We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #13 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

A superb hotel. Comfortable rooms, a central yet secluded location, excellent restaurant and the most helpful concierge desk I have found in a long time.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    230
    83
    33
    36
See reviews for
201
709
77
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had a 2 night stopover in Sydney and were lucky enough to book an one bedroom suite at an incredible rate. The suites are very comfortable, well decorated and a large bathroom with lots of amenities. We ate at the bar, Tapas style and found the food well above average. As throughout the hotel the level of service was exemplary and friendly. Definitely check out the pool. Highly recommended especially if you can score a good deal on a room.

Room Tip: Lookout for deals & grab a suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RottenRonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

We are delighted you had an opportunity to experience Globe Bar & Brasserie and our amazing Subterranean 20 metre pool.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

While traveling in Sydney on vacation we stayed at this hotel for four nights. We were upgraded by the hotel upon arrival and stayed in a lovely junior suite that had a balcony with a water view. They hotel is located in "the Rocks" area of Sydney and there was lots to do and see within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge staff.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice but try to get one that faces the water and has a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob12375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

We are pleased you found the location of the hotel convenient for exploring Sydney’s attractions.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Sydney for business and leisure, my first choice is always the Observatory if I can get a good deal. Look for great barging on certain dates and book the hotel and plan your trip around this. Great service, lovely homely rooms and once you walk in you do not want to leave.

Room Tip: Book on the last minute web sites and compare the deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamienSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Observatory was an amazing hotel experience. Having just married in Adelaide, two days prior to our stay, we were tired and need of some good relaxation.

We were greeted by friendly staff and, once hearing that we had just been married, were met with a platter of small desserts in our hotel room, with a personalised note. These small touches make such a difference!

The room was nothing short of beautiful, with an elegance that one does not find in the "modern" (or "sterile") hotel rooms that are out there. The room was peaceful and we could not hear any outside noises. The housekeeping staff turned down our bed every night and had the kettle boiled and our cups with teabags ready! The tea was high-quality herbal tea in silk bags. We were also given bottled drinking water by our bedside, which was also complimentary. Like I said, these are the small things that count!

The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows (shock! I usually seem to land hard pillows with the comfort level similar to that of laying your head on a chopping board in other hotels). The marble bathroom was huge, as was the size of the shower/bath.

There was no problem using the Internet (I was excited to see wedding pics up on Facebook!) and, when it was in use, the staff would ring my room to let me know when it was free.

I received a most relaxing massage in their Day Spa and had no problems getting a booking. The swimming pool area and facilities were of the highest standard and were immaculate.

We have recommended this hotel to everyone who asks us about Sydney and we will definitely be back! Loved it!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Congratulations on your recent wedding, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to experience The Day Spa and Health Club.

We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I was in Sydney for 2 nights in November and needed to stay in N.Sydney, but all hotels were sold out. I had stayed here 4 years ago on my last visit and called to see if they had space.
I was very pleased they had space and enjoyed another delightful stay in the best hotel I have stayed in since the last time I was in Sydney.

The rate for the room was less than for a lot of other hotels around the inner city for what was a truly luxurious experience. It took 10 minutes to cross the bridge to my meeting location.
Perfect and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Still call Australia Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Observatory after we attended a special party for me held in a private room. Thanks to the Observatory, the function was an outstanding success. In fact I cannot fault any aspect of the event. The food, the service and the room were all superb. Special mention must be made of the staff - every staff member we came across were excellent. In particular, the staff members who looked after our function went above and beyond their duty to make sure that the party was the success that it was. As for the hotel itself, this was our second stay in eighteen months. As the first time, we found the hotel comfortable, elegant and well located. The breakfast is a must. I love this hotel and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street will tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvester1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review of The Observatory Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your celebration, and I will ensure your feedback is shared with our team.

We hope you will have an occasion to stay with us again.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 5,243 reviews
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing