We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Truly beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This quite small hotel has all details well taken care of, with an efficient and helpful staff, cozy and comfortable rooms, great spa with a fantastic swimming pool, jacuzzi, vapor room and sauna that are themselves worth paying the rather high rate. Great location on a quite road, still very close to The Rocks, the Sydney Harbour, Darling Harbour and the CBD. The top among the 4 high-end hotels I've stayed at in The City.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch4muy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    255
    94
    32
    40
See reviews for
241
831
84
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed at the Observatory hotel in August 2011 for three nights on a business trip and there is much to recommend it. The interiors are traditionally handsome rather than stylish (you could be in Claridges) and even the scale of the building itself lends an air of quiet reserve. All the staff I met were both helpful and friendly without being obsequious and expressed a genuine desire to ensure that my stay was enjoyable. Someone clearly has an eye for detail, too, from the floral arrangments in the public areas to the exquisite swimming pool - all are approprtiately luxurious but not gauche. The rooms are a decent size and tastefully appointed with Serendipity courtesy sets and the usual refinements. Breakfast is a high-quality affair and available until 10:30. The only drawback, in fact, is the IT. There is no WIFI in the rooms and the public system on the ground floor is painfully slow. Similarly, the public computer and printer are ancient. If you are on holiday no doubt this will not trouble you but for business trvaellers it is woefully out of keeping with the otherwise uniformly high standards.

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
3 Thank ENTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed here the night before and of my wedding a few months ago. The suite was beautiful, just what I wanted and the perfect backdrop for pre-wedding photos. Loved the antique furniture. They did a wonderful job of tidying up the room between leaving for the ceremony and returning after the wedding (and believe me, we left it in quite a mess).

Bed and bathroom deserve a special mention, both were superb.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed here for business for 8 nights and this one of the best service experiences I've ever had in my life.
The front desk staff was so helpful throughout my stay. They were always willing to help.
The restaurant staff was truly amazing. They knew which table I liked and would put a "reserved" sign on it each morning for me. They were so intentive, not just to me, but every customer in the restaurant. The food itself was amazing too. I liked being able to get freshly squeezed watermelon juice, or freshly squeezed pineapple, grapefruit, or orange..very nice. The pastries were amazing. I looked forward to breakfast each morning.
The hotel is very clean. The housekeeping staff was amazing.
It was nice being able to use the gym. The pool is indoor and HUGE!!!! It was very peaceful, I loved it.
Thank you everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotelManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this property for two nights recently. We had chosen the hotel partly on the basis of previous TripAdvisor reviews.
The Observatory is a lovely, smaller hotel set in a quieter area of Sydney. It was only about 10 minutes walk to The Rocks area, and about 15 minutes to Darling Harbour. We took the airport train to Wynyard station, and from there it is just a short walk up the hill to the hotel.
All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was a lot larger than most hotel rooms, and the bathroom was double the size of most. Little extras such as a free bottle of water given to us each night, as well as a special herbal teabag to help to get to sleep (not that we needed it - the room was really quiet and the bedding exceptionally comfortable) and the good lighting (!) were appreciated.
The swimming pool and exercise area were very clean and pleasant to use, and the advantage is you only have to share these facilities with fewer guests, the property only having about 100 rooms.
We will definitely be looking forward to another stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davo55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stepped into the hotel, I felt like I have turned back the clock to the 1920s...being used to business hotels and was on a business trip when I stayed in this hotel...I can't help but feel like I am on a holiday!
Luxurious, classical, elegant decor and friendly staff - definitely lived up to a 5 star hotel. The room were HUGE! Very clean ... and you have a choice of an express check-out which I enjoyed!
Bar has live jazz music in the evenings - again, such a charming bar with antique looking furnishings it is a good place to wind down after work.
Breakfast in the morning is european style and amazing , fantastic services very healthy breakie - no oily bacon and eggs though you definitely can order them!
Best yet to mentioned - is great location! 10 mins to circular quay, 5 mins to the ROCKS. remember to walk up the hill in front of the hotel! You get the most amazing, breath-taking view of Sydney Harbour....day and night - a great place to have a picnic as well...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingsalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel which is in 10 minutes walking distance to the Harbour/Opera House and in 15 minutes you are in the Centre. Pleasant rooms, excellent and friendly staff. Very good concierge service.

Room Tip: ask for a room with waterview, might be a bit more expensive but worth to do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,997 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Property: The Langham, Sydney
Address: 89 - 113 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing