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

I have brought your feedback to the attention of our Front Office Manager, who has begun implementing processes to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife & I chose to stay at this hotel on our wedding night. As Sydney siders we rarely stay at a hotel in our own city, but we are glad we did. With everything one does for their wedding you really want to nail your choice so that everything is just perfect and memorable. The Langham continued our perfect wedding day with an elegant place to rest after a long but wonderful day.

Everything is done tastefully. The lobby is lovely and our Waterview suite was very spacious and just gorgeous in every way. Waking up to a lovely romantic breakfast with my wife was the highlight. Great service, lovely food and a hotel that keeps the period charm like no other. We'll be back when we next have an overnight stay in town for a show or just to relive the glamour of this hidden gem.

Everything's within walking distance and there is no traffic noise outside the hotel. It's the perfect oasis no matter what your business is in our beautiful harbour city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is a delight to hear that we were able to play a part in making your wedding day particularly special with our enchanting hospitality and leaving you with wonderful memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good points: location, staff friendly and helpful. Extras in bathroom, like a loofah, body scrub and a huge bath. Good air conditioning on the hottest day ever recorded in Sydney. Free Wifi. Excellent poached eggs (specially ordered) fresh orange juice and pancakes for breakfast. Great espressos. Turn down service and slippers. Old world charm. Great martinis in the bar.
Not so good points: rooms above carpark so reversing trucks beeping early in Saturday morning. WiFi did not work on far side of bedroom. Mini bar not restocked. Tepid lumpy scrambled eggs and cold dry, chewey bacon on the buffet at breakfast. Rooms near service lift so noise heard constantly.
Would we go there again? Probably, would request different rooms but are keen to see other accommodation options in the area.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Simla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us. However I was dissappointed to read the issues that you had at the hotel and I will pass on your feedback to the relevant department heads.

I acknowledge that our WiFi doesn't offer the best coverage at the moment, however upgrades are taking place and will be completed by the end of this month.

I am also pleased to announce we have appointed Anthony Craven as our new Executive Chef. Anthony is currrently working on improving our menus in both Globe Bar and Galileo Restaurant.

These are all welcome changes which we know that our guests will truly enjoy.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time in Sydney and what a great location!! Quiet street, close to everything, walking distance to the rocks. Staff are very professional yet friendly. Room was spacious, very comfortable bed, great shower/bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A two night special on wotif found us this Sydney gem. Fabulous location, walk to the Quay and Darling Harbour. Gorgeous old building in excellent condition, large comfortable rooms with no noise from the city or other guests whatsoever. A little bit of old fashioned grandeur, but without pretensions. The swimming pool is worth the visit in its own right. The restuarant is first class, and for the fare, is reasonably priced. What made the Langham special however was the wonderful staff. They are one and all exceptional. Cheerful, friendly, full of excellent advice of the hotel and surrounds, you don't find service like this often. Explain Sydney's bus lanes, provide an unberella for a scorcher of a day: no problem. On our second night we took the concierge's advice to dine at the Lord Nelson, the pub 100 metres down the road. Not only the oldest pub in Australia but a place to visit in itself. Great food and wine at good prices. We will stay at the Langham again when next we visit Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We do have very high standard for both customer service and our overall guest experience, and I am pleased to hear your experience exceeded your expectations.

I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of our location, we think this our location is quite special and gives our guests a residential experience of Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews