We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world comfort,with single pane front windows!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here many years ago and so far very little has changed.
House keeping is very good with an excellent turn down.
The Chinese bathroom products are very poor, and the water pressure to the huge bath miserable.
Newspapers in the comfortable lounge but delivery was not offered at check in.
The hotel is used for many meetings so public areas are often taken over at guest expense.

The big draw back is that the bedroom windows onto the passing traffic and building works are not sound proofed in any way. Not even well sealed. This also lets in the heat.
Langham club (the 1865) offers little.
At least there is usually a doorman.

The hotel is not attractive on the outside and is only well placed for the "Rocks" area really.

The pool is excellent but the changing room with ? a hundred lockers has only room for two people at a time and was not clean enough.

We ate no meals as there are plenty of places near by.

Room Tip: Try the back rooms for quiet stay?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great hotel and charming atmosphere! In a quiet part of Sydney! Lovely pool and spa facilities. The Langham hotels are a favourite of mine and this is a nice addition to their collection - rooms could do with a little makeover inherited from the old Observatory Hotel!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Korniotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and like you, we are delighted to have this wonderful hotel as part of the Langham portfolio.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stay regularly at the Langham in Melbourne and decided to give the Sydney Langham a try for a two night business trip.

The hotel is in a quiet location and benefits from being just 3 storeys high, it has a lovely boutique feel, like a gentleman's club or a home away from home. Having said that, it is a bit too far from most of the sights, so you need to catch taxis to and from the hotel constantly. The hotel lacks the pizazz of the Melbourne Langham, it is more understated, but it didn't matter.

Our room was spacious and luxurious, with a small balcony overlooking the harbour. The bathroom was large and very well-equipped. The room was perfectly serviced and you could not ask for more in a hotel room. We arrived to find a complimentary bottle of wine, which was nice.

We ate breakfast in the hotel, I am probably being unfair by comparing it to the amazing breakfast they have in Melbourne, but there was still a great choice of high-quality food and very respectable coffee too. I would have liked some baked beans though!

I was unable to get a treatment at the spa, even though I emailed in advance, which was a shame.

The biggest disappointment with this hotel was the lack of a box office movie channel, which we have come to expect in hotels of this standard. After a nice meal out we just wanted to chill out with a good movie, but all that was on offer was a collection of DVDs at the reception desk. What's worse is that the movies were almost all at least 10 years old, eg Bend It Like Beckham and Dirty Dancing. This is a shame, if the hotel doesn't yet have the technology for in-room movies, at least they could have some recent DVDs available.

Anyway, this is minor criticism, because I have to say that of the many hotels we have stayed in around the world as regular business/leisure travellers, the Langham Sydney has probably the best team of staff we have ever found. Every staff member without exception is friendly, funny, helpful and engaging, they all seem to genuinely enjoy helping customers. The breakfast and bar staff are exceptionally good. This makes up for the odd little quirks of this quaint hotel!

The Langham Sydney may not offer the very latest in facilities, but it has a warmth and charm that is often lacking in 4 and 5 star Australian hotels. We'll certainly come back at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OffWeGoOnATripAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

It is interesting that you found the hotel to be like a "home away from home". It is for this very reason that we have so many guests that make The Langham, Sydney their Sydney home.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding the team at the hotel. It is our exceptional team that ensure you have great memories of your Langham experience and we are appreciative of the wonderful job they do every day.

Your feedback regarding box office movies is noted and we concur. We are currently in the process of installing a new wireless internet system throughout the hotel as well as upgrading to IPTV which will give our guests a greater choice of in room entertainment. We expect to launch this system very early in the New Year.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcome back to The Langham, Sydney.

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you want to stay at a very nice property that is slightly away from the main shopping areas or just a 10 minute walk or so from the Rocks, Darling Harbor and Circular Quay, then this maybe for you. It has a very old world hotel feel to it, very nice lobby and restaurant area with attentive service.

The room I had was big, nice size bathroom, entry corridor and largish bedroom. The fixtures and fittings in the room could do with some updating and if they did so it would earn the extra star from me.

The pool is excellent - dark with tiny lights in the ceiling which is kind of neat.

I found the service very good and the location worked for me - so overall a very nice stay (was there for a week for business).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Johngie,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the charm of the hotel and our location. We think this wonderful location is quite special and gives our guests a residential experience of Sydney.

We do plan do reinvest into the hotel and look forward to reviewing your extra star in the future.

Yours sincerly,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first stop on a whirlwind September 2012 tour of Australia, the Langham was the perfect place to recover from the 20+ hour trip from the USA. We booked the hotel as the Orient Express property, the Observatory; but were not disappointed with the new ownership. A dip in the subterranian pool was totally relaxing. Service was impeccable. It was an easy walk to the "Rocks" and its sights, restaurants, and fun. By not being in the hub-bub of downtown, it felt like being on a quiet residential street at home in Sydney. But close enough to get to all the "must sees". Views of both the Observatory and the water, gorgeous! This will be our hotel of choice when we return to Sydney.

Room Tip: We were water "view", not "front"; gave us views of both the water and Observato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Janet,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Langham, Sydney. What a great start to your Australian holiday. I hope that the remainder of your visit to this beautiful country was just as enjoyable.

We will be sure to share your great experiences with our team. We look forward to welcoming back on your return to Sydney.

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent 1 night at this hotel as a special treat for a 60th birthday. A lovely hotel, the staff were all well trained & very pleasant. Location was great as it was an easy walk down to the Rocks for a great dinner overlooking the harbour. I bought the accomodation on Wotif so the rate was very good & included a cotinental breakfast & parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley1-1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

It is always a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We will be sure to share your comments with our team.

Wishing you a delightful day.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The stay at the Langham Sydney, was fantastic. I brought the family to Sydney for a bit of weekend R & R, and were blown away by the property, its staff and facilities. The look on my 11 year old daughters face when she saw the pool was magic.
Great rooms, outstanding service.
Highly recommend to anyone looking for classic old school hotel experiences.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for posting your review of The Langham, Sydney on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you were "blown away" with your experience at our hotel. Your 11 year old daughter sounds like an astute traveller and knows a fabulous pool when she see's one.

If you didn't have the chance to experience our Tiffin afternoon tea service this time, you must on your return. It is another wonderful tradition of this fine hotel and Langham hotels worldwide.

Yours sincerly,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 182 in Sydney
1,476 reviews
Park Hyatt Sydney
#5 of 182 in Sydney
2,652 reviews
The Darling
#9 of 182 in Sydney
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#36 of 182 in Sydney
6,734 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 182 in Sydney
4,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $292 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. From stunning Western Harbour facing views to our Historic Rocks district location, The Langham, Sydney is truly Sydney’s most exclusive address. Voted one of the Top 100 Hotels in the World; this luxurious property features a Sotheby’s artwork collection and the largest rooms in the city. Every room is a haven of plush, bespoke furnishings amidst soft panelled walls and high ceilings. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city outlook across Sydney. Nestled in the quaint cobble stoned streets hidden in the city, we are located amongst a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city’s most quintessential experiences. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Our iconic Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood features hand-curated gateaux, macarons and savoury delights designed by our in-house Patissier. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Bistro Remy" led by classically French-trained Executive Chef, Dave Whitting. The upscale, neighbourhood bistro contrasts classic technique with modern interpretation, serving reinvented bistro classics. Expect signature dishes such as Twice Cooked Soufflé, Black Ash Tortellini, Pink Snapper Cerviche right through Grainge Angus Beef with Béarnaise Sauce and Frites, Roast Pork with Apple and Duck Confit, all created with love, for a neighbourhood feel. For an indulgent experience into relaxation, join our award winning day spa with rejuvenating treatments & techno-gym facilities. Of course, this includes a few laps on our star-dappled underground pool amongst sandstone pavements for the ultimate spa stay. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney offers relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Featuring facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing