We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Langham, Sydney
Nearby Hotels
$228
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$234
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$175
$120
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$154
$131
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
InterContinental Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$173
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,048)
Filter reviews
2,048 results
Traveler rating
1,581
291
96
37
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,581
291
96
37
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservatory hotelhigh teabeautiful hotelrocks areacircular quayjunior suitekent streetquiet streetsteam roomturn down serviceindoor poolpillow menubeautiful roomrooms are largefive star hotelharbour viewan easy walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,365 - 1,370 of 2,048 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked through a mystery selection on Wot-if website and scored the Langham in Kent St Sydney. The hotel was excellent. Typical 5 star facility with very pleasant staff to greet us and valet parking and all the regular services you would expect. We were going to the ballet at the Opera house the night we booked and it was a very pleasant walk through the Rocks and around Circular Quay. The hotel room was very spacious and the bathroom excellent with all the facilities you could think of. Being a slight novice to 5 star hotels we found this experience very special and well worth staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kryton4k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and welcoming
The rooms are spacious
The bathrooms are gorgeous
The housekeeping staff are very polite and perfect everything from making your bed twice daily, tidying the bathroom, stocking guest amenities to placing your slippers by your bedside and providing complementary bottled water for the evening!!!
The pool is stunning and the balcony view is breath taking.
One complaint is the Resturant downstairs, if your starving then I suggest you go else wear as the portions are small, there isn't a big menu selection and it is pricey.. My partner ordered room service straight after the meal.
Overall we have enjoyed our stay and would definately return. Most enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktsv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

We pride ourselves at Langham Hotels on building great memories for our guests and it certainly sounds like you have a wonderful memory of your time with us.

I will be sure to pass your feedback regarding your meal at the hotel to our kitchen team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Kind regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for a night as a pre-Christmas treat and mainly to have some spa treatments. We both had a 1 1/2 hr massage and I had a facial. My therapist was very ordinary and did not give an effective treatment for either which was very disappointing given the cost. I left written feedback on check out and asked to be contacted but never heard from the hotel. There are many good 5* spas in Sydney so I am happy to take my business elsewhere but was surprised they didn't want constructive feedback from a guest.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have loved staying at the Langham in Auckland and Melbourne. Their staff actually seem happy to be there and want to help make your stay enjoyable. Walking in is like entering a calm haven. Happy to say its the same at the Langham in Sydney. The hotel is in a great location, only 5 min walk to the Rocks. The hotel is due for a refit ( mid or late 2013 apparently) and some of the decor is a bit dated. However it still retains a sense of style and charm. We look forward to visiting again after the refit. Oh... And when the concierge says he doesn't recommend the airport shuttle, listen to him!! Wise chap....

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out over the harbour
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnKnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us as much as your past experiences in Auckland and Melbourne.

Like our sister hotels, we have a wonderful team of staff at The Langham, Sydney. They are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Ok -- I stay in a lot of hotels and that makes me really objective about the properties I stay in. I have seen all there is to see in terms of fancy marble counters with gilded edge-work. I've tasted the best food and felt the softest linens.. You could say I'm a bit travel hardened - some would say jaded.. but nothing has ever happened to me such as that, which happened on my arrival here.

We flew privately from Singapore to Sydney by way of Ayer's Rock.. (Ayers is lovely for a 3 hour daytrip btw) we landed late and headed to the Langham (formerly the Observatory). On check-in there was a very gracious Indian night manager named Bhavin who helped us to our room.

We checked into the Presidential Suite (in additional 2 bedroom configuration) of this lovely older low rise property with comforting finishings which reminded us of the Peninsula in Beverly Hills. No sooner had the bags hit the ground in the adjoining children's room than a large cockroach was spotted on the floor. Bhavin dutifully exterminated the insect and after a chuckle we moved on. Cockroaches are a part of life in the tropics and you can't get too hung up on them.

Well in the next 10 minutes 2 more roaches appeared.. then 3 more.. then 2 more. Soon the children are screaming and think they're living a movie scene from "Men in Black" as roaches are scurrying from all corners. Without embelishment, I have never to this day seen anything like it anywhere.

We're exhausted because its late.. the kids soon pass out on the couch.. The children's mother and I retire to the cross-living master room, and the bed is "wet". Not humid, not damp, but borderline "wet".. we try to tuft the comforter, we try to shake the feeling but neither of us can sleep.. Then we start having trouble breathing.. wheezing and plugged noses. An hour into our stay (at 3am) we've gotten up, booked a room (any room available during christmas without a reservation) at another property, and we're packing to leave. We spent 1.5 hours in the suite.

The hotel staff were most gracious and understanding about the circumstances.. they helped us remove our bags and we tipped them well for their trouble. They told us that they too saw the offending insects, (which continued to spill from the wall till we left). The moisture was pronounced and the whole experience left us feeling poltergeist/twilight-zone like. There is no way to describe it - but suffice it to say that the Presidential Suite of this hotel was extremely "wet" and roach-infested during our December 2012 arrival.

I booked this hotel based entirely on the 600 trip advisor ratings we read and have honestly - truly now - "NEVER" experienced anything like this in a hotel stay.

The service during our short time was perfect and flawless and we thank the building managers and staff for permitting us to leave the property without charge, and acknowledging the gravity/severity of what is surely a one-off oddball experience in an otherwise lovely property. Can't fault the people. The property here was possessed.

Room Tip: I had a bad one-off experience on the 3rd floor presidential suite, which was very "wet". Avoid that one room and you may do better.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank theLuckiestGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

Further to the follow up correspondence we have had in the past few days, we were very suprised to hear of your experience in The Observatory Suite. This is the first time that we have heard this experience from a guest of the hotel.

Yes, cockroaches are a part of life in the tropics and particularly during the hot and humid summer weather, the flying coachroaches are plentiful in Sydney. Our only thoughts is that these most unwelcome of guests came in through some of the terraces on the 3rd floor or balconies. This is a possible explanation as we do maintain a strict pest control schedule here at the hotel and the highest standards of cleanliness.

I do hope that despite this, you may come and experience The Langham, Sydney in the future. The experience that you had with our staff in the short time is a reflection of the wonderful service that we offer here at The Langham, Sydney.

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews