We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Hotel was magnificent, the decor outstanding, The Service from the staff was the best i have ever encountered. From the moment My husband and i entered the hotel the experience was wonderful. We were greated by the conceirge who organised our valet service. He proceed to take our luggage, whilst we checked in which was a quick and informative. The conceirge then escorted us to our beautifully laid out room, and talked us through the amenities.The room was filled with outstanding furniture and an extreamly comfortable king size bed.The bathroom had all luxury toileries and was very tastefully laid out. We used room service which was very prompt. We used the bar and all of the staff were very gracious as was the restaurant for breakfast. I cannot fault this hotel we had a truly wonderful Hotel stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCDSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We hope that you are an 1865 loyalty program member and will benefit from the many great advantages this program offers for your next stay at any Langham hotel worldwide.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,815)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed here under previous management but not much has changed. The position is excellent for The Rocks and Circular Quay and the CBD. The room was large, comfortable and had all the amenities we would want. We even had free wifi though reception said there would be a charge. The bathroom is also large and well fitted out in marble. Water pressure is, however, so low we did not have the time to fill the bath.
The public areas are really well decorated and art works - both original and in fine quality historic prints - are excellent with even a few Sidney Nolans (though not his best) in the main long lobby lounge. The drawing room is also comfortable though it was used for meetings at least once during our stay.
On the whole the room was well serviced though on one day not cleaned until 4pm even after we requested it be made up. The pool is large and pleasant though the male changing room with its over 100 wee box lockers is too small and crowded with only two changing in it. And it could be kept cleaner with all three floor mats dirty. A blood stained cover to the locker room bench was off-putting.
Concierge varied from attentive helpful and friendly to, mostly, indifferent. So a lovely comfortable hotel that needs to tighten up on staff and a little in house keeping.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.

I appreciate the feedback you have provided. We do have very high standards for both customer service and our overall guest experience and I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectation. I have discussed your comments with the team and we have put measures in place to ensure we do not receive similar feedback in the future.

I do hope we can welcome you again to The Langham, Sydney.


Have a delightful day.


Kind Regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with old world charm and service.
Recently renovated, everything is new, elegant and beautiful.
The breakfast menu is excellent and the food tasty.
The rooms are large and the bathroom huge with a massive bath. I could not find any cosmetic pack in the bathroom with the usual toothbrush and bathroom kit found at the other Langham hotels.
If you are a 1865 member, don't expect an upgrade. This hotel is so fully booked that faithful 1865 members will go to the back of the line and hardly ever will get an upgrade.
Standard rooms overlook a busy road...
The location is a bit far out, with a fair walk to the rocks and a long walk to Darling Harbour.
If you are looking for a central location, you will find this a little out of the way, but worth a visit.
The gym and pool are excellent although no natural sunlight as it is in the basement.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the water, mine overlooked a busy road.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.

In relation to the bathroom amenities, I do apologise you could not find these during your stay. All Langham amenities can be found behind the mirror in the bathroom. Should you require any further items, our Concierge team would be delighted to assist with any requests.

As a valued 1865 member, I am disappointed to hear that we were unable to upgrade you for your stay. Traditionally November is a very busy month in the hotel and we do try our best to upgrade our members.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sydney.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Formerly the Observatory Hotel we booked at a low rate (~$315-340 US) ahead of time based largely on reviews from this site.. The concierge Ryan was completely knowledgable and couldn't have been been more helpful with transportation, reservations, and advice on what parts of Sydney to avoid (yes, even Sydney has a red light district). The major attraction of this venue is the hotel pool, which seems magical. Location is perfect, especially if you are leaving on a cruise as the hotel is minutes from the piers. The rooms were huge, and if you are willing to go for a low floor and no view, this was for us the best five star deal in town.

Room Tip: Rooms to the east have a view of Kent street, but it is a very quiet part of town.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenAndEmNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We are delighted to read your comments and will be sure to share these with Ryan and our other colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Wishing you a delightful day,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Having stayed at most of them, the Langham is far and away the superior hotel. Beautiful furniture, paintings decor, design and space, luxury embedded. Also the most lovely pool and health facilities. Helpful charming staff. Perfection.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We hope that you are an 1865 loyalty program member and will benefit from the many great advantages this program offers for your next stay at any Langham hotel worldwide.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I must say the Langham (formerly Observatory) Hotel is a little out of my league but I got a good deal so was happy to try it.
The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. The staff were very good. Actually they were quite impressive. Breakfast was fine. Everything in the room worked, was good quality and well serviced and appointed.
The hotel is still beyond my price bracket but if I got a good deal again, I would return without hesitation.
Being price conscious, I warn you not to derive comfort from their best price guarantee - my experience was other websites offer their rooms much cheaper than they do and it takes convincing to get them to honour their own guarantee policy, but ultimately that's a small quibble. Once I got to the hotel, it was very hard to fault.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imqaretman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We are delighted to read your comments and will be sure to share these with our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Wishing you a delightful day,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

For the best possible experience in Sydney then include the Langham Hotel. The location, service, comfort and charm of this boutique property will always linger in your heart as one of the most memorable experiences

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koala489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#32 of 178 in Sydney
6,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 178 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
4,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $272 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing